Art collaboration | Part II | Photography by @soyrosa & Poetry by @raj808

in #art5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Art collaboration | Part II | Photography by @soyrosa & Poetry by @raj808


Dear reader - Steem has been renamed to Hive since May 2020. My content therefore has moved with me to Hive, and I hope to see you there: peakd.com/@soyrosa.

Sort:  

Hi soyrosa,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

I think both the collaboration itself and this concept are genius. Fantastic job to both @soyrosa and @raj808. I don't think any two images would have gone better with the poem than what was used. I love how both of you had unused artwork that just seemed to fit together perfectly.

I instantly got the image of a war torn country but the only thing audible were church bells. Almost as if the bombshells had destroyed your hearing and all that was left was the dull reverberation of a cathedral's chime. Like when you've just heard something very loud and all you can hear is a shrill ringing. The image and sound were very vivid for me, especially with the added photographs.

I too have hundreds, if not thousands, of unused photos sitting in Lightroom. This has made me curious as to what they might go well with. Thanks for sharing and please continue the great work.

Oh, thank you so much for your comment @jocqua! A quick glance at your profile (I will look a bit better later today!) learns you're a great photographer yourself! I recognize the 'unused images' in Lightroom and sometimes when I'm out of inspiration but want to create something I just scroll through all the folders and before I know it I'm editing a new set of images :-) It certainly seems like an endless source of visuals!

I love how you're sharing your impressions here, I did feel the same, the sound of bells, the warn torn country... It's magic how poetry and photography can work together.

Again thanks for your comment! Hope to see you back in the future :-)

Absolutely, @soyrosa! I think what you did was such a cool concept. Generally I feel like you have a writer who goes and finds photos to match what he's writing about or has a picture and writes about it. But you never really see to separate artists come together from different fields and work together the way you did. That "you go first this time and I'll go first next time" concept was such a cool idea, especially between a photographer and a poet. So good on you both.

3641, that's how many pictures I have loaded into Lightroom LOL I've probably gone through a couple hundred of them. Granted some of them might be from a timelapse. Still, SO many. But like you said, it's good! I've got so much stuff to go through especially if I'm feeling uninspired.

Hah well first of all, what a great idea this is :D It reminds me of kids play - I say word, you say word and let's see where it takes us :D But this one is more adult and artistic :D

How did you guys come to such idea? I first though you know each other but as you mentioned the option of meeting to sit and write down the notebook notes, realized it's just "virtual".

Btw. I aint no photographer. So if you say, archives - you just mean one big folder of subfolders or? Or is there any software for this? I just bought a camera, kinda ispired by all the steemit pictures. And my "archive" is starting to be one big mess :D Any advice?

Hey @matkodurko! Yes! As kids we do waaaay more of these awesome collaborations! It's good to do it as adults as well and create some 'real art' in the process, right? :-) It was the idea of @raj808, he had an assignment to do for @sndbox, and I already wanted to work with him anyway - so... It happened just like that. But he had a starting proposal, and we went a bit back and forth, and the result you can see in the post :-)

Glad to hear you bought a camera! It's one of my absolute favourite things to do :-) If I say 'archives' I mean a looooot of subfolders. It's all sorted by year, and within that year it has folders like 2018-11-02 if I had made pictures today. What I do is: open Lightroom, import all pictures from my memory card, and Lightroom then creates all these folders for me. Within Lightroom you can also 'tag' pictures with words that really describe the picture, like maybe country or colour or subject... (The last thing I don't use, just pointing out it's an option ;-))

I wouldn't know how to keep track of my pictures without Lightroom, since it's hell to open all folders on your Mac or Windows and scroll through to find a picture. In Lightroom at least I can click easily through different folders. I have now started to rename the folders, so instead of just 2018-11-02 it now will say something like 2018-11-02 | France, boatrip.

Anyway, enjoy doing photography and if you ever have questions just ask them, always here to help :D Cheers!

Hmmm I have to check this Lighroom soft out for sure. I see people mentioning it when they talk about editing so I thought it's something like photoshop :D Anyway, thx for an advice, I'll check it out tomorrow, putting it on yellow sticky paper haha:D

Yes, well, if you are just starting out maybe Lightroom is a bit expensive. I would google something like 'Lightroom alternatives' in combination with 'free' and see if anything comes up and is downloadable for your computer.

Photographers use Lightroom or Photoshop or both. Lightroom is for 'overal editing', so things like exposure, contrast, hue, saturation... And it has the archive/catalogue embedded, so that's pretty neat. Then there's Photoshop, with no archive/catalogue, but very advanced photo edit options, like cutting out objects, combining different photos into 1 image, etc. Photoshop is famous because it can make a pizza into a model:

LOL. You can't do that with Lightroom.

Hello @soyrosa, good to see your publication that brought me the memory of one I made a few months ago that deals with the meaning of cinema according to a Russian technique by Sergei eisenstein where you can clearly appreciate the correlation of the word and image, a fundamental part to compose shots at a cinematographic level, in the case of photography is not less similar, the image itself has a message, you can perfectly through the poetry inspire you and make compositions even using the metric that in relation to photographic machine could take advantage of the shutter and diaphragm, the words also have their semantics and in them a universe of images that are recreated in our mind.

excellent poems accompanied by excellent images, thank you very much for sharing your work.

greetings, peace and love

Thanks @arrozymangophoto! Do you have some English info on that technique you are talking about? I'd love to read more :-) In any way thanks a lot for your input! I'm very interested in the links between words and imagery :-)

if of course, make a publication about it:

https://steemit.com/film/@arrozymangophoto/cinematographic-montage-all-or-nothing you

just have to turn it around and apply it to the photograph. anyway you can research about Sergei Eisenstein and you could just read the poems and try to reproduce in image the words that appear, even to do in the images.

i would so much struggle with this kind of collaboration.

Why? Just curious - I always thought it wasn't for me either :-)

i have a hard time to name a photo, not to choose photos for a poem :D

I love a good Steemit collab @soyrosa and this is an amazing one. I did one for #sndbox with a fellow sndboxian with his music and it was really fun. Once I get settled in a house here in England, I want to have a few more goes at collabs. There is so much about steemit that is community it really is a great thing.

Wonderful poem as well, the line

I smell your coffee and cigarette smoke,
as the cathedral bells toll in the morning

Is just so hauntingly evocative. I can feel hear and smell that phrase. And your accompanying photo is perfect. The light on the raised detail in the bell is really lovely.

Ahhh thanks for your comment dear @donnadavisart! I am going to contact you, we should definitely do a collab as well after SteemFest. Glad you appreciate the work! :-)

It always nice to see people from different corners of the world working together and combining their gifts to create something even more unique. Great work @soyrosa and @raj808 !

This collab once again makes me wonder how much joining steemit has impacted me already. And how will it affect me in the future.

Absolutely, on Steem you can find a lot of inspiration and easily work with others on projects!

Raj sure does have his way with words, and your work both compliment the other, you guys should do more of this! Great collaboration, it will actually be great to see more collaboration on steemit....

And to think that that photo has been sitting there unused for years (and oh, his poem too?), a match made in heaven!😊 It definitely was just waiting for Raj's poem. Or could it be the other way round?🤔 Lol!

I really have no idea how a cathedral bell looks like, this is the kind of bell i have know all my life (didn't even know it was called a church bell, I wonder why we don't use it in my church...)

I like how you tried explaining the poem too, it added your own touch to it!

Thanks for your lovely comment @audreybits! Much appreciated. Raj does have a way with words and it was a blast working together. Indeed very cool and surpizing that both our works were 'dusting away' and now suddenly 'found each other' :-)

Poem matched with photos! What a fun and creative way to share love of art in different forms! Great collaboration you got there.

Hi @raj808! I thought of the poem as a scene during war time , is it?

Hi @soyrosa, you have great picks with the bell photos. I thought the bell is hanging above the Cathedral so the shots seem so close specially the second one. Have you come that close to the bell or were these zoomed shots?

Hey @macoolette - I was actually able to get that close! It was in a tower in a church in my own city, and I just had to climb some stairs to be able to reach them :D Cool right? Thanks a lot for commenting! <3

Indeed, it is so cool to get that close to the bell. How high is the Cathedral? Or at least where that bell is hanging? And how big is the bell?

Hey, @soyrosa.

Awesome photos. Great poem. A very worthwhile collaboration. I think you're right—the bells are the focus, the grounding point, despite all the chaos going on around the narrator in the poem. The poem has a surreal feel that is amplified by the black and white photos of the bells.

Having dabbled with fonts and font colors myself, even those choices were great, along with all the letters looking uppercase. It does not give the illusion of shouting (like uppercase is supposed to represent), but of uniformity, and the thin simplicity of the font lines add to the stark words of the poem and visuals of the bells. I don't think the different elements of this could have combined any better than what you have here. :)

Well done to you and to @raj808.

And congratulations on the curie!

Oh, and just out of curiosity—the way shadows hit the bell handle in the top image, it makes it look like some kind of bird, with its beak facing the viewer. Is that truly a bird head and neck for a handle, or is it just an illusion?

Thanks for your comment @glenalbrethsen! I'm glad you appreciate our collaboration, @raj808 is a wonderful artist and it was a joy working with him!

I also love that you see details like the font that was used... I loved it too - strong but also a bit 'typewritery' without it being unreadable.

As for the bell handle: it's so funny both you and @raj808 see the same in the light and shadows! BUT - it's just a coincidence! Which makes it even more bizarre, since you both see something that in reality 'is not there' hehe.

That is surreal in of itself that you should say that glenalbrethsen, as I thought the same and was going to draw a comparison in my post between what I thought looked like an eagles head (imperial symbol) and the theme of war running through the poem. But I left it out in the end as I'd already touched on the subject of war and thought it might just be a personal visual association.

I'm curious to hear soyrosa's answer as well :-)

Well, that's cool. :) I thought maybe I was the only one thinking it had some kind of bird of prey look to it. Very much like a imperial war bird of some kind, and kind of an odd thing to find on a bell handle, especially a church bell.

Yes, @soyrosa, do tell! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94