The Stackin' Community Has Gotten To Me!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy5 years ago

Screen Shot 2019-01-12 at 6.46.31 PM.png

My latest acquisitions!

One of communities I have been following since I have joined the ecosystem have been those around precious metals of Stackin’ as they like to say. Ever since I became a father, I started to buy silver and gold coins every year to collect or stack a good amount over time. At first the thought was to save a bit as a future gift for my daughter to inherit in the far future. Since I have always been a great student of Dollar Cost Averaging, I saw it as an opportunity to get into a great position over the long term which would be longer than most investments I normally do.

However, as I had gotten involved in these communities in addition to going down the cryptocurrency “rabbit hole,” I have started to see more benefits to stackin’ these metals. As of late, I continue to watch the financial markets and see how the many institutions continue to setup a future where our fiat will eventually be even more worthless than they are today. While it would not be immediate, the fact that it will happen has to get oneself thinking of alternatives. I will not say more about my thoughts of the advantages of cryptocurrencies here but I think it is the best alternative.

However, I am also a student of asset allocation. It has been proven by many academics that proper allocation of assets determines most of the performance of portfolios. Therefore, I think it is important to consider precious metals as a portion of your portfolio. How much enough is relative and also depends on your thoughts of other assets available. Given the known manipulation of the prices of most precious metals, it is tough to trade these profitably. This is because most of the trading occurs on paper via derivatives instead of the physical asset themselves. Most advisors say 5-10% but I feel that could be low.

Others have shared great collections and the fun and passion they feel when stackin’ themselves. While this is the way I currently feel about Steem, I have to admit that I was excited when I was shopping for these new acquisitions today. It was earlier in the year than I have been used to buying but I was in the area and thought it would be good considering that the prices have begun to move over the last couple of weeks. It was the first time I buy Silver bars but I was immediately attracted to them and was convinced once I held them in my hands. I now have started to feel the urge to stack!

STEEM 2018-04-21 at 11.21.16 AM.png

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources they provide by using my referral link:
https://www.minnowbooster.com/referral/530636

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link:
https://steemmonsters.com/?ref=newageinv

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.

Sort:  

It's addictive! I even got most of my nieces and nephews (and one sister and brother in law) staking now! Have been completely unable to get them into crypto. More people can relate to money they can hold in their hands where it actually feels like value to them.

Btw, I don't think that 5-10% accounts for having crypto holdings. I think crypto and precious metals fit into the same 5-10%, which these days folks are saying is 20% because we're at the edge of a recession.

I personally think 20% for precious metals and crypto is fine at the moment. However, I think that overtime, cryptocurrencies will make up more given their attractiveness against fiat which will fall out of favor due to economic issues.

Posted using Partiko iOS

They look pretty cool as well! I can't wait to see them bro!

I’ve been thinking about it lately...
Precious metals have hard core fans. Maybe now is a good time to expand my portfolio too...and your post triggered these thoughts

Really thoughtful to possibly give such a collection to your daughter. That’s what a proper father would do ;)

Posted using Partiko iOS

There is a large community here in the ecosystem that share some awesome finds when it comes to silver in particular. I have found it fun and very relevant to save something on the side.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Diversifying is key. Though I myself do not collect or invest in precious metals, I do see the value in it. It's good to have ones money in different asset classes so when one asset is doing poorly the person can sell another asset that is doing well. It also minimizes risk of losses and other things that you mentioned in your post. I hope your precious metal investments do well for you :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! I sometimes feel I over-diversify as I have a number of collections I invest in although many deem them hobbies. The main consideration is to enjoy something as we prepare for the future.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I enjoyed your thoughts in this post @newageinv. I particularly appreciate your long-term perspective in putting this away for your daughter. Good job Dad! 😉👍

I've invested in both gold and silver long before I ever even heard of the crypto asset class. Holding one ounce coins of either quickly brings to your senses the allure of these ancient stores of value. They have certainly stood the test of time.

That was my first "light bulb" thought about owning crypto assets was the idea of them representing the virtual equivalent of gold. No question it is advantageous to both buy them in whatever amounts you want (out to the 8th decimal place), as well as store it all on my Ledger Nano S 😊

Now, will it hold up over time? You and I will only live through the first period of time to find out. I'm still optimistic!

Posted using Partiko Android

Time will only tell but gold and silver have remained here for thousands of years and as technology and the digital world is just getting started, if the development continues, crypto could be that next significant asset to take a place in many portfolios.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great acquisition ! You can definitely HODL this one 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice grabs. I need to add to my silver. Have 25 silver koalas I snagged a year ago.

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @newageinv!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.831 which ranks you at #4498 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 58 places in the last three days (old rank 4556).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 248 contributions, your post is ranked at #63.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98