Steem Monsters Voice Acting || Talking Budget Microphones and Positioning

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

Hey Steem Monsters voice actors and actresses! We have some updates coming soon about what we are going to be working on first, but in the meantime I figured I'd share some information with you guys.

I've been digging around for some great, cheap, budget microphones. I tried a couple of the $20-30 lapel mic options on Amazon and truthfully I wasn't thrilled. My next stop actually ended up being the Blue Snowball Ice, which is actually quite good in my opinion. It runs for about $45 bucks on Amazon.

I know @isaria has some items on the agenda, so be sure to keep an eye out for the official next steps coming soon on her page and on the @steemmonsters account! But I figured getting you guys some info on my personal little microphone quest ASAP would be ideal, so you can start looking into how you want to record your voice work.

If anyone has any questions, please do not hesitate to join the conversation on the Steem Monsters Discord voice acting channel! We'll be chatting it up over there getting ourselves ready!

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Valuable info there! Thanks
I will be testing the mic I have this weekend so we shall see if it makes the cut.

Thanks for the info, Mike. I just followed you, and ordered the Blue Snowball Ice microphone.

The one I had with my camera, a BOYA BY-M1 3.5 mm Lavalier, was too cheap for voice acting purposes, from what you say.

I have been wanting a microphone to attach to my desktop anyway, so I can join Discord, and get properly with the program, rather than just scanning Steemit posts for updates.

The mic comes tomorrow from Amazon, whereupon I will plug it in, and join the voice acting Discord (linked above).

Thanks again. :)

Awesome @rodneysreviews! Yeah not to say a lav mic wouldn't ever be appropriate, but I tried a couple of the budget ones and both were a little under the bar. There may be some out there that would meet the quality standard we need, but at this rate rolling the dice that many times would get expensive :D.

Sounds great dude, let me know if you need help with anything!

Thanks, Mike. Microphone is set up, and I just downloaded and joined Discord, I think lol. So thanks again. :)

I've been using my voice for as long as I can remember. My dad used to try to sound like Porky Pig and do the Woody Woodpecker laugh. He always was joking around using different accents and I guess that's where I got it from. I've been doing accents for years. I have what I call a Helium Register, kinda like Robin Williams used to do when he would talk like an alien.

Haha I know exactly what you mean, that's awesome. Hey I mean, most voice actors probably started with just goofing around like that, I'm sure.

I would love to get into it, I'm not too old. I'd think women aren't age-shamed in this business.

Hi @harrisonmir!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.702 which ranks you at #5021 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 5019).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 429 contributions, your post is ranked at #232.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by crystalhuman from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10