What's Really Best for DTube?


Hey guys.

I tend to be a lurker in the Discords, kind of reading other people's discussions and then every once in a while, putting in my two cents.

Ultimately, just like with Steemit, we should all want what is best for Dtube.

I think that looks like a variety of things. A lot of things are going really well, some things need a little work, and some things are...a work in progress! :)

I really believe in this platform, and what I have planned for the future of my content, I think, will really help bring people in to that content.

I use this video to convince all content creators to not only make high quality content, but content that is SHARABLE!

Anyway, this is kind of just some thoughts from the old dome, give this a watch if you have about 13 minutes. I think this is the longest video I have ever made!!!

Thanks for watching, and thanks for all of your support!!

xx~Lady Steem


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

You make damn good points. It's such a hard issue to tackle.

It is very complex. I have had such mixed emotions about it! And now things have changed again, so this will be interesting to say the least...

The main you-tubers that will come here are either smaller channels or channels that were effected by Ad-apocalypse. Anyone that was demonetized for whatever reason can and should come here. I have tried to speak to others to join steemit and the results have been a toss up. Some join and others try and just quit because they are used to YouTube. Great video as always @Bethwheatcraft.

Yes, that's true, though I would hope that more people will eventually join, other than frazzled YouTube users. I'm just not sure though. I don't see, without outside intervention (ads) how the platform will survive. (Unless the new reward policy rolled out draws in more whales to give upvotes, and has them abandon their bots. Color me skeptical though.)

True. We will see as the months roll on. I don't see BIG NAME you-tubers abandoning what is making them tons of money currently and coming here without the incentive to do so. Signing up here (for a free account) isn't as easy. The waiting period is what will turn them off. I may be wrong but as I said we will see.

Well. Nice video. Haha.
I agree on most points and thank you for calling me amazing since i listened to the end. 😂
I noticed you mentioned some points i made and really, yeah it is out responsibility and ypu seem to take that seriously. That parody really did seem like a lot of work.

But honestly... Do you really think that you needed to make it in terms of maximizing your profits? Not at all. The time you took to make it, i think you said 2 weeks, you could have made a dozen videos and they would have made you far more money due to the dtube consistency rule....
"The more you post the more chance of a reward you get."
And people go by that rule... 1 daily dsound, 1 daily dtube, 1 daily dlive and if they dont make it just reupload something old.
Dtube doesnt create the incentive for them to improve because they just are rewarding conveyor belt content that gets almost no interactions whatsoever.
You dont do that, and thats admirable, but at the same time financially stupid. I made a dtube upvoted video, cover of pirates of the caribbean soundtrack. It took 2 producers to make 2 tracks from scratch which ended up making less for me then my regular uploads... And even then i wouldnt have gotten an upvote if i havent dmed and bothered one of the mods.
Thats hella discouraging.
The question is why should i even bother taking the time?

I really think dtube should push forward those creators that get the most views and dont have fat wallets.
And yes im saying people like me. Im saying people like you, like the guy you mentioned in the video, like the twins that vlog.
I know ill always do fine here, and ill always make 30-60$ dollars per video when ever i upload anything since there really isnt anyone else on this platform that can do what i do, so i can speak up. But others need to do it as well....
Before my ramble the chat was literally, hi, what a lovely day it is. Discussion is important.

Anyways great video.

I tried a couple of times to share across platforms, and I just couldn't do it. If I was going to make content, it all has to be different.

I agree completely with this. What I was trying to say though, is I am trying to play both worlds in order to make it work for me financially. If consistent, even daily content is what is most highly sought, then I have been trying to keep up with daily content, on top of working on longer-term projects. It's the only way that I can afford to even do the longer term projects.

I wasn't always a daily creator but I have had a couple of my bigger projects get totally skipped over. I worked on this Spice Girls video that took me AGES, and it was all dedicated to Dtube, so I could share it on my other platforms, and it made like under a dollar. I was DEVASTATED, especially when I saw what had gotten upvoted that day.

So from that day forward, I decided I was going to have backups in place (making daily vlogs) and prior to that even I had already started my daily news show, which was originally all about just Steem news, but I switched to mainstream comedic news to make it more consumable for the masses.

I think your stuff is exactly what this platform needs. Stuff like that should be trending. Though I think it's possible to still upvote content and have it not trend, and that be ok. Not all content, but decent, well-thought out content.

Thanks for watching it all. You really are awesome! :)

I think only 1% of YouTubers who left Youtube for DTube would lose out. Realistically the vast majority or people would do better by leaving YouTube behind.

As for Adam Kokesh, he doesn't get the votes by paying bots. He's well connected to the whales on this platform.

Yes that's true. My point still stands though. The platform can't grow if everyone thinks the only people that exist on here are outspoken libertarians.

I agree with you on that, but people are still living in the here and now, and well, some have to. This platform is currently incapable of supporting YouTubers. For that matter it is incapable currently of supporting its own creators. We have relied heavily on Dtube support, and got burned. But, that's what happens when you rely on digital feudalism. It will be years on here before I can save up enough to actually support myself, so it's certainly not something I can do full time, or if I were making a lot on YouTube, quit my YouTube gig for. There will have to be a cataclysmic change before we get the majority of YouTubers to this site. Maybe the SMTs will be that change, and maybe they won't. I guess time will tell!

Oh my goodness I can't believe I watched all 13 minutes of that and all I got out of it was Adam Kokesh upvoting himself 3 times.
hahahahha just kidding @adamkokesh !

That is actually something I was thinking about too. Do my daily vlogs and then once every day or 2 days spend a good chunk of it making some epic cinematic edits and stuff. Obviously your genre is different than mine. Mine is kinda ra-ra-ra-personal-development sunshine and yours is like...straight up in yo face, cursing and stroking imaginary...yeah

So anyhow. Covered a lot of bases here. Thanks for sharing.

Just needed my daily troll comment on your page. "Troll Beth." check. Day is nearly complete.

HIGH QUALITY CONTENT PEOPLE.

DTUBE NEEDS IT

Yeah, the vlog daily to make good stuff strategy. I think it's a good strategy!

Yep, there are writers on Steemit that are really good and they get like $0.80 or $1.00 for a post. I've often bitched about having to dig for content, besides creating video I'm also a consumer and if I'm bored so are others. I've been busy with the movie shoot and we started editing so I may get back to music videos soon. One thing I've noticed is that even though I haven't uploaded any video to either platform for 2-3 months, my YT channel continues to grow. Go figure.
What is with the disappearing videos off my DTube channel? Is that normal?

Yeah...about that.

Content basically doesn't stick around past the 7 days, and unless it is highly trafficked, it doesn't get pinned and drops off the face of the Earth. That would fall under "things Dtube needs to work on".

There has to be a way to get quality to be seen on Steemit without having to pay an arm and a leg to do so! That's kind of counter-productive!

You know, I just realized that DTube is at a disadvantage as compared to YT.
Google tube profiles you, the viewer, for advertising. That means they can use the same profile to feed/suggest content on your home page. DTube doesn't do that and hasn't figured out a different way to accomplish the same thing. TBH, I can't think of a way to do that other than track someones watch history to get a clue what they might want to see.

I just talked about that the other day though, and the info that YouTube gets is rarely accurate. I, for instance, don't watch YouTube, my kids do, but YouTube thinks that a 30 year old is watching all of these family vlogs and toy videos so that's the info that they send to their advertisers. That's why the ads for those vids are sometimes not appropriate at all for kids. The same goes for my profile...I mean I guess it would be more accurate if I had a separate account, but it def doesn't help advertisers or targeted ads.

You have it all. Fun, crypto, sarcasm, dtube, ... new follower here

Aw thanks. I aim to please! :)

I think dtube should work like YouTube, so smooth and in very good quality, and also views statistic under every video

Yeah I liked having the view count, so I knew how many people were actually watching!

Dtube is the best.You are very talented.i love you mam.

Thanks! Dtube is pretty awesome!

Luvly video.dtube best.well

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14