"Nostalgia" (Graphite and Charcoal on paper)

in #artzone5 years ago (edited)

So, I was being really optimistic when I said I would be done with this last week. Thankfully, I finally finished it today. It's been a long and slow process, I was sometimes tempted to rush through some of the details but it was more fun when I took my time. Now that it's done, I realize just how much I'm going to miss waking up to work on it everyday. I'm eagerly anticipating my next piece though. I've decided to work on something a bit simpler than this. I may have a permanent crick in my neck as it's been bent for so long, and my back might ache something fierce, but I think it was worth it.

Also, this might be my most detailed piece till date. I loved the challenge it presented to me.

•••

IMG_20181031_130506_921.jpg
•••

(This is a standalone work and it's not part of my UNINHIBITED series)

Medium: Graphite and Charcoal on 16x19inches Strathmore Paper
Others: Soft brush, blending stump, Tombow Mono Zero Eraser, Pencil eraser.

Sort:  

Hi @feoluwart , I'm sorry about your pains in the neck , but the result is definitely worth it! I imagine it has to be a very careful and slow process as you said, and the result is something amazing! It is perfect, congratulations! The expression of the boy touches my hart. You are a great talented artist.

Thank you! I've been resting since I finished working on it yesterday. Sadly, there're commissions to get to. I'm glad my work was able to touch you. That is always what I aim for with my works.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Hi feoluwart,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Hello @feoluwart, that beautiful piece of hyperrealism in graphite, simply amazed at the texture of the sand, the reflection of the drops of water and the harmonious proportion of the faces, with a few eyes expectaculares, you have reminded me of a Venezuelan documentary that I saw years ago called gentle hands, these are infants who work from an early age, but on their own to support their families.

the face denotes the sadness that should not exist in a child, which should rather be playing, smiling at life. definitely something is wrong with the child and you have managed to convey that feeling.

nostalgia great work.
I hope to see more of your work.

good technical management of the line and gray scales.

greetings, peace and love and erase the nostalgia

If I don't read that it's graphite technique. I'd think it's pencil technique but with ink pencil.

Oh wow! Thank you for this, there were definitely some of these thoughts running through my head while I was working on this. Thanks for putting them into words.

You are very talented @feoluwart. How realistic the boy looks on graphite and charcoal!! The details of his eyes, face and boy is just so amazing. And I think your aches, if you have any, is well worth it. Did you draw him following a photograph? He is one cute boy :)

Thank you. Yes, I used a reference picture.

Thank you @feoluwart. Wishing you a good weekend!

Posted using Partiko iOS

@feoluwart, marvelous work. Gosh, I thought i look at a photo. It took you how long to complete this masterpiece. You were so detail in your art work. I especially like the sands you drawn on the young boy hand. It looks real.

Very talented and creative of you turn it into an amazing piece of drawing by just using charcoal and graphite. But you need not to hard on yourself, take care of your health as well. With the tense of focus and dedication to complete this piece, your muscle and hand sure complain. Relax a bit before you start another one.

Thank you so much. It took close to two months, just four days shy.

@feoluwart, can't wait to see your next masterpiece :)

Wow!
Great work of art absolutely amazing and perfect!
Great job Feoluwart!
Do you have reference on your artwork?
I like it pretty much!

Thank you, I used a reference picture.

Oh I see.
By the way, I'd seen Hyperrealism in your profile.
What does it mean?
I'm just kinda curious.

It means I make make detailed portraits with things like texture very evident. It's why the sand and water are so detailed.

Oh yeah!
I see it!
You're very creative girl!
Keep it up!
And congratulations on @curie upvote!
Great job!
Have a great day!

Wow!! Look at his eyes. They look like there was life in them. They looks so sad and longing.. I don't know what they're longing for but maybe he is missing love? Or did he lose his family? Is there a tear in his left eye?

There are so many questions I could ask about this stunning piece of art. I can imagine it took you long time to finish, but you are a very skilled artist and it's visible in this illustration. I love those details that you included on his skin as well. The shape of his hands is very realistic too.

What has inspired you to do this illustration? Do you know this boy or did you use a photograph?

Thank you for sharing and congratulations on your curie vote! You deserve it!

Thank you so much. Yes, the sadness in his eyes was what made me decide to make this piece, it's so at odds with the theme it's supposed to convey. I don't know the underlying cause of his sadness, but I wanted to understand it a little. I used a reference picture and thanks once again.

Wow! Your character is alive on your drawing specially the eyes! They speak of something that I am trying to decipher. You have very crisp details there. Indeed, all your hardwork are worth it.

Do you have a model photo for your drawing or is this just your pure imagination? And congratulations on finally finishing it! How long did it take you anyway?

Thank you. You're right on the eyes, I believe they don't match with the other elements of the picture. At first glance, you'll see a child playing with sand, an idea of what childhood should be like, the eyes tell a different story though. I used a reference picture and it took close to two months, I started it on thr 4th of September, finished it 31st of October.

After I posted my first comment, I thought the eyes and the background somehow show a positive child in a middle of a war. I don't know. It just dawned on me...

Wow, you really took time with your drawing! But again, it's all worth it! 😊

I love love the little grains of sand on him, Ife! (That's what they are, right?) It brings back memories of playing hard in the sand and getting dirty, with no worries at all about life! But the look in his eyes, though. It seems like for him, the water and sand isn't just fun... Maybe the only home he has? What's the idea behind this?

This definitely is a detailed drawing, can't imagine the amount of time, effort and dedication it took you to make this drawing, but hey, it did pay off! ( I know you know that😁)

I love that you accepted the challenge it presented and gave it your best shot! It definitely wouldn't have looked this way if you rushed it. Yeah, slow things down a bit, no way you are gonna age before the time is due. Lol! Let the neck and the back rest a bit (with simpler drawings😉, your simples are always great too by the way...)

Thank you. Yes, there's definitely a current of sadness in his eyes. The idea was to convey the idea of what childhood ought to be, but isn't anymore. The eyes are the mirrors to the soul is what I believe, no matter how hard you try to hide your emotions, I believe the eyes always tell the truth. I have made portraits of children laughing in the rain, this struck a different chord when I saw the reference, which made me determined to capture it.

Yeah, it sad that childhood isn't that anymore because that's where the real fun lies! Yeah, I do believe that the eyes are the mirror to one's soul too, they do say a lot about a person.

This is much more different than another drawing you will see of kids but it holds a great message.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36