Bell Curves and the Gaslighting of Genius: Part 2

in #deepshit6 years ago (edited)

Read the preface to this post here

Disclaimer: This in no way is to contest that there are real, physiological reasons for mental illness. I studied Bio/Chem and (as my beloved bell curves show) there are always some people who produced aberrant amounts of hormones/ neurotransmitters or in some other way lack the ability to regulate what is considered a 'healthy' biological state. I always advocate to try all possible options, starting with the highest probability of success. Body systems are complex and each person's solution looks very different from another's. This is conjecture based on my personal experience and I felt there may be a piece in here that wasn't widely being looked at. Maybe it will bring some of the comfort of comprehension it has brought me to others.

"The car has been inspected three times already, this doesn't make sense. My sister just brought it back here yesterday"

"Yes, it does make sense, because your name is different, the name on your account is different."

"But... it's the same car. The same wheels, same lights. That's what you are inspecting, correct? To make sure this specific car is safe. You see the VIN number... it's the same tires and lights and brakes as yesterday. We could just put all the cars in the lot, inspect them, decide if they are safe, and that has nothing to do with the name of the driver. We have been sharing this car for a year, it's the same car. How does it make sense to go through the inspection again?."

"It makes sense because you have a different name."

Ok. Being frustrated by corporate pedantry does not a genius make. But, sitting in that office I started to notice a familiar feeling. An uncomfortable anger. To put it frankly, an insanity. I will admit, I thought very seriously that day about checking myself into a mental hospital for a few days. How could I possibly be considered so intelligent and yet be so out of touch with what supposedly makes sense in the world. I'm not talking about delusions of superiority, but a lifetime of real feedback; figuring things out before I was taught them, or understanding people emotionally, intimately, within only minutes of listening to them. And yet this sensation of insanity was always lingering, or, as this year played out, growing to an ever-present pressure that felt like my mental gears weren't moving. Like I was utterly incoherent to others, save for my small tribe of loved ones.

When I was 16 I felt the same pressure, and asked my mom to take me to see a psychiatrist. I said "Either I'm a genius or I'm crazy, and I want someone who knows these things to tell me which one it is." I went, and the doctor told me I had ADHD (which I see now kind of means both). I actually felt better to see all my symptoms had names and weren't existing in a vacuum of my possible 'craziness'. Because, to be honest, I feel pretty sane in my own body. I feel like I trust my senses and can explore the world and relate to others. I feel excited about discovering things and talking to people. I understand money as a game, economics as a structure and social relationships, and art as the sanctuaries and meaning amidst it all. I feel pretty solid. Except, when I don't.

Remember in the movies The Aviator about Howard Hughes, or The Hours about Virginia Woolf, watching them disintegrate mentally, until even those closest to them couldn't really communicate with them any more? I felt how scary that was, and would weigh out the possibility of that happening to me. What about bipolar, or schizophrenia, or depression is it that makes people go so desperately insane... what does being insane really mean?

I was sitting in my car, crying, trying to decide if I should just go somewhere and let them sedate me for a while (I don't actually know what happens when you check into a psychiatric hospital- I just have movies and books and imagination - I was assuming they would knock me out with a Xanax or something and keep me for a few days), and I started to piece together all of the stories of insanity I knew. Socrates, talking about the cave, and how the others killed the person who saw shadows instead of reality. Or spiritual leaders who gave their lives to try and explain infinity to finite, physical humans. How in science the advent of telescopes, microscopes and other extra-sensory tools shifted our views, but that there was always somebody who could sense, or truly see, things long before others. Of course!! These people might have believed in what they could see, but unless the proof came in their lifetime many of them slowly started to unravel, sometimes with only a few people left validating their cognitive health. Thinking in bell curves, the likelihood that you have whatever trait it is that makes you impervious to social dissonance is really low. People are social creatures, our mental and emotional health are tied into one another. So the probability that you have the 'impervious to social dissonance' trait and all of the traits that make you inflict social dissonance through your ability to see what others don't - whatever type of genius that may be- is highly improbable. So you have the recipe for gaslighting: somebody who has a healthy sense of sanity (I see it, other people see it, it is there) and also the social feedback saying that they are not experiencing reality correctly. Anyone who is familiar with or has experienced being gaslighted knows that it is a slow deteriorating type of abuse. At first you question yourself and the other. Then, after being convinced, you accept what they say is the reality and move on, without really feeling much different. This happens to all of us daily, we don't agree with another on what we saw or heard, maybe its an argument, but it doesn't deeply affect our sanity. It's the compounding of incidents that does the real damage, the severity in the differences. You slowly withdraw from trusting your own conclusions, and although you start to depend on the outside to process for you, you never really shake that feeling of trying to sort it out.

Now to flesh this out very simply back to back, because you might be thinking "Well, then anyone who isn't impervious to social dissonance would become insane". Yes and no. No human traits are solid hues, they are shades, tints and tones. Most people do respond to social dissonance, that is why we have trends, and why marketing can manipulate populations quite easily. And, to be fair, most people have some level of awareness that aspects of our society don't make sense. They can tell they are being manipulated, as we can see by the large movements towards change, and, in my opinion, an increase in mental illness across the board. So, yes, unless you don't care about feedback from others at all (also not ideal, even the most genuisy of geniuses aren't processing everything perfectly), then you will and probably are experiencing the depression or misplaced aggression that comes with being confused by gaslighting. The difference is, the higher the intelligence the more profound the dissonance is, and unless you remove yourself from the situation that is causing it, well, we have many dramatic examples of how it plays out.

There is, of course, an obvious undercurrent of purposeful manipulation throughout human history. I have a video in this post that outlines the behavioral science field and ways it has been used nefariously. Plus, we've all heard countless historical stories about how information is suppressed by targeting the sanity of the person trying to bring it to light. I wanted to touch here on the accidental ways we all contribute, and, specifically as a society, shun then exalt these people.

When we teach our kids one thing and then behave differntly, whether in our religious groups, government structures or day to day behaviors, we set them up for the dissonance that leads to mental instability. We teach the works of poets and philosophers, revolutionaries and scientists that brought us to where we are today, and then dissuade our children from being like those people in their sleep/work schedules or focus of production. We are asking our children, just as we were asked, to see what is true but ignore that reality, and their own cognition, to follow arbitrarily dictated rules of conduct. We may not notice it because we ourselves have been gaslighted, and we have taken to the abuse within the aggregated normal hump of the bell curve- dissatisfied, anxious, but not insane. But those on the fringe, the ones whose ability to truly see the workings of of our physical and emotional world is much too astute to be brushed aside with illogical and inconsistent 'becauses', the ones that we will put on the pedestal and marvel at centuries after they're gone, those are the ones we will spend our lives wringing our hands over, whispering about their sanity.

Final note, since this an emotional subject. When I say 'healthy sense of sanity' I am talking about the most quantifiable version of experiencing reality. If you have an anomaly which causes your body to create sensations with no detectable outside stimuli, you will have to use others as a control. This is the best we can do. I am not negating extrasensory experiences, because I know there are a lot of things happening in the universe that we cannot detect with our current bodies and tools. We are all trying to understand the world around us as best we can, and my only hope is the we suffer the least, and experience the most joy while we do it.

Photos:

  1. Virginia Woolf
  2. Still from the movie "The Aviator"
  3. Still from the movie "One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest"
  4. Nikola Tesla, Smithsonian Collection
  5. Pixabay, find it here
Sort:  

Society is in the business of gaslighting. How else can they keep everyone under control? I feel we are like children who are ready to grow up and be adults but are not really allowed to go through that exploration required to get there.

the higher the intelligence the more profound the dissonance is, and unless you remove yourself from the situation that is causing it, well, we have many dramatic examples of how it plays out.

I took a two year break for self-healing. It was basically where I started to learn to say "No" to anything that made me miserable, and work made me miserable in all forms that I knew it, so I was kind of a drifter during that time. I met people who let me just be who I was and helped make the process enjoyable and fun. Not saying it's a similar path for everyone but we all need some serious healing.

You are awesome, no need to doubt your sanity, or you can and should, but it should be fun!

Sometimes when you doubt your sanity it's funner than others 😉

This 8s a wonderful series, thanks for your sensitivity on an intense subject.

I have bipolar 2, so I can answer for you that the condition gaslights itself. The fluctuations in my energy level and affect can really interfere with social and daily functioning, but worst of all, with my own self concept.

My hypomania writes checks my depression can't cash.

Making plans is challenging because I don't know how I will feel when the day arrives. Will I be cosmic and unstoppable? Will the mania be euphoric or dysphoric? Or will I be useless, worthless, collapsed in my isolation pod / blanket fort?

Luckily with age, lots of therapy, and an understanding mate, my shifting moods have become more manageable. And I have been privileged enough to construct a lifestyle around my neural atypical ways....

What will they do if you go to the mental hospital? Chances are, they will indeed drug you and label you. The very decor of the hospital seems designed to gaslight anyone under their observation. For example, the time I was taken there I was placed in a room with insane person dental chairs, a table full of old puzzles with missing pieces, and a television behind a metal mesh playing Looney Tunes cartoons with the sound off. My assignment was to appear sane enough in that room to the minions observing me behind the two way mirrors...for 3 hours. I was forced to take an SSRI and give the doctor my mommy's phone number, although I was 24years old.

Then I got the bill. I could have flown away on a weeks vacation for that fee.

Fly away on a week's vacation instead of checking in to the place where they get paid for how crazy you can be fluffed.

I can definitely relate to needing to be fluid in my plans, I learned (though still not after years of it causing problems) to just keep my daily commitments or have to's to a bare bare minimum and know there are certain times that it's just better if I say no, and then maybe show up if I can (for social events). Also, still learning to stop fighting myself when it comes to sleep patterns and my productivity. I feel like I have a very watered down version of what you say you experience, you deserve a lot of respect for making it through to those places, the peace is hard won xox Also, my sister had said and then noted again after reading your comment the sentiment of just going on a vacation since the costs didn't make sense, and since it wasn't really medication I needed it was a respite. I always make sure to keep myself open to both sides- I know that emergencies require certain actions and long term care requires a different approach. I figured out years before it was publicly discussed that it seemed the higher adhd friends of mine and myself were sort of Autistic, and I definitely get that sensory overload thing. Its nice sometimes to at least have a name to step back and separate what is happening. To know what is causing it , even if I can't fix it completely, is so huge. That's why I give due credit to western medicine, while making sure not to give it full reign. The hospital stay you describe sounds like an absolute nightmare to me, its so strange how we still don't seem to understand mental illness enough to be more aware of all of the things you mentioned and how they would make patients feel worse. 100 years ago, maybe, there wasn't a lot of honesty in the public... but now we have so many books and personal stories I can't imagine the field is so slow to shift :(

feel like I have a very watered down version of what you say you experience

This is totally on point. As Kurt Vonnegut's son says, "Just Like Someone Without Mental Illness Only More So."

I feel excited and optimistic about new treatment paradigms especially Somatic Experiencing Treatment, which has proven very effective for me.

Getting into nature is also critically important to keep me stabilized. Caring for the whole person is, I feel, what is missing from psychological treatment programs. Sometimes pharmaceutical intervention is warranted, I benefited from some prozac early on to derail an entire youth of depression. But it is not a cure and imo should only bridge us into more integrated health programs.

I used to teach entire classrooms of ADHD labelled middle school students. Only one seemed to dramatically improve under medication. The rest thrived when I gave them multi modal assignments. An improved natural diet and a consistent, well organized, calm environment seems imperative for people whose minds race. My ADHD students also tended to have the highest IQ s of all my "Learning Disability" resource students. I think the behavior issues stem from being bored and running mental circles around so called authority figures. I gave my most obnoxious students leadership responsibilities.

Such a great convo, thanks!

We teach the works of poets and philosophers, revolutionaries and scientists that brought us to where we are today, and then dissuade our children from being like those people in their sleep/work schedules or focus of production.

I sooooo resonate with this. I remember being in high school and everyone telling me that I had to go to college to succeed, especially my parents who both graduated college and weren't even using their degrees. It was like everyone was ignoring the people who carved their own way through life, and had so much success precisely because they DID NOT follow the same path as others. But instead of encouraging our children to find their own path and follow in the footsteps of those who've changed the world as we know it, we teach them to conform to the world as is. To choose the safest majors and the safest industries so that they can have a job and be taken care of. We are sub-communicating that we don't believe in our children and their ability to change their reality, we believe in the world as it is and the necessity of conforming to reality.

Not only did I choose not to go to college, but I doubled down and didn't even finish high school. Everyone told me I was crazy, and when they asked me what I was going to do with my life I simply told them to have a little faith. But when I look back on my life and see all the amazing experiences I've had precisely because I did not choose a path that was safe and pre-paved for me and instead let life take me on an unpredictable adventure, I realize I wouldn't have had it any other way. I never would have made it in a stable job performing perfunctory tasks. I needed to ride the highs and lows of trying to make it on my own. I needed to learn about life directly, not about how to avoid her hardships. There's no better feeling than betting on yourself and winning. And sometimes it feels like we're raising generations of kids to never make that bet on themselves, and selling them into a lifetime of college loans before they even know if they want to be what they're paying to become.

Anyway, excuse my narcissistic rant. I just get passionate about how quickly we turn deviating from the norm into a symptom that there's something wrong with us, and encourage our children to buy into a failing system over believing in themselves. But the deeper a hole is dug, the taller the building that gets erected in its place will become. All struggle has the ability to turn into the foundation that we build all our future successes upon. But first we have to believe that we're not crazy for wanting something different than what we're told to want. We're simply being true to who we really are. And the real insanity is how many people have bought into the narrative they've been sold, and are now invested in convincing everyone who's willing to deviate from that narrative into thinking that they're crazy for doing so.

Great post! Really looking forward to reading more from you!

I see you also played poker- I dabbled in it also and have a couple friends that are professional. I basically dropped out of high school senior year, and ended up doing my GED shortly after (I luckily had only a single class to finish so it was quick work). I took 5 years off before going back to college, was a dj, did radio, tv skydived . I'm glad i got my degree from the standpoint of me loving to learn, and I took classes like physics and biochem, that I would never have sat down and studied on my own unlike other subjects. But I have a HUGE debt and I will doubtfully work in the field (I did pre med and all of the doctors I met told me I would be miserable- that degree is just a feeder degree for grad and doc studies, its not really a degree to get a job with any way). I will either hustle my way out of the pit or I will be suffocated by crushing debt until I die lol . I made a twitch and a mixer account. I streamed one night on twitch and then got hung up on not liking my name hahaha then I got hung up on being on camera recently due to feeling bummy . I am 100% wanting to get back to it and even have a dedicated corner... so any day now I will take you up on that offer and we can hash out and have some fun. I'm not super competitive when I play HS though, I sort of just constantly switch and play whatever is fun , so you'll probably just whoop my ass

I'm glad i got my degree from the standpoint of me loving to learn, and I took classes like physics and biochem, that I would never have sat down and studied on my own unlike other subjects.

Totally with you on this. Anything that causes us to stretch in new directions is a positive. I think I came off a little dismissive about the value of higher education in my earlier response. One of the things I like most about college is that it tends to attract some incredible smart and gifted people and whenever I'm in a big college town I can almost feel the knowledge in the air. I just think that currently college is often overpriced and oversold, and wish there were more alternatives for young people wanting to accelerate their future and discover what they want to do with their lives. But I am probably just being cynical. The good always outweighs the bad and for all I know all of this debt will fuel the crypto revolution and soon change the world for the better.

I am 100% wanting to get back to it and even have a dedicated corner... so any day now I will take you up on that offer and we can hash out and have some fun. I'm not super competitive when I play HS though, I sort of just constantly switch and play whatever is fun , so you'll probably just whoop my ass

Streaming can be a lot of fun, especially when you're hanging with someone you vibe with. When I duo stream with someone we're usually playing on the same team, so to speak. Just discussing how we view each play and generally shooting the shit.

Though if you're into more casual play I think we could have a ton of fun playing some meme deck in wild. Which would be a nice change of pace from my normal tryharding. And you don't even have to be on camera if you don't want. One of my buddies comes on the stream and he is purely on audio. Works just fine and is still a ton of fun.

Thank you for writing this because I needed to read it. You put into words thought concepts that have torn at me for a long time. So again thank you.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations @kilbride! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97