"I recently got into woodworking" or "There Will be Blood!"

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Howdy Internet. I haven’t been around much lately because I’ve been busy playing with my wood. It started a little while back when my buddy Ross and I were getting drunk at a shitty biker bar in Santa Fe, Tx, a few blocks from where that dispshit shot up a bunch of his classmates because nobody would fuck him. Interesting side story: Santa Fe has A LOT of bikers. Not the assholes who wear spandex and hold up traffic, oblivious to the fact that every other car on the road is driven by a teenager who is texting and taking selfies. These are the guys who weigh 300 pounds, twenty of which is beard, and call themselves “Tiny.” For weeks after the shooting hundreds of bikers were parked in front of the highschool, stopping reporters from bothering the kids. It was pretty cool. Last week some anonymous donor gifted the school eight AR-15’s and five thousand dollars worth of ammo.

"they'll beOK. They had the right of way."

Anyway, the bartender knew Ross and I did remodeling and shit so she asked up if we could put a storage space in her garage. She said she asked another dude but he wanted 12 thousand dollars. We were like, “Uh, yeeeeeeaaaaaaah. We could do it for like 9.” When we went to look at the garage it wound up being a Quonset Hut, which is like a prefabricated airplane hangar. We immediately started calling it the Kwanzaa hut. I let Ross do all the talking because this shit was way out of my wheelhouse. After we were out of earshot of the client I asked Ross how hard it was going to be.

He said, “I have no fucking clue how to build that. I don’t think we can do this.”

One one hand, I’m not real keen on being responsible for people being crushed to death because of me. On the other hand, I’m real fucking keen on getting nine thousand dollars. It would have been easy if we had more time because we could have just ordered some trusses big enough to span the gap we needed, slapped up a wall, and laid some plywood on it, but we only had a week and it takes longer than that to have special order trusses delivered. So I locked myself in the office for three days with a box of wine, the internet, and a bottle of adderall. I researched load bearing structures until my brain bled. Long story short, it worked.


The walls were easy


The trusses were not


I stood way back while my helper tested it. It worked.

After that, I got the wood bug and turned an old Ikea headboard I had taking up space into a new counter for my kitchen island.

My garage turned into a workshop so I built this Frankenstein workbench out of random shit I scavenged from other jobs.

Then I went out and bought a table saw. It only took me about a week to do this.

Here’s my Jackson Pollock reproduction I painted on the floor and ceiling of my garage.


I cut my finger making flags after I saw a post on reddit about some guy making a bunch of money selling them. All things considered; I knew I was going to fuck myself up on that table saw the second I decided to buy it. I got the inevitable out of the way with the least amount of damage possible so I’ll just call that a win. It was ironic that the first thing I thought after I tried to cut my finger off was, “Too bad I don’t live in Canada.” All my heathcare plan covers is duct tape and whiskey.

My finger is healed enough to type now so I should be around more now.

Oh, here are some of my flags I made.




mad goat gif.gif

Sort:  

Flags are looking good man, and you had enough spilled blood that you saved money on red paint! That's a win in my book.

Now that I think about it. There is one flag with a decent amount of bood on it. I feel like I should charge more for it, or maybe I'll just keep that one.

Absolutely charge more. It's authentic.

I’ve been wondering where you’ve been!

Can you stop playing with your wood and write more so I have something to laugh at? Please?

And quit trying these do-it-yourself amputations - not cool.

I promise to do better. If it's any consolation, I hate myself every day that I don't write.

I hate you every day you don't write too 😜😉😘.

Glad you're back.

I second that.
You've got devoted fans all the way from Austin to Minnesota...
While hurting yourself on table saws and dog's faces may appear to be your super power,
it's comedy dude.
All your posts, in a coffee table book titled
"Dark Humour (but no black people!)"
or something equally offensive to 'Recreationally Outrage' all the power broker true rascist idiots into virtue signaling that they're banning your book...
Think of the possibilities!

Hello @themadgoat, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Cool. Thanks! I'll stop by and check you guys out.

Good thinking about Canada when it comes to health care.. however I don't think you'll sell many of those flags there..

I'm closer to Mexico anyway.

Just found you on steemengine. Great idea for the flags. Gives them that weathered "I ain't goin nowhere" look. Upvoted with pleasure! :)

Thanks. Aside from my various collection of new scars and bruises, I'm having a lot of fun experimenting with my wood.

You bled for America bro.

Hopefully the spirits of the founding fathers will be pleased with my blood offering and dead presidents will start showing up in my wallet.

Yeah I need that zombie apocalypse in my bank account too.

Bleeding for a red white and blue that won't stitch you back up 😥🇺🇸 My dad lost his middle finger to a table saw a couple years ago, between repairing the smashed ones, sewing up the stub and rehabilitation he paid... Taxes, like everyone else. Your wood works looking good, ever consider becoming a carpenter? It's a skill that pays bills, and bonus is very few trade schools get shot up by incels, because being useful is sexy and tradesmen get tail👍🏽 also might be a good chance to learn safe table saw practices before you lose a digit.

I'm hoping I can make enough off these flags to avoid getting a real job, but I am having a lot of fun with the carpentry. I just got done building a few porches. They weren't amazing, but they were easy and paid well.
Also, I have a VERY healthy respect for the table saw now.

This post has received a 5.09 % upvote from @boomerang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99