Same shit, different Exchange... throwing Bittrex the Red Flag! Use with caution

in #bittrex6 years ago (edited)

Wheat from the chaff

For a while now the two main 'altcoin' Exchanges have been @poloniex and @bittrex. I've been around long enough to see the rise and fall of altcoin exchanges like Cryptsy, Mintpal and more recently Bter.

I had thought over the last few years we had gone some way to separating the "wheat from the chaff" with (at the beginning of 2017) Poloniex and Bittrex emerging as trusted Exchanges. However with the explosion in growth of the cryptocurrency userbase; both Poloniex and Bittrex are struggling to make the transition from small businesses to medium sized enterprises.

Same shit, different exchange

First to start to show cracks was Poloniex. From 'Temporarily disabling' deposits and withdrawals on numerous coins for weeks on end with no explanation. To the site going down with complete radio silence. Poloniex fell below Bittrex in the pecking order of trusted Exchanges in my eyes.

However of late it is Bittrex that is beginning to even more alarming strain. And unfortunately I've found some of my own funds caught up in the Bittrex blender.


bittrex.png

Not public enough...

Despite being a Bittrex user for a number of years, a few weeks back I was getting prompted to verify my account whenever I logged in. However I was able to ignore the prompt and use my account as normal. I only use Bittrex to trade and don’t hold significant funds on the exchange for prolonged periods of time. I usually deposit funds, make my trade, then withdraw.

However a few weeks back, I deposited some funds, made my trade, only to find I couldn't withdraw them. Bittrex wanted some basic verification.

I provided the information they requested (name, date-of-birth, address) only to greeted with this message:

We could not match your information to our public record providers. To complete the verification process, you must apply for an enhanced account.

Screen Shot 2017-12-02 at 19.22.32.png

In practice this meant overnight I went from being a user that could withdraw up to 100 BTC per day to a user that could withdraw nothing, including the funds I had recently deposited.

Biting the bullet...

As much as I loathe giving out my details to these Exchanges, I decided to verifiy my account. The "enhanced verification" involved sending a selfie with some kind of government documentation. So I did that only to receive the following:

Name Mismatch... We failed to automatically process your documents due to your name from your basic application not matching what is found on your documents.

Screen Shot 2017-12-02 at 19.28.33.png

So I raised a ticket, explaining the minor name discrepancy. Yet three weeks and two chases later, not a word for Bittrex. All this time, my deposited funds being stuck on the Exchange.

Mom and pop Exchange

There is really no point in me ranting about the lack of communication, support services or professionalism of crypto Exchange services in 2017. In reality they operate closer to a bedroom businesses than multinational corporations. Basic concepts like replying to emails or investing in recruiting and training up support staff seem lost on the Bittrex hierarchy.

170928-mompop.jpg

All I can say is if you’re using Bittrex, be cautious.

Especially if you have yet to verify your account. You run the risk of your money getting caught in their ‘blender’ and it potentially taking months to get it out.

I’d say that the fact that Bittrex is accepting deposits yet refusing withdrawals from some accounts should be a red flag for anyone using the Exchange. It has the hallmarks of an Exchange with liquidity problems. However only time will tell whether this is the case.

Want Crypto? Pick your poison


Pick-Your-Poison.jpg

I’ll keep you posted on the progress of my Bittrex ticket and how long it takes to resolve. However if you want a flavour for the prevalence of the problems on the Exchange do a twitter search on #BittrexTrouble.

I used to recommend new people use Bittrex and Poloniex to buy some of the lesser known cryptocurrencies. I stopped recommending Poloniex a few months, even though they appear to have got their act together recently.

I can however no longer recommend Bittrex.

I’d advise people to consider shopping around and consider using services such as Shapeshift or Blocktrades. However it is a trade off. You’ll likely pay a mark-up using these services so keep an eye on the price actual you’re paying for your trade.

Unfortunately it's a case of picking your poison at the moment.

If Poloniex and Bittrex are working for you, then you could be better off using them. However be prepared for your funds to get locked up at a moments notice... that may be a price not worth paying for a good exchange rate.

Professional Players needed

To my mind the 'altcoin' Exchange market is ripe for disruption and I'm sure someone will eventually fill the void with a service that a multi-billion dollar sector warrants. 'Bitcoin' Exchanges, like Coinbase and Bitstamp, though not perfect by any means operate to a higher degree of professionalism. The 'altcoin' market will only grow in the medium term and the outfits running the Exchanges seem ill-suited to making the transition to keep up.

It would be great to see decentralised exchanges, like Bitshares take a foothold in cryptocurrency. However at the moment the liquidity and traction simply isn’t there on any of these exchanges.


Real_Cowgirls.jpg

We are very much the wild west days in cryptocurrency. The moment your coins leave your possession, even for the length of time it takes to send to an Exchange, trade and send them back; consider them lost. You need to be comfortable with the possibility that (at any moment) you may struggle to get your coins back or worse may not see them again. It is ironic that the most robust protocols invented to store our value (e.g. the blockchain) are currently supported by some of the most ropey and insecure services.

But we are where we are.

Is any centralised cryptocurrency exchange safe to use at the moment?

Sort:  

Honestly I’m using it now and many people have told me that it should be a temporary thing and not a long time . There is so much shady things going on these sites as well as Poloniex. I contacted customer service to change my email on Bittrex since aol is going out of business and I still don’t have a reply . I’m going to have to take my funds out before they are all gone

I prefer using coinbase

download.jpg

As in how they are treating you is Bullshit. Wow that sucks, I have had no problems with Bittrex, but I am damn sure going to be careful if I decided to deposit and significant amount there. The ease of being able to move crypto around makes us quickly forget the dangers of the unregulated exchanges as well. That sucks... sorry to hear that.

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@pawsdog/12-3-2017-the-market-view-and-trading-outlook

@pawsdog

I hope it is temporary however some people have been waiting months for news on their verification. And there is very little communication about what the issue(s) are.

Coinbase, I haven't used in a while. I know some people that have had issues recently but not to the extent on the smaller Exchanges. I think Coinbase is solid however doesn't trade some of the lesser known coins, so forced to go via Bittrex/ Poloniex at times.

In my opinion it’s better for short term investments once cleared with verification

steal die.png

I have 15k US in bitshares. Will double it every week that there are no issues.

I just signed up to Bittrex and it took 3-4days to get verified as they rejected by IDs. The uploads identification were coming up with same error info specified above by the author.
However, when I contacted the support via the form, i got an autoresponder mail specifying what could be the issue. I got livid and mailed them my ID to upload it themselves. After a few hours i got an email of a verified account.
Really wasn't an enjoyable user experience.

It will be less enjoyable when they report every sale (not buy - they never report the buy) you make. Then the IRS will be on your butt.

To what email do you have sent the ID? I have contacted them in so many ways and do not answer yet ...

Love for DEX #bitshares

U5drCPbgWm1A7mGee7d92LP4ZatYreh.gif

give me a 32 bit linux client for it.

I'm running it on a 64 bit Fedora box

that is very messed up to attack my post on selfies that people can express art and fun on, what is the deal? that is totally wrong....I have no control over who follows me or uses things I do...I do hope you do the right thing and remove the flag because if you look at my blog I don't even know you, you should realllllly look in the mirror and leave a woman like me alone,

Give me a 32 bit bitshares client

I too have a linux micro box, stuck in 32 bit. I do all my BitShares trading on my other machines.

How ot works

What is the main purpose of btu can you please.let me know i really worl hard to make a good post i need to learn how to get help.from u also

I ran into the exact same thing, a few weeks ago, and went through the same set of verification procedures... somewhat against my better judgment. No, they couldn't "verify me in public records," probably for the very reason that I have spent a lot of time keeping a really low profile...

I really DO hope decentralized exchanges gain some traction, but I guess it's quite a challenge to build consensus when people have such a wide range of perspectives on how money should be handled. In a sense, maybe that's one of the true "acid tests" of decentralized structures...

Hard to say whether they are intentionally trying to screw people over or just struggling to keep up with overwhelming demand. Like you say, time will tell

The demand is a part of the problem, but there seems to be some strange activities going on with USDT

Now that I read this I'm glad I took everything out of Bittrex and not dealing with them anymore now. In my case, the first alarm bells started ringing when I moved my Neo from their exchange and somehow 0.3 Neo seemed to end up in their pockets even after I paid the fees...never a reply as to why that happened...They seem to think it's normal to keep everything after the comma. I had a similar experience as yours, with Blockchain. I was able to buy BTC with my debit card, but when I wanted to move it to an exchange, they refused and I had to verify my account. I'm not sure why this is all happening right now, but it seems to be going on with lots of exchanges and wallets now. Thank you @nanzo-scoop

I think that's real shady, allowing people to be 'verified' enough to deposit their funds but not verified enough to withdraw them! It's tantamount to stealing in my eyes.

This is just horrible, and I don't understand yet why Basic verification is not enough, as in the case of this post, or in my case, which I have seen I need a few days ago, in order to withdraw my money from Bittrex. Why is this needed and why should I send them a photo of my face and also my id? I feel controled and this is not the purpose of blockchain. It is not the control of population the thing to be achieved by this technology, but freedom and free market!

Agreed @nanzo-scoop...It seems to be happening with more than one exchange, Bittrex now, Blockchain and even spectrocoin. The last two are both dealing with Coinify, so I'd say it's them that are doing this. But with Bittrex I don't know. But I think Bittrex taking 0.2 Neo, when I already paid the fees, is theft too...I opened a ticket with them and never heard back.

I was an enhanced user, was trading there for a many months after leaving Polo with all its glitches. I loved Bittrex. Right when btc was peaking I sent some alts into my account to sell for bitcoin and cash out. I noticed they had lowered my withdrawal amount and made me a basic member again for some reason. I resubmitted my credentials and was blocked shortly after becoming enhanced user again. I know shit happens and for whatever reason they needed to do that but then when I started researching I learned there is over a two month backlog for gettin unlocked. In fact, I have found not ONE single person that has said they have been unlocked. I keep looking. Please let me know if you have been. I am a week in and very mad. The trade I was trying to make would have been my only cash out and now the coins are locked up and they have plummeted in price. I lost a lot of money and am now scrambling to figure out what to do. There is a youtube video where a guy says he has had the same experience and he has 30 btc on bittrex. Over two months. No response. Nothing. I try not to keep coins on trading sites but this is outrageous. I am a us citizen as is the guy with the 30 btc locked up. Many, many users can be found commenting on bittrex's twitter posts. Over 2000 on the most recent tweet there. Go see for yourself. #bittrexproblems

ive verified with docs literally in less than minute (after uploading them)

Just experienced the same thing with bittrex today. After almost two months of trading, wanted to withdraw today and got caught up in the verification hassle. Now my money is stuck with no means of getting it out. This is really really crazy stuff from bittrex. And to think we weren't informed before time

Thanks so much for the heads up. With the markets as they are, I am feeling the need to diversify and that means finding exchanges and ways to trade. So, this is timely and useful information for me.

Diversification is definitely a good idea. Just be careful on those Exchanges and be prepared for the worst should it happen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97