Timelapse progress of my latest pencil portrait

in #art5 years ago


Isn't it so satisfactory to watch a whole art piece come together in minutes? Thanks to timelapse video recording, and thanks to #Dtube for creating a platform to share it freely.

If you're an art lover, and enjoy watching the process more than reading it, then this is for you! I have put together several clips recorded with both my phone and camera while I was working on my latest portrait.

I made this portrait for my principal back in secondary school and presented it to her on her retirement program, courtesy of fellow alumni of my set (2010)

I hope you enjoy it

Medium: Charcoal and graphite
Size: 35x25 inches
Duration: 60+ hours


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Wonderful artwork!!! Wow :-D

Thanks a lot.

woww that beautiful portrait, I adore the negritude <3 I am from Venezuela a brother country of Africa, I will not go into detail of how English and Spaniards brought the brothers from Africa to Venezuela, but that portrait looks very much like the madamas del callao some women who are patrimony of humanity, and central piece of our carnivals. at the end I will leave you a graph so that you see the similarity.

very clean your strokes, accompanied by a domain of excellent light. I like the cheekbones and their teeth, that smile left you expectant.

How long did it take you to do it?

I like it when I connect culturally with someone <3

Oh wow these are so cute beautiful and culturally rich. Our cultures are quite similar truly.

It took me over 60 hours to complete the drawing. I'm glad you like my work, thanks for your kind words

Congratulations @promisearts! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Oh!
Did you also upload on YouTube?
Dtube is not working fine here on my end.
I hope to see it on YouTube.
Thank you so much!
More power!

Oh, sorry about that. I don't really upload on YouTube but for you I will do that. I'll drop the link here soon. I'm glad you like it, thanks a lot!

Oh thank you so very much!
You're a good man!
I'll wait for it.
By the way, congratulations on @curie upvote!
Keep it up!

Thanks a lot, and here's the YouTube link,

my channel is a mess so bear with me 😊

Oh man that's brilliant!
You're a great artist!
I enjoy the video very much and the sound or music is pretty cool!
Thank you very much for uploading it on YouTube.
Looking forward on your next work of art!
Good luck!

Glad you liked it. And more art you will get!

Oh yeah!
Keep working, keep doing, keep going, keep sharing, keep loving.
You have a long way to go, I guess you're still very young?
How old are you by the way, if you don't mind?

She looks like a grand lady. Very lovely smile and expression :).
                       
Congrats for your curie vote ^_^.

She's a grand lady indeed. Thanks a lot, glad you liked it.

your art is simply beautiful!!!

Oh boy, it's so great to see a portrait 'being born' in front of your eyes. It's kind of therapeutic for me. I would have loved if the video would be much much longer to see each tiny details that you made (I guess most of people wouldn't like it this way). I love to see your face from time to time. Even though it's from profile I can see how focused you are. And your hands.. Wow! You are so skilled.

And I love that you give so much care to her clothes. And it wasn't an easy blouse (?) to draw.

She is such a beautiful gracious lady. She has something very kind in her eyes and her smile. She looks very likable.

If you've done this during secondary school I wonder how you draw now. I would have said that this drawing is done by someone with a lot of experience, understanding the details of human face and spirit as well. You got it at such an early stage of your life. You will become VERY popular and I'm looking forward to saying - Hey! I know him! ;)

Have a great weekend and thank you for sharing!

Thanks a lot for your kind words, I really appreciate it. I would try to make subsequent videos more detailed.

And there's a little misconception and that may be from my end. This portrait was made and presented last week when she was retiring. She was my pricipal when I was in secondary school which I finished in 2010. I am now a graduate of Statistics (which I don't practice) since 2016.

Thanks all the same.

I might have misunderstood it as well :) Now I understand it better. I really wondered how you could do it during your secondary school :)

Lol :), I couldn't have done it nearly as good then.

NICE :) look my graffiti art work , Im from COLOMBIA .

Wow dude, you've got some amazing skills! Did you time-lapse the entire thing from beginning to end? I'm sure it would have been pretty long, it seemed to skip a little bit towards the end.

Your drawing is freaking amazing. The detail in her face is incredible. I love her smile and the overall size of it. I like big portraits like that. Sixty freaking hours holy crap that is awesome. It just goes to show the dedication you have to your craft.

I think it's such a sweet and cool gesture of you to make this for your primary teacher. I barely remember my primary teacher. She must be an amazing woman. She looks like it by the way you've drawn her.

Thanks so much for sharing! I enjoyed your time-lapse and the final product you created. Watching that is truly satisfying. Cheers!

Wow, thanks for brightening up my mood this morning with your kind words.

I couldn't record the whole thing because of poor power supply over here and I use a small camera that runs on batteries. I hope to get better equipment soon.

I'm glad you like my work, thanks so much.

Ahh gotcha. Well either way the final drawing is quite beautiful. I thoroughly enjoyed watching the time-lapse and think you have a magnificent talent. Don't ever stop! You're truly skilled.

It is amazing to see an artwork that is worth of 60+ hours progressing in just 2:08 minutes of timelapse video. You presented drawing to be a very easy task in spite of it being a big size. Others would usually draw on a regular 8.5x11-inch paper.

Your principal must be a very good person for her to inspire you of drawing her portrait. She must be very happy about it because you did great. The drawing has her live spirit.

What language was that on the background song? I was trying to figure it out and it suddenly turned English at 00:46 then another language then English again. 😃

Thanks for your kind words. I'm glad you like my work and I do the best I can. She is a good woman indeed and truly deserved it.

The other language in the music is Yoruba, a major Nigerian language. The song is titled (Grateful by Asa)

You mentioned that this is courtesy of your alumni. How was that, they commissioned your art as a gift to your principal? Or you as a whole group just thought about volunteering to have the portrait as a gift?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97