You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Deadpost Initiative - Week 40 - Share your most undervalued work ($17 STEEM rewards last week)

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

https://steemit.com/philosophy/@artisticscreech/sometimes-you-don-t-need-to-change-and-learning-to-embrace-yourself

I think I will enter again.

I wrote this post about avoiding things that offer to make our lives better by changing us and accepting the self a few months ago but It did not do very well. I think it is pretty good though and I hope that you all agree.

Sort:  

”The idea that we "need" to change is often used as a means of exploitation and the antidote to is learning to accept the self for what it is.

This was excellent! I love this. I’ve been thinking and writing about this same thing – and I think you expressed it better than I ever could.

With your permission I’d like to include this in an email periodical I produce for my readers (off-Steem). This is the kind of content that will bring readers to this platform!!!! 😊🙏🏽☯️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you.

Yeah that would be okay if you want to use it.

"If you donate money to me, you will be a 'good person', people really believe that? Learning to accept ourselves and our flaws definitely is what brings about growth. When we keep trying to change ourselves to be "perfect" just to experience growth or be successful it becomes counterproductive.And besides, life's imperfections is what makes it exciting.

Haha yeah there are more than you might think. I always think of those grifter preachers that get people to think their level of "goodness" is directly tied to how much money that they are willing to donate.

Heheheh! Its really sad that people do believe that...

Wow... there is so much I could say about this. Thank you so much for opening this door. I agree completely that the first step is to accept yourself, but after that, you can change if you want to. I mean, just because we are born a certain way does not mean we have to stay that way. I often ask myself "who I want to be", then look for tools to transform the parts of myself that are blocking the path. Over the years, I have used many, many tools, and the truth is, I am more ME now than I have ever been. Thanks to those tools, I have created a growth path that had to pass through acceptance in order to reach a new level. Not sure if that makes any sense. :)

I actually just read an article earlier this week about how all this focus on "self help" and "self optimization" can make us less happy: https://www.gq.com/story/why-self-help-makes-you-less-happy
Your post goes along with that. If we're never satisfied with ourselves, and always striving, how can we ever be content? Yes, as you say, if you really want to improve an area of your life and make a goal and stuff, great! But the norm in society pretty much is "never be content with yourself or your life," and we wonder why we are so unsatisfied.

good stuff and so very true really liked this part

They are not our enemies that need to be rooted out and slain. They are our left eye and our little toe. We can not lose them without subtracting from the whole.

Well written post about ourselves. We are ourselves is treasure but we are trying to find ourselves in else's treasure. Teachers, books and society is taking the advantage on ourselves by giving what we do not need. If we are able to see what we have, then all problems will be solved. The adoption of acceptance has almost ended with modern education. Now we do not question anymore but accept answers without doubt and experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63814.67
ETH 3194.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90