You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 50 - Selfie Freewrite Celebration Contest - Prize 114.80 SBD

in #contest6 years ago

Cursory reference to chips just to make this freewrite relevant: I just bought some jalapeño chips for my partner while going out and getting a breakfast sandwich. Yep.

IMG_6130.jpg
Sideways as usual!

BUT MORE IMPORTANTLY: I’d just like to say THANK YOU to all of you. @mariannewest convinced me to join this despite having been reluctant, and I thought I would last like, less than five days before giving up on it. Of course, I’m pretty stubborn about following through when I commit to something, even if it’s a commitment that nobody was forcing me to stay in. I had only ever written one freewrite before this. I suppose I determined that I didn’t really have anything to lose by giving it a shot, and maybe I’d make a few more friends.

What came out of these 50 days far exceeded my expectations. First of all, prior to this, I had never really written fiction, save for that one freewrite, and some (appropriately) incoherent childhood attempts. I was under the impression that I just couldn’t do it and that I didn’t have much of a creative brain. I had written a couple of poems in my life, but they seemed like one off efforts in times of distress that basically weren’t replicable. I knew that I was a good writer in the sense that I was good enough to get into and survive the history department at a top tier grad school, and good enough that people would pay me small amounts of money to write articles for their online publications, but conducting and summarizing research was a totally different skill set than creating something out of nothing.

It totally shocked me to learn that YES, I can get out of my comfort zone and create something out of nothing (or, well, something from one word). Not only that, I could do it In 5 minutes (or 10-15, if you count editing and putting in photos and stuff). Not only that, it was actually pretty good by my standards. I would read them and show them to my friends because I was actually proud of them. One of my freewrites was even curie’d, and that felt pretty good. Sometimes I think I might have grand ambitions of like, writing a novel one day, or something. Maybe. We’ll see.

I also made a few new friends whose writing consistently inspires me, and whose comments motivate me to keep going.

In short, despite having had (quite frankly) very low expectations for how this 50 days would go, at least in terms of what I would create from it, and despite having kind of hit a wall at around day 35, and even despite being sick for the last 10 days—so much so that I couldn’t even look at a screen other than to do those freewrites for a couple of days of it—there have been few, if any, experiences that have contributed so much to my creative development.

Sorry to be all cheesy and stuff. Y’all are great. I’ll miss your selfies. I will not miss posting my own selfies.

Sort:  

I feel the same way, that this fifty-day writing experiment gave much more than I could have imagined as far as lighting a creative fire--like it pushed me through some door I avoided opening before.
And, your freewrites were amazing! I nominated your incel post for the Tuesday contest. Not sure what happened, but in my opinion it was stellar. I've even mentioned your piece in conversations with my kids and friends a couple of times ;) It sort of stuck in my psyche and that's what good story telling is all about.

Haha, thanks so much! I really appreciate that! I've been a big fan of your writing too. I didn't want to name names in that but you're definitely among those who have been inspirational for me. That incel story was definitely unplanned all around. I didn't even realize until somewhere around the end of paragraph 1 that it was going to be satire. At first I thought it was going to be something about depression. It's something that could have only come about from being a freewrite!

@kimberlylane
may I use the first sentence in the future as a testimonial?

May I keep this to quote when I start looking to try to get some delegations?

Yes of course!

there have been few, if any, experiences that have contributed so much to my creative development.

Although I felt this way when I discovered freewrites in general here, I have to say that my experience with this particular contest definitely pushed me even further! It's been great getting to know other writers as well.

I also agree that I won't miss posting my selfies! That was a bigger challenge than the writing!

Your commitment here is remarkable, not to mention your freewrite and writing. They are fantastically awesome!!! Stay on with daily freewrite ei? 😉👌

Feel just like you with how some stories came out of nowhere and I'd be surprised at the end of it. There were many times, I stared at a prompt wondering what the hell was I going to do with it, and then at the end I'd be "Oh, ok....hmmmm".
By the way, if you didn't say, I would have thought you'd been doing this for a very long time because you are really good at it.
And we made it, selfie (upside down, side ways, right way up).... cheers! 🎉😃🎉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64160.97
ETH 3145.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86