Attending College Is for Some But Not for Everyone

in #college6 years ago


Hello again, friend. Today I would like to share with you my thoughts on attending college and why it is for some but not for everyone.

If you have already graduated from college, then you may have already come to my same realization. If you are currently considering or planning to attend college, then this is your wake up call.

You see, right after I graduated from high school back in 2003, I signed up for a local community college right near my home. Why? Because that is what kids are "supposed" to do right after they graduate high school.

Then, in 2005, I had a breakdown. I was completely lost and had no direction as to where I wanted my life to go. My parents then encouraged me to go to a different school thinking that a change in scenery would help form a path for my future.

After graduating from Mt. Vernon Nazarene University in 2008, I was SO DONE with school and wanted to go out into the world and put my skills to work. My personal fitness training career began and I pursued it for a couple years until I discovered business.

kenmelendezdivider.png

You see, schools do a great job of teaching and training you on how to be a good employee. But, I came to the realization early on in my career that I wanted to call the shots. I wanted to be in charge of my schedule and my time off... not my boss, my manager, or my supervisor.

After experiencing that epiphany, I then went on to pursue online business back in 2013 and have never looked back since. I currently do work a job, but I am working on growing Steem as well as my brand, The Daily Climb, to break free of the 9-5.

In my opinion, college doesn't make sense anymore in the 21st century. It often times requires you to get into excess amounts of debt, then after graduation you try to get a good job to pay for that debt. The problem though is that you are simply paying off debt and you can't afford to then pay for living expenses. Not to mention, many jobs are laying people off so frequently it's ridiculous. My Dad has been laid off 3 times in his life and he has had to start over from scratch each time.

College shows you how to work for money, but owning a business and investing teaches you how to make your money work for you. If you've ever read the book, the Cashflow Quadrant by Robery Kiyosaki, you would see how the left side of the quadrant is where many people are which is employee and self-employed. The right side of the quadrant is the road less traveled which is business owner and investor.

The entire book talks about how important it is to learn how to cross over from the employee side, over to the business owner side. I'll do another post on that topic because there is a lot to cover.

kenmelendezdivider.png

But anyways, bottom line is, don't go to school only because your parents tell you to or because your basketball coach tells you to. Only go if you know it is in alignment with the vision you have for your life. If you are pursuing a career that requires a degree and you know it is best for you, then go for it.

Be sure to listen to your heart though and don't try to fit a square peg into a round hole. There are other options out there besides working for 40 years praying that you don't get laid off, and then retiring with hopefully some sort of 401K plan.

This has been Ken Melendez with another sincere message from my heart to yours. Enjoy the rest of your day friend.

Until next time, remember, You Are Awesome.

Take care.

kenmelendezgifresized.gif

-Ken
@kenmelendez

P.S. Decide what kind of life you want to live first, then decide if college is right for you or not.


Recent Posts You May Enjoy

https://steemcreators.com


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I totally agree with you. Now that I am grown up and almost at the point of retirement, my first tour of college was a waste. It wasn't until I went in my late twenties wanting to do what I wanted I made a difference in my life. I had to do it for myself.

Yes absolutely @rodstarr. Kids are going into college at 18 not having any clue what they want to study so they end up wasting valuable years changing majors and trying to discover who they are all at the same time. It's crazy but I truly feel like people are being brainwashed into believing in a system that just plain does not work as well as it should.

Yes you are right .in my country youths are just running behind colleges without knowing what exactly they love to do.very well you present your views i must learn things from your post ,em a newbie here

Hey hey @shubh007 thanks for stopping by and welcome to Steemit!!

Do stop somtime on my blogs😚😊

Right on @yaanivapeji. It is those who think outside the box who get out of the box results.

Nice post @kenmelendez A lot of people are suffering from student loans nowadays. It's a big problem for quite a few people from our generation (I am 33 years old too).

P.S. Check out https://www.edx.org/ if you have time!
(it's free)

Yep, for sure @chrisrice. Even if someone declares bankruptcy, student loans will still be in full effect.

Wow. I didn't know that. It sounds like politics got involved and made a bad situation for students. I also heard that the U.S. Government agreed to back the loans, so colleges are guaranteed to get paid the full amount. Unfortunately I think it helped cause the rise in tuition rates! @kenmelendez

It is so important that we prepare our kids for the world they are going to live in - not the world we knew at their age! The world is changing so fast; jobs are disappearing and living costs are rising. It seems to me that we need to teach the next generation how to think, adapt and most importantly to live!
Education has it's place (I am a teacher) but it is not the answer to everything....

That is so right @mirriek! The world is indeed changing at a rapid pace. Who knew 10 years ago that digital currency would even be a thing!

After I graduated from the university and got my degree, i worked as interior designer as it was not the thing that I studied from the university, and this proved that life experiences is the more we need and people didn’t think too much about the degree we had.

I am agree with you 100% , now I worked in broadcast business in America and again my degree didn’t support anything about this job but I got it for some reason. Well thank you for sharing this, I am sure many ppl in this generation see the same thing.

Excellent @giantkidishere! I was actually wondering if I should even share this post or not. I waited like a month after I shot it to put it up but I'm glad I did. People really need to understand that there are other options out there besides the traditional route. Cheers!

I translated your post in Thai and explained to my niece (she is studying in the university - first year now) let her think out of the box , because our culture / family / etc always think that degree from university is always the best. I am the one in family who think different and I am not regret it.

I am glad you did this post and I am glad I found you on Dtube Coz I use Dtube as my main platform now so hope to read good thing from you more and more.

Thank you have a great night !!
TJ
🤗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62258.08
ETH 3157.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78