First Successful Headstand Push-Ups

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


In this short clip I'm doing my first ever successful handstand push-up (with wall support) – three, in fact.

The way I practiced these before having strength for a successful repetition, was to perform the eccentric part of the exercise only: the descending part, and doing it as slowly as I could. I also used the help of my father to perform full repetitions by him lifting me from my legs just enough to be able to push myself up.

The progression was rather quick because I only needed to do 4-5 sessions (10 or so reps in each) of eccentric exercises before being able to do a full rep.

The next natural progression from here is a handstand push-up without support. Lets see how long until I'll be able to hit that one.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Nice!!!

I was doing these a few years ago but didn't get as far as a full rep. Will get back on it when I actually have some wall space. Seems like a shit excuse but there is no wall here with enough room around!

Seems like a shit excuse but there is no wall here with enough room around!

What kinda house is that? :D

A tiny one with no free wall space! I'm moving to Valencia on Tuesday and anywhere will be bigger than this apartment, hopefully I'll be able to do at least one full overhead push up by the end of the year :)

hopefully I'll be able to do at least one full overhead push up by the end of the year :)

I'm sure you can do it!

Well done!

They're actually called headstand pushups, a full handstand pushup is normally done on parallettes and you go down a bit deeper. I'm not trying to detract from what you did though, it's an awesome achievement. Most people are never going to be able do even one.

I did my first HSPU at 46 and it was an awesome feeling, I bet you're happy with your achievement.

Have you ever considered making or buying a set of parallettes? With your level of natural ability I believe you could really benefit from them.

They're actually called headstand pushups, a full handstand pushup is normally done on parallettes and you go down a bit deeper.

Oh, that's right. No problem, thanks for pointing that out.

I did my first HSPU at 46 and it was an awesome feeling, I bet you're happy with your achievement.

Yeah, it was pretty awesome to see progress so quickly – took only about couple of weeks.

Have you ever considered making or buying a set of parallettes? With your level of natural ability I believe you could really benefit from them.

Now that you mention, I will probably get a pair at some point.

Nice!!! Those are hard ! I can’t do a handstand without a wall but of course it’s all practice!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Those are hard !

Yeah! Almost the same thing as an overhead press for one's bodyweight, so it takes some strength.

I can’t do a handstand without a wall but of course it’s all practice!

The secret is to engage the whole body into a straight line and do the balancing with the palms. Though the baby will add an extra challenge into that :D

Good job! I love the relaxing music in the background :)

Thanks! Dad happened to play some recording where he played over to some Spanish song.

Congratulations @celestal! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1750 replies. Your next target is to reach 2000 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

That's impressive. Nice little spot you've got there for balancing.

Am I too old to start practicing these at 45?

I've also seen a method where you can do a pike from a chair which takes some of the weight off.

Posted using Partiko Android

Am I too old to start practicing these at 45?

Not at all! I would say it's never too late to practice even if past the peak age when it comes to physical strength. Maybe you just have to be bit careful not to injure you're shoulder(s) as shoulder injuries happen to be quite common, I think.

I've also seen a method where you can do a pike from a chair which takes some of the weight off.

Oh yeah, that's an excellent one, probably the best one to start with!

Past the peak age for physical strength....

Are you looking to get flagged?!?

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.243 which ranks you at #2847 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 2844).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 208 contributions, your post is ranked at #45.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94