Dead Poems Society, Round 8, Contest and Community Building

in #contest6 years ago

Dead Poems Socieity

Roilos-georgios-poets-parnassos-literary-club (1).jpg
Attribution

What we have here is one ghost trying to explain block-chain technology to a bunch of other dead guys. He must have succeeded because someone is buying up all the steem. I have searched online and there does not seem to be a cause and effect reason as to why steem has uncoupled ... yes, we wanted that ... from other cryptos and is making a run for the hills. I am sorry; I hate the bull and bear market expression. Let's change it to run for the hills and taking cover in the valley. If anyone can give me a good theory for the run, love to here it.

But it also time to revive an old poem. Take it out like you would a pressed rose from a page of a heavy book. Here the heavy book is the virtual compression of the block chain. We can all marvel at how well the flower, your poem, has aged.

Here are the rules

  • Upvote and re-esteem this post.
  • The post must be at least a week old.
  • Vote for 1-3 other entries in the comment section. Do NOT upvote the original post. That is a wasted vote. Upvote the comment here.
  • I will choose from among the poets/poems that received the most votes and best quality comments and gave the best comments and did their diligent best to upvote 1-3 other entries.
  • Depending on the size of the payout, I try to reward as many people as possible.
  • Poems only, all forms of poetry welcomed.
  • Don't vote for yourself

Results from last week. The SBD and steem payout figured to roughly 0.5 SBD. It is hard to give you an exact amount as the value of steem is fluctuating as is the value of SBD. But the following people will/have received ...

@zeleiracordero ... 0.125
@kilbride ... 0.1
@momzillanc ... 0.1
@satorid ... 0.1
@marlyncabrera ... 0.1

Okay, folks ... open up the blockchain and get posting and reading:):):)

All words, phrases, and sentences composed by me:):):)

Sort:  

Good use of images to convey an inner storm accompanied by a deep sadness mixed with resignation. Very good!

Good imagery. The poem conveys a deep sense of sadness

I love your structuring (I don't know the correct terms but your line length etc), I write very similarly and I've always loved that in poetry you force cadence with word placement. Great job, I really liked this piece! Also this line was great : where the houses make the neighborhood

Thank you very much friend

Thanks so much for the share from Round 7. Here’s my submission for Round 8, entitled, “I AM the Journey” https://steemit.com/poetry/@momzillanc/i-am-the-journey

Excellent poem, @momzillanc! I love the way that you can read. The literary resources, the same form and the configuration of the words, the rhythm and the connection with the theme developed: the journey of life, intervened by the choices we make.

Thanks so much! That’s it exactly: “the journey of life, intervened by the choices we make."

yay! so empowering :) Way to be the creator of worlds <3

The choice where to travel, open the door of entry is a decision that defines an objective thought.

True. That’s why we must define our journey through Life.

I no longer enter contests, Pryde but felt I should support you in your masochistic ventures. lol...all for the greater good :)

hahaha this contest is pretty benign. Not a lot pain to be had here ;)

Thanks, John. So far it has only been rewarding:) We aren't so much of a contest and poetry share group:):):)

Hello everyone! I hope the weekend has been good. Here I bring my "zombie", (as said @mineopoly). It is a kind of consequence of the poem presented last week or a dream continuation. His name,"Resplendent Zircon." I hope you like them.

https://steemit.com/poetry/@zeleiracordero/resplandeciente-zircon-resplendent-zircon-original-poem-100-days-poetry-challenge-day-36

You seem to be in a nightmare that does not allow you to move forward, you ask for the help of our father from beyond.

Wow ... Good interpretation. Thanks brother!

That really just seemed like yesterday but now almost three months passed.

My friend! It's good to have you here! That's true, time does not run now ... fly! But, of course, strange those times, the pressure of our good things, keeps us so alert. Although, we sweated ... It was worth it!

An existential and poignant write.

Thank you for penetrating the world inside the poem, @momzillanc.

To get the ball started, here is one by me.
https://steemit.com/poetry/@prydefoltz/false-skin-a-poem-about-shedding-facade-and-allowing-oneself-to-simply-be

Don't worry; I am participating for fun and will not share in the SBD payout:):):)

Well, you know you should get your share ;)

About the poem:

As I read, I thought, "What about shame?", and there was shame, right there.

This kind of encouragement is a sensible issue. I think we all have second skins, and I like to think agree with the speaker of your inspiring lines; however it is at times from difficult to impossible. I guess we set the limits ourselves.

Loved it, @prydefoltz :)

Bare your soul, scars, and sinew
Be brave; the blood, the shame
Washed away with a tear …

Pointy and accurate lines. I love that pen to penetrate the interior of dark and unruly subjects. Being and seeing, so many times in contradiction. So many armor, so many masks and you go in, you remove dust, you draw blood poking well inside and tears of surrender, of falling into account.
Excellent as always, Pryde friend!

Many people hide their feelings under a shield so as not to be hurt. I think that people should show themselves as they are. Courageous and sharing what it feels like.

It seems our offerings are rather in the same vein. Shed our shame, embrace our scars, and make our own paths. The way I see it, I earned every wrinkle, every scar – both existential and in flesh; they are the roadmap of my life.

It only feels like skin That is one of those lines, that encompass so much in a tidy little package. And why I love poetry as a communication so deeply <3

Hi, you all bearers of dead poems :p

Hi, @prydefoltz. Thanks for the invite (and my share).

One of the areas I work out is Children's Lit, so today I have decided to recover from the near past (four months ago) a couple of limericks. They are supposed to be funny, so I expect some laughs (or advice, please):

"The Young Witch and Marriage à la Mode (two limericks)"

Love is born spontaneously. It is not necessary love spells to get it.

Very good! They relax and make us smile. Excellent work, @marlyncabrera!

Love finds its own way. You just can’t bespell or invent love.

I'm in Indonesia so this is appropriate. Sometimes these freewrites really cut to the quick and I find myself sort of looking in on them as a spectator.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@kilbride/5-min-freewrite-bamboo

Good image. The jungle erases human presence quickly.

A happy little write

Oh wow..this is a cool contest. Is it ongoing? If so I'll participate one of these weeks, when things calm down a little over here ;D

We would love to have you. I know you have some gems:)

Very god posting @prydefoltz

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95