Discovering myself

in #bumpers6 years ago

While leading a company and unearthing the path to lead us on I also find some best paths for myself as a person.

Finding the best path for myself often comes from recognizing what I might call “bumpers” like we see in bowling alleys.

Only that in life there are no bumpers, rather a person needs to develop a sense for where the edges of the lane really are and the bumpers exist for me invisibly.

I have two really bad bumpers I’ve begun paying attention to.

One is interrupting. I pride myself on listening well. However, I don’t always. And I’ve lately understood a very clear bumper for myself. Interrupting another person.

If I interrupt someone into means I’m trying too hard to get my message across.

From there I may need to set back and re evaluate how I’m approaching things.

My second bumper though I do not do it often, I believe, is bad language. If I curse over something, I am stressed. And though I am often smooth and calm, the river in me runs deep. Cursing is an indication something is off underneath, and I need to step back to understand how to fix the issue there.

Do you have bumpers?

— Capt. Scott

E49ECAB1-A9C3-400F-BBE5-5FDC14BD6A4B.jpeg

Sort:  

One bumper I've had for a long time was not being able to see things from someone else's perspective. To fight this I started to listen to podcast that had political notions different than mine. This would force me to see things from their vantage point and I wouldn't have a chance to interrupt or rebuke, I just sit there and listen. I've found this has been very helpful in giving me a better perspective on things.

When we are able to see things from someone else's point of view it gives us a better understanding of their reality. We live in a world where there are often violent clashes because of opposing ideals and the inability to see things from the other side.

Wow that’s very mature and a great idea, shows who you are as a person. Doing things because it’s the right thing to do even though itshard to do.

Thank you, @Ned for volunteering your thoughts/vulnerabilities & inviting us to share ours.

One of my bumpers is impatience. As an artist, I cheat myself by picking fruit before it has had time to ripen on the vine (of heart and mind).

Another bumper of mine is hypersensitivity & taking things too personally.

Trying to work through both, on Steemit & off.

Cheers from Florida, Yahia

ED12F08E-0761-45B1-A0A6-BA38951C8FC7.jpeg

Jeez, Yahia. You folks have some massive mosquitoes down there. Wow!

Very funny, mister, and not too far from the truth :p
You should see the size of our pigeons!

I also have trouble taking things too personally, not easy to get over this one. A constant never ending battle over here.

I have bumpers. We all do. No one is perfect. Life is all about challenges and our ability to overcome these challenges form us.

You are doing a great job. I am half way out of the rat race because of you and your creation, Steemit. Thank you so much.

I pray for you. I pray that Steemit would soar high. God bless you @ned!

Only 1/2 to go:). Keep the prayers up. If we don't ask, we don't receive...

We all have bumpers in life. For now, a minor bump for me is: I love using steemit and cant help focusing on monetary aspect of it. True sense of joy doesnt come with monetary goal and hence my conflict of interest.

To be honest Ned, I'm actually quite happy you've decided to make these personal type posts.

it makes you real... there is an intangible value to that. dunno if you thought of this as a strategy or if you are simply exploring different elements attached to your concept of purpose. But, these types of things make me smile, because it means that you have at least one foot still grounded.

Most underrated comment ever 😂

thank you the compliment brother... speaking from the heart aided by a cup of wine! ;)

Of course everyone has bumpers. It's a matter of identifying one has. Not everyone contemplates on this, perhaps it comes with their personality. And most of the people who do these are introverts and find value in discovering oneself over others (perhaps being liked?).

Just to reciprocate, one of my bumpers is the want to be liked which has caused me to say yes to too many things when 'no' would have been the appropriate one.

I agree with you @eastmael. When it comes to bumpers.... oh my lanta! I think i have too many to mention. The one you mention....for sure I share with you.

Ok @ned now this proves to a great extent that you are human, many of us have been throwing light arguments about whether or not you are an hybrid (from the future maybe).

My major bumber is; Poor time management, I often engage myself in so many activities at once that I end up becoming almost unproductive with any.

Thanks for the open and honest post! Not something you see every day from such an influential person. I like the bumper analogy. My two bumpers are healthy eating and clear communication. I could almost argue it all boils down to clear communication (or lack of I should say). If I was a better communicator I could avoid the social eating pitfalls that create a ripple effect across every other aspect of my life. Thanks for the post!

@ned whats going on with you today man, did you dip into those SF bud brownies? Have a safe flight home!

So good you’ve discovered these bumpers about you
You see I take this as good discoveries simply because. What human does determines who the human is, Discovering some things about ourselves either positive or negative helps us become good humans. Once some bumpers are discovered, human I mean good humans tend to correct them and in return it makes such humans better persons .

I discovered some bumpers in myself which I’ve taken the pain to take away and now I’m a better human .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87