Cocoon, Time of Transformation

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Dear friends,

IMG_0851_Fotor.jpg

every 3 month we have some bulk garbage in my hometown, where people put out things, they don't need anymore, but that are too large for the trashbin.

Around this time, there are always a lot of people from eastern Europe collecting worthy stuff to sell in their counries. But there are also a lot of students and collectors from the district, who look into this stuff.

Although I usually don't collect old things anymore, I coincidentally stumbled upon a painting, that I couldn't hold myself back from taking home.

It's a huge (1.60 m/5.25ft) acrylic on cotton with a wooden frame and there is a label on the backside, which says, that the work is called: "Kokon, Zeit der Wandlung" (Cocoon, time of transformation).


IMG_0833_Fotor.jpg

Here are some more details:

IMG_0854_Fotor.jpg
Front

IMG_0855_Fotor.jpg

IMG_0831_Fotor.jpg
Back

IMG_0843_Fotor.jpg


As you can see, the painting is signed with "M", "ML" or "MV" and obviously was painted in 1999. Although I did a quick research on duckduckgo, I wasn't able to find an artist, who could have painted this.

But nevertheless, I'm quite happy, how it fits into my living room. What do you think?

What was the coolest thing, you were able to find in the trash?

Please share in the comments!

Thanks for watching!

@shortcut



Sort:  

This is a perfect example of the adage: "One man's trash is another man's treasure."

I hope someone is able to identify the artist, I have a feeling you and that artist would get along fabulously. I like it, and it looks really good in your home. Congratulations on a great find!

PS Why not take it to the "Kunst und Krempel" show and get it appraised, maybe they could identify the artist, and if not, some TV viewer certainly would!!!

I probably will get it appraised one day, but right now it's interesting, that the value of the work completely originates from within itself.

As you said, I felt some connection to the work and probably would also get along with the artist. We have an anthroposophical art school near Bonn (my older daughter is studying there) and I have the feeling, that the artist might come from that background, too. It probably is a woman.

I was also attracted by the craftsmanship of the frame, as I'm a complete amateur when it comes to this. So for now, I just enjoy the painting and the execution. But I wouldn't be surprised, if I met the artist by chance at some point.

Let's hope we find this mystery artist!:-)!

An interesting painting, but a little strange, do not you think so? I'm not sure I could hang it in my living room.

Once I found an antique wooden chair. He was very comfortable and served me for a long time but then I moved to another country.

I often see different useful things that people threw out. But they do not need me and I do not take them.

I generally think that a person needs very few things.

Yeah, I like strange things :-) I once found an old TV-chair and when I started to use it, there was a lot of small money falling out of it...

You're right, that people don't need things and I'm fighting hard to get rid of old things. But I'm living in a family of collectors, therefore it's not easy.

Cool :) M would be happy if he/she knew.

I never was much of a scavenger, but my wife is second to none.

I hope so :-)

I was influenced by my parents (mostly my mother), who left all the things behind, when they had fleed in WWII. She were only allowed to take a doll with her and since then, she just can't throw away anything. So I kind of grew up with the maxim: "You never know, what it could be good for."

Ein sehr interessantes Bild, obwohl ich es gar nicht so richtig zuordnen kann, berührt es mich irgendwie, sehr schön. Ich glaube, ich hätte das Bild auch mitgenommen :)

Danke für dein Feedback. Ich hab es echt nicht über's Herz gebracht, das Bild auf dem Müll landen zu sehen und musste mich schnell entscheiden, zumal es auch gerade anfing zu regnen. Aber das Thema "Wandlung" passt ja auch ziemlich gut zu deinem Leben ;-)

I have found many things. One man's trash is another man's treasure. Very nice artistry @shortcut.

That's some hidden gem in the trash wow that's like finding gold :D

Yes, sometimes it's really interesting, how things find their way to someone. Although it's not exactly like finding gold, it's an interesting experience nevertheless ;-)

Well done @shortcut! You successfully guessed the match result.

Group Phase - Peru vs Denmark
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!

Well done @shortcut! You successfully guessed the match result.

Group Phase - Croatia vs Nigeria
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!

it's a great theme ..great to share.

Well done @shortcut! You successfully guessed the match result.

Group Phase - Belgium vs Panama
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Do you like the SteemitBoard Corld Cup Contest?
Vote for @steemitboard as a witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11