How Much Is Your Word in Steemit? - Business Intelligence Steemit

in #bisteemit7 years ago (edited)

pexels-photo-256417.jpeg

It's only words, and words are all I have
To take your heart away
-- 'Words' by the Bee Gees, "Sinking Ships", January 1968

These are the words that reverberate in me when I hear the word 'word.'


I have always been fascinated by words and how words affect us as a person and as a people. We use it everyday - in our conversations, in our writings, in our reading.

But how much are our words worth in Steemit? Are these values (payouts) accurate in determining the value of our words? Do we let these values determine the value of our words? Or are the determinant of this values lie outside of Steemit?

Posts with Video (or Audio) only

One realization I had when I extracted some data, was that there are posts that do not have words in them but only videos and most likely audios, but that's something outside the scope of this analysis until the technology comes to analyze those videos and audios.

One technology that came to mind is the one I encountered in Whaletank hangout - a transcription service by @nutela and company. But this is again a different story.

So the main question I want to find an answer is - how much is each word in Steemit worth?

Per Tag, Not Per Category

Accuracy is one of the things I bear in mind when composing my posts. Since we are analyzing Steemit data, the data we present and the data we extract, are important. I believe tags are one of the factors that contribute to our post's value.

So another thing that I wanted to know here is - per tag, how much is each word worth?

Word count for each post in the last 24 hours

Due to the limitation in the tool that I use, I only extracted data of the posts of a day. I ran the tool today, so the posts covered were those until yesterday.

The outliers

'life' is again an outlier with 2,712 posts, 632,521 words composing those posts, and $6,210.011 total payout for those posts.

Average word payout

Here comes the hard part. Presenting the data in an easy to understand chart.

Average word per post

Of course, the tag that will most likely garner the highest word per post is a post that only has one post and has lots of words into it. If you want to know which post that is, it's a post about breast cancer.

There are even posts that have no word in them! Here's an example.

Here are the top 10 tags with the most words in them:

tagave word per postpost count
breast75841
naturally75841
sovereignty71041
bourgeoisie67831
industrialrevolution67831
bookreview67831
crashbandicoot43971
liberalism38461
neoliberalism38461
neoliberal38461

We can see here that there are tags that have the same average word per post. This is as expected because it basically means that these were the unique tags used by the poster in the post with the most number of words. breast and *naturally are unique tags used on the same post.

Where do I want to go? What do I want?

From the looks of it, this is not what I want.

This is one way of discovering what we want, by first knowing what we don't want.

So what is it then that I want?

I've written that in the introduction of this post:

But how much are our words worth in Steemit? Are these values (payouts) accurate in determining the value of our words? Do we let these values determine the value of our words? Or are the determinant of this values lie outside of Steemit?

So let's get down to the meat of this topic. How much is a word valued at here in Steemit per category?

Excluding tags with no words in them, and excluding tags that have less than 10 posts

I present to you the Top 20.

Notagave. payout per word
1minnowbooster0.092968
2sketch0.086834
3korea0.07387
4steempower0.061602
5bitshares0.059492
6autumn0.058865
7dash0.055745
8gold0.051557
9landscape0.0509
10creative0.048565
11dmania0.047864
12steemitphotochallenge0.04717
13bescouted0.046993
14poker0.045936
15canada0.042635
16painting0.041145
17mountain0.039738
18drawing0.037456
19friends0.035934
20inktober0.035373

And the chart. These excludes tags with no words in them and tags that have less than 10 posts in them, which trims it down to 400 tags.

We can see here that tags that include steempower and minnowbooster have the most value per word in each post which is $0.093 and $0.087 respectively.

If I wanted to write a post about minnowbooster, does it automatically mean that each of my word is $0.093?

That is not the case. Because this does not consider who wrote the post. And most likely, the author who wrote about #minnowbooster is someone who's already established and have whales following him.

Conclusion

Let's go back to the questions I posted at the beginning. We can see here what each word we write is valued at.

How much are our words worth in Steemit?

Based on the table in the previous section, the highest value that each word is worth is $0.093 and the tag that it's valued at that is #minnowbooster.

This value can be used to compare with the values on freelance writing sites. Just a quick google gave me between $0.10 and $1 per word. And $1.50-$5 for those who are in the top tier of journalism.

Are these values (payouts) accurate in determining value to our words?

You be the judge. But one thing that comes to mind is something I read or heard here in Steemit, I just forgot where - Steemit is not a blogging site, it's for artists.

Do we let these values determine the value of our words?

Again, I let you be the one to judge that.

Or are the determinant of this values lie outside of Steemit?

This is something I was not able to clearly find an answer here. But I believe in what @surpassigngoogle said to me in discord:

much value is created in the background and rewarded on the outside. the chats is part of the community.


I am part of a Steemit Business Intelligence community. We all post under the tag #bisteemit. If you have an analysis you would like carried out on Steemit data, please do contact me or any of the #bisteemit team and we will do our best to help you...

You can find #bisteemit on discord - https://discordapp.com/invite/JN7Yv7j

Credits

Data retrieved from steemsql by @arcange.

Custom footer by @bearone in partnership with @steemph and @deveerei.

Image Sources: [1]

Sort:  

Sometimes in real life, you don't have to say the word but instead do it. What I understand about these data is that these words were used for a purpose. I hope there's a mechanism possible to define how the words were used. Could be possible but a lengthy process.

Thank you for these data sir @eastmael, these trending words could be interpreted on how the platform behaves as a whole, in general. Or can influence others thoughts. More importantly, these are lovely data. I hope I would know how to extract these.

Hello @jassennessaj. Thank you for this. There are things that can be measured, and there are things that cannot. What this data represent is those that can be measured. But as you said, I believe there's much more than these values.

Extracting these data can be taught and is something I am considering of creating a post.

Also, I'd like to take this opportunity to give thanks to your help. Thank you for helping us on one of the toughest challenge in life. You are such an inspiring person. You share your expertise on us without hesitation. I appreciate your good deed, and I'll surely replicate it.

Thank you again, sir @eastmael.

I'm not sure why commented didn't post. Or I must have posted it somewhere and got lost. lol.

You guys inspire me as well with your charitable projects. :)

An absolute beauty of a post!

A story about numbers, this is the way to do it - I can learn something here!

This post should bump #bisteemit up a little! 😁

Thank you @abh12345. It's my part of helping the #bisteemit family.

Thank you for informing important news to stemians around the world, so I understand a little more about the tricks and techniques of leveraging the dollar through steemit.

Also more Thanks to STEEMIT who is the media who appreciate every word, image and tags with the dollar convention

Thanks @elshadr, yes thanks to Steemit we get rewards for the value we add to the platform.

Really great breakdown and analysis! All very interesting information.

Terry is correct though. Chats is part of the community. And I believe its that part that helps determine your over all steemit success.

Thank you @bearone. I'm not sure why my comment did not go through. I agree, some things we do outside of steemit determine our success in the platform.

What did you use for the word count? There are some good text analytic on microsoft cognitive services, but for some reason I am locked out of my account and just have not had time to get it sorted

Love the use of the bubble charts. They are a fantastic visualization to spot outliers and clusters.

Overall an awesome analysis. Well done

Loading...

I'm still trying to get a hang of these bubble charts - which data best represents the size of the bubble, which data goes to the x-axis, and which data goes to the y-axis.

but I bet you are having fun learning how to use them

You bet I am! :D

I myself always get lack of words to say, i get mentally blocked, needs practice

Write more to learn more. :)

Thanks for your post! It's very informative and answered my question: "Which kinds of topics earn more?" in great detail. As a member of the community, I think it's a good approach to identify a few topics I'm passionate about, and stick with a couple or a few ones that are liked by many (indicated by number of votes and the amount of payount). I'm currently in the experimental stage, trying to write about a large variety of topics and whichever ones become successful, I'll follow through. This article promped me to change course and analyze some data along the way.

Upvoted. I'll be resteeming this now :]

Thank you @taylor.swift. I appreciate it.

Wow! this is a very helpful piece of information! thanks for sharing.
I passed by someone who asked how to go about word count. Google Doc app has that feature, If you are using a droid phone.

You're welcome. And thank you for that suggestion. I used the wordcount npm.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63894.44
ETH 3342.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91