Crackdown on crypto debit card continues - Mastercards by Advcash (and probably others) to be revoked

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

When Visa revoked the license from WaveCrest in the beginning of the month, thus rendering basically all european bitcoin debit cards useless, there was a small light left in the dark. Someone just turned that one off, too.

mccut.jpg

Dear Cardholder,

We regret to inform you that from the 27 February 2018, we will no longer be able to service your MyChoice Prepaid Debit Card.  

You should, therefore, use up or remove any balance on your card before that date. We will block the loading of new funds to your card effective immediately to help avoid any balance remaining on your card. You will be able to request that any remaining balance on your card after 27 February 2018 be refunded to you in line with the Cardholder Agreement.  

Unverified cards must be verified in order to be eligible for a refund. Please note that any funds that remain on your account after this date will continue to be subject to the terms of the Cardholder Agreement (other than as set out in this email).  You can find the Cardholder Terms here.

Please also note that we have taken the decision to set new daily ATM limits to EUR 1000/USD 1000/GBP 800 for transaction inside the SEPA region; transaction outside of SEPA will be limited to EUR 500/USD 500/GBP 400.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused. If you have any questions, please contact us at [email protected].

 

Kind regards, 
WaveCrest

tl;dr: Advcash (and probably other) Mastercards in the EU will be canceled on February 27th, ATM limits have been lowered to EUR 1000/USD 1000/GBP 800 inside the SEPA zone and half outside until then.

I really hope we're offered new options soon. Do you know any debit cards that will still work after the date?

Sort:  

It is sad that this is happening. What we need is someone to basically create a blockchain version of visa and get retailers to adopt it. Banks do not want to lose control to cryptos so im sure they have been putting the squeeze on visa to drop cryptocurrency debit cards.

I upvoted your comment because of where you live, was just in Puerto Morelos and now back in the snow....brought back good memories.

Thanks for the upvote! Ill be in puerto Morelos tomorrow at my friends cafe Aarom. Lovely little town.

puerto morelos is such a beautiful little place ;9)

Thank's, this post was benefit knowladge for me.

I agree with you, it's really sad ... Because Bitcoin has been the economy that has allowed many people to get ahead, or at least better their economic situation ...

I wish that the people who have the means, are ingenien a solution where we can all benefit!

Once governments crack down we’ll be back at $1500 and have to start fresh from there. We can do it 👍 but even with lightening it won’t be easy

Found this a little bit late, but totaly agree.
If they lose the control of the money, they lose there power.

But it will affect the platform to a great deal. It's really saddening.

I'm affraid you're totally wright @donnaincancun. The legal criminals (governments/banks/media) are dominated by the 1% elite who don't want to lose control. And crypto is definetely a new way of living that liberated us from this control. But one thing is for sure. Crypto is becoming too big to stop.
No matter how it develops. It is waiting until someone has found a solution to pay with a crypto card. And what you propose is a possible solution (I think)

Glad I discontinued the steemdebitcard project back in the days (based on WaveCrest service), to build @busy.org with fabien.

met some TenX guys in SG last week, heard they're working on great solutions, I think it will take some months before we can see new / solid Debit Card services again on the scene.

We can learn a lot from this experience and will consider afterward building our own service or partnership with a card provider for Steem/Busy

Hey man! I just want to say you guys did a great job with busy.org! I've been trying to get my friend @artfulwanderer to actually interact with Steem and your interface appealed to her!

Good work there!

This sounds like it could go somewhere. Appears to be an Asian outfit looking to launch globally.
https://www.mona.co/

They are plugging the exit ramps, and probably the entry ramps as well. We need to depend on each other to exchange crypto for fiat, and vice versa. And upon that note, putting my money where my mouth is, I wouldn't mind buying some more steem. Anybody?

I’ll trade for Ethereum or Bcash or litecoin. I’d say bitcoin but fees could be high ? I’ll have more steem Thursday

I don't have too much of any of the above.

Bad news for crypto lovers. I hope this issue is resolved and we get other top providers for crypto debit cards...I am head of a project in that segment (see details in my posts) and crypto debit cards will be a big success-feel free to join the vibe...Good post, upped.

Oh no :( I only just seen all this im New to crypto and thought this was a viable option until now and was going to order a debit card. Feel totally depressed. Does anyone know why these crypto debit cards are still letting people order the. Without knowledge of this? Will we still be able to use the online account version of these cards to then exchange bitcoins to our local currency accounts?

Great post. Upvoted and resteemed. What they don't understand yet, is that they are going to FUCK RIGHT OFF... We are coming!

I know that TenX are working hard to work after that date. I ordered a credit card from them few days before Visa announced the bad news, so It got canceled. But I know that they are working to fix it and make their own

Well, of course all of them are...

yeah the question is like who will be fast and can offer a working secure card... I also would like to have my TenX card working again ^^
I follow, read and watch almost every video of @julianhosp and TenX and they will handle this quite good and fast, I am sure. Now, we just to need patient and collect without spending ;D

Looks like it’s not gonna nba happen

I really searched hard :/ seems like there isn't any other option - only prepaid cards :(

edit: found that one:
https://wirexapp.com/card/

edit: it's also based on mastercard.
sorry :(

Wirex used Visa, they're down since January 5th

Check against any card provider by googling "cardname Wavecrest", if they're issued by them they're gone.

All visa will be gone

I really get sad to hear that :(

I know, I have the same problem, I had two Visa cards that I used and both are not working right now, I'm searching for a new solution but all other cards look really shady or they take a lot for fees.
Right now I'm changing bitcoin through local bitcoin exchange.
So if you find a card, please let me know!
Thanks!

Any cards claiming they can go on is a Scam or misinformed. It’s banned in most nations now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87