The Real House Flip - with @Mattifer

in #diy5 years ago (edited)

I bet you've seen at least one home improvement show.
The hosts walk in to a wreck of a house and in the space of one episode they transform it into something magical and sell it for way more than the market can bear.


Here's a little glimpse into the reality behind the hit reality shows.
Stay tuned to see our progress. I promise it'll take more than one episode.

The Real House Flip with @Mattifer

Matthew and I recently purchased the house above with the intention of rehabbing and flipping it. We know we've got a long road ahead, but we see great potential in this 3 bedroom, 1 bathroom home on Cleveland's West side. Let's take a peek inside, shall we?

text16.png

Old Fashioned Living Room

The living room has some unique features including a gas fireplace and built-in book shelves. The arches above the windows and the wide doorway into the dining room add an old-fashioned look that is very much in demand in today's market place.

We plan to strip the wall paper and remove the carpet, but keep the original crown moulding and shelving. The brickwork around the fireplace is unique, but dated, so we've got some plans to spruce it up while keeping the spirit and function of the original.

text16.png

Formal Dining Room

The dining room has so much potential, and doesn't need a lot of work to make it sparkle. We love the arched alcove above the windows and the hard wood touches featured throughout.

Unfortunately, the original flooring has taken quite a beating over the years, so it's going to be replaced along with the rest of the flooring in the home. We're going to remove and repair the crown moulding and baseboard to keep as much of the original intact as possible. Oh, and we're removing one wall to open up the space and give it the open layout that is so desirable in new construction.

text16.png

Crumbling Kitchen

The kitchen is the area that needs the most help - and will bring the largest return on our investment. The cupboards are impossibly worn and dated, there is little counter space aside from this paltry unit, and the stove is so old I'd be afraid to use it. The tile back splash could use a modern touch also.

We are going to completely gut the kitchen, all the way down to the lathe and plaster underneath the drywall. The flooring has to go too, to be replaced with one continuous surface throughout the downstairs of the home. Removing a wall to open up the kitchen to the rest of the house will be a big help as well.

text16.png

Basic Bedrooms

Downstairs there are 2 bedrooms, neither of which need much more than cosmetic repair and updated fixtures. This bedroom has several windows which let in lots of light, and features a decent sized closet. Once we fix the cosmetic issues we'll be ready to install new flooring in keeping with the rest of the house.

text16.png

Crowded Bathroom

Bathrooms are often undervalued in a home but go a long way toward making a good impression on prospective home buyers. This one is pretty small, and the drop ceiling that's been installed doesn't make it feel any larger.

To begin, we're tearing out the drop ceiling and replacing the tub and surround. The vanity is dated and needs to go as well. You can't quite see it here, but in the corner is a built-in cabinet. By removing most of the cabinet, we can add enough space to install a large, modern vanity. The raised ceiling will make the entire room feel bigger. And to make it even sweeter, we're going to add a master bathroom upstairs.

text16.png

Demolished Master Bedroom

We couldn't resist. By the time this picture was taken, we'd already torn into the ceiling and the wall, as you can see. The upstairs in this home has so much potential we simply couldn't wait to get started. To the right is space for a giant walk-in closet, and just off screen to the left we are installing a master bathroom.

In addition, once we saw the framework of the ceiling we decided to open it up all the way. The rafters you see in the middle of the image will be removed making the master suite large and airy. The wall in the upper left is getting moved back as well to really maximize the space and make it a relaxing place to be.

text16.png

Thanks so much for joining us! I'd love to hear your thoughts and suggestions in the comments below. Check back soon to see how we are progressing on the Real House Flip.

Cheers!

Jennifer and Matthew

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Anxious for the next episode? Click Here.

Sort:  

This is going to be interesting. A friend of my is an interior designer and she was telling me that you should not look at how the space currently looks but at how it will look once you finish :) So I like your attitude with seeing the potential.

I am not sure if I understood the whole post though. What are you planning to do with the house once you finish? Are you going to sell it (You mentioned potential buyers)? Or are you going to use it for business (You mentioned that the kitchen will bring you the highest ROI)? Just curious :)

Good luck with the project Jen! It looks like you had some exciting times ahead :)

We are going to sell it. In the States, when you 'flip' a house, it means you buy it, fix it up, then resell it as soon as possible.

What I meant by the ROI is that each dollar we put into remodeling the kitchen will increase the overall sales price of the home by the highest amount. For example, if I put $5,000 into fixing the kitchen, I could see an $8,000 increase in the listing price. If I were to put that same $5,000 into improving a bathroom, I may only see an increase of $6,000 in the listing price. On the other hand, if I put $5,000 into fixing up a bedroom, I may only see an increase of $3,000 in the listing price. These are all hypothetical numbers, by the way.

Kitchens are always one of the biggest selling points of a home, so money spent in a kitchen is always money well spent.

A big part of flipping a house is knowing which areas of the home to focus on. We want to make sure everything is done well - but we want a few areas to be spectacular.

Getting dizzy just looking at the pictures... been working on a 300 year old house myself for some 10 years. Was a total ruin though... good luck with everything!

A 300 year old house?!?! Wow! I'd love to see pictures of that. I bet it's got gorgeous bones. Are you planning on a historical rehab or are you making it more modern?

#powerhousecreatives


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Many thanks! You guys are awesome!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mattifer from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Exciting we have a tv program like that 😉

I don't watch many of them...but I catch snippets from time to time. They are fascinating, but typically don't reflect the reality of all the effort that goes into making it possible. As a result, many folks decide to take on house flipping projects that are way over their heads. I hope to provide a real look at what a project like this entails.

WOW! I can't wait to see how the living room looks after you're done with it - there's so much potential, and so many cool features, I can imagine how amazing it will be. Also, excellent idea to add a second bathroom - we're a family of five with one, and we're currently looking to rent someplace new - a second toilet would be a huge draw for us.

Love this idea too - maybe you should call your Steem Reality Series... "Real House Flips of Cleveland" 😂

By the way, I've been tweeting out Steem posts (part of the #SteemTweets effort), and since I couldn't find you on Twitter, I used the hash tag #mattifer instead. I'd be happy to link the tweet if you'd like to see it. 😊

Ooooh, I love that idea for a name! Perhaps I'll use it from here on out. Let's see if I remember for the next one. :-)

Thanks for tweeting my post! I recently discovered that I do in fact have a twitter account (thanks to @jaynie for pushing tweets during THE CONTEST). My twitter handle is @ElysiumKing but I'm almost never on there. Actually, I only used it to promote THE CONTEST in the last very long time. But I appreciate it and would LOVE to see the tweet!

Yay! So glad you liked it! 😊

And too funny - seems like I'm already following that account! LOL! I must've done it during the contest, and didn't realize it was you, because I hadn't added it to my Twitter lists for Steemit & PowerHouseCreatives - fixed!

Here's the link to that tweet -
https://twitter.com/TraciYorkWriter/status/1105450199001063428

There's not much to follow there, but thanks! :-)

I don't know that I really understand twitter very well. All the hashtags confuse my brain. I used it for a while simply to see firsthand what Trump was always going on about, but pretty soon his tweets just confused my brain too. ;-)

I am a sucker for a home renovation show! Between those and cooking shows, that's my guilty pleasure if I have a spare 30 minutes of leisure. Our house could use a major revamping, too, as it was built in the late '60s. I like to dream about what we could do with it if we had a bit more extra cash to really work on it. I love all the character in this home you purchased, so I can't wait to see what you do with it!

Thanks for the show of support! I love cooking shows too, but I rarely watch them.

There are quite a few changes you can do that don't cost much money at all. Stay tuned and perhaps I can show you some...although this house isn't the best candidate for remodeling on the cheap. We're pretty much gutting it and starting over.

Never been to one even though I was in the construction business for 40 years

What did you do in construction?

Pretty much everything except gas and electrics. I have 7 trades, master decorator, carpenter, and so on. Also did project manager for big firms and so on...

I love learning all about things then moving on to the next thing. It's the best way to learn about all the things. :-)

Oh wow, this is going to be a series I'll be tuning into ! I love those shows and to see one in action from a wonderful Steemian such as yourselves would be an absolute treat :D :D :D

I see A LOT of potentials, but also a lot of WORK.... I think those arches are really old fashioned hahahaha... I will look forward to see what you will do with all of these spaces and rooms, @mattifer :D

Good luck !!!

Thank you so much for your enthusiasm! It makes me want to post on some sort of regular schedule. We'll see if I can stick to something like that. :-)

And yes - there are some extremely old fashioned features in the house, but we intend to update it nicely while not destroying what makes it beautiful.

Thanks so much for your support!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 13 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 148 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99