Lake is frozen over, sturgeon spearing started today...

in #blog5 years ago

And people are taking full advantage. Below zero temps but they plow roads and build bridges over cracks or thin ice, drive out, drill holes in the ice and watch for sturgeon. Spear on sight. It is a huge sport here in Wisconsin. Often fishermen have ice shanties, made of anything and everything, where they can stay out if the weather. Some even heat them.

You can drive straight from the street onto the lake. They come in cars, trucks, snowmobiles and 4 wheelers.

20190209_110803.jpg

And then it is fun and fishing, eating and drinking. And spearing big ugly fish. It must be a good time for those who do enjoy. :).

20190209_101151.jpg

20190209_110358.jpg

Lets recap....they plow roads, build bridges, drive on ice. Cut holes in perfectly good ice. Heat ice shanties. Spear big ugly fish. Sounds fun so far. I myself fail to see the attraction. Lol.

20190209_110335.jpg

20190209_101209_Burst01.jpg

The intent is two fold. Controlling the sturgeon population is also a factor. Very important to the health of the lake. All fish caught (speared) must be registered. Weigh stations are typically bars and it is a big party. Along with weight, length and sex, numbers are recored. Once a certain quota of any category is met the season is over. If not, it is a specified time period.

20190209_110805.jpg

It is interesting to see the comraderie and enthusiasim. I think it is a great way to take advantage of nature. Or, in other words, brutal winters and frozen lakes.

Sort:  

I can not see the attraction! I've driven the ice road on Lake Superior from Bayfield Wisconsin out to Madeline Island in the past and tended to hold my breath the entire way! I think driving on ice is terrifying. Ice fishing. Spearing fish. I'm with you. I do not understand the attraction.

You did a lot better than us. I think we were on the ice in the car maybe 2 minutes and I was done with that adventute. But, I have driven on the ice. Mark that off the bucket list!

Terrifying is a good word for that.

When my kids were small I remember their father driving down to the boat landing and then just unexpectedly continuing out onto the ice with all of us in the car. I totally freaked out. I had no idea if he knew what he was doing or if the ice was thick enough. All I knew was that my children would not be able to swim if the car sank and I was shrieking so loudly that he got us out of there pretty quickly.

Have you tried eating Sturgeon? I never have but I've read that it can be tasty. Maybe some fresh fish will give you a better perspective on why they are out there.

But it doesn't seem like anything I would enjoy. I like warmth too much.

I could never eat anything that disgusting. Eeeeewwwwww.

They say it tastes just like chicken. Lol. Of course I was told the same thing about venicen, squirrel, rabbit and frog legs. They lied.

Wow... that's a totally new thing for me! Of course here, there's only hot & rain, no snow, no ice... no autumn or spring either! Lol... Now you see how strange this whole experience would be for me... :) I might try this once... just to know what its like. But don't think it would be my thing...
But this is a wonderful post for me! :)

Talk about culture shock! You would need a new wardrobe of warm clothes, boots, hat, gloves. But I think you would enjoy the experience. For a little while :)

You live where please? I should remember from previous posts but don't recall, sorry.

Yeahhh, not too keen on the new wardrobe... unlike people like my niece (young people...!) who love getting new stuff even if its just for one trip to a snow holiday somewhere...

No worries, I live in Malaysia, so its just hot days and rainy days... Today happens to be a terribly hot and humid one! It's 11:28pm now and the temperature is 27C/81F... Ugh!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97