You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Deadpost Initiative - Week 43 - Share your most undervalued work ($15 SBD rewards last week)

in #contest6 years ago

I won? Awesome @whatamidoing, thanks so much! Big congrats to @metametheus, @fjmb86, @cheekah, and @inuke as well - this is a great idea to bring some attention and value to long forgotten or unseenposts.

My entry for this week is Cox's Bazar Surf Report and the Father of Bangladeshi Surfing

jafaralam.jpg
Source

This is one of my favorite posts, written when I was in Bangladesh during a work trip looking at the Rohingya issue. Even though this post only made .60 cents, I really enjoyed sharing Jafar Alam's journey as the first surfer in Bangladesh and how he gave back to at-risk youth in his community. This post joins my professional humanitarian life with my preference for off-the-beaten-track travel and my love of surfing.

Sort:  

Great story. Thanks for reviving it.

Very interesting and well written post, I really enjoyed reading this! :) That one chance meeting turned Jafar into the founder of Surfing in Bangladesh is great, and you do an awesome job telling the story! :)

Thank you @paradigm42, I really enjoyed your post as well!

I love the story, and how something trivial (and maybe ridiculous) as going the extra mile to get a surfboard could impart a country's way of life positively.

I'm inspired by how one man could put smiles on people's faces through what he loves.

Will the water actually make their skin darker?

Thanks @getencored! I agree, I loved telling this man's story, especially how he gave back to the community!

The water itself doesn't make the skin darker, but being out in the hot sun all day would! :)

I really love this post. I am so surprised it had such a low payout. It was written well, humorous, and your formatting! Even though this is a "deadpost" I am telling my discord group about it. Such a great story. Thanks so much for sharing it. We have followed you and look forward to seeing more.
Ren

Thanks so much @xcountytravelers, I appreciate the support and kind words! It was only my third post on my @eoj account, so that's probably why :)

Hey @eoj, Thanks man. I must say that the story about that Bangladeshi surfer is very unique. I think the people of the sub-Indian continent are not very fond of surfing. Take my case, Even though I am from the Islands, I haven't touched the Board yet, Let alone try surfing. But one can only hope to see such man trying to attract more to enjoy the waves.

And congratulation on winning the previous Dead post :-)

Thanks so much @inuke, I appreciate the comment! There are great waves in India, you never know, you might be a surfing pioneer in your country! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63228.07
ETH 3244.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90