[Day 3] 1 minute (Each Side) Planking Challenge: Elevated Side Plank

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Day 3 is here....

And from my last post I mentioned that I may not be doing planking since I have Food Bank volunteering labour work from our monthly packing, but since I woke up early I have decided to up my challenge just a little bit by doing something I wasn't able to do successfully back in 2015 when I attended Core X training.

And it is none other than side plank

Source is from Metal Yoga

Elevated side plank, just as its title meant, deals with 1 side of your muscles; hence when you are attempting side planks for 1 minute (and you survived), you will have to do it twice.

I was actually thinking that I could only survive for 30 seconds, seeing that my entire posture was shaking trying to keep my muscles working with my hip aligned with my spine on an approximately 15 degrees; but I realised that when you lift up your other arm that is not supporting your body (just as the diagram suggested) you actually could balance better than keeping your other arm relaxed.

This pose is actually a lot harder than the rest of the planking position, so don't beat yourself up if you are unable to hold it for 1 minute. If you are able to hold it for 30 seconds for the first time you should already give yourself a pat on the back and a good clap for your achievements.

So according to the website I referred the diagram, this is what the author says:

I am a big fan of the Side Plank Pose. Others may know this movement as the Iron Cross. The reason this pose is so powerful is that it challenges your balance, your ability to hold up your own weight on one arm at a time, and it targets the external obliques where things like muffin tops can form.

So if you are having serious love handle problems, you should really check this pose out.

How did I (barely) survive this pose after failing almost 4 years ago?

Probably one of the reasons I could hold it this long because I have been occasionally doing vertical leg lifts whenever I head over to the gym, hence my abs are less straining while keeping my hip aligned.

Have you tried this pose before in your 30 days challenge? How was your feeling about it? Do share in the comments below and if you have done it recently do point it out so that I can head over to visit and support you!

So in my previous post, I have added @awesomianist into the invitation list, this round I would like to invite @kchitrah (who's our Yoga Expert) and @heartscally (since she's getting ready for her wedding) for this fun and healthy challenge.

@kaerpediem , don't forget I might hop over your profile to hunt for your Day 3 Plank Contest Vlog haha...

I am still waiting for @zord189 to jio @chloephuan93 , @joannewong and @aaronleang (who must probably find this too easy peasy). Maybe @awesomianist might spur them easier.

@elizacheng I am waiting for your video upload. Let me know you have done so. haha.

Since @ragnarhewins90 has shown interest, I have added him my invitation as well haha

Until Then

Keep Calm and Keep Planking

ps: I almost died in this round, so I didn't do enormous "weight lifting" packing the recipients ingredient bags (namely 5kg rice bags), instead I did the less straining work like packing stationaries for 230 kids who did not manage to travel all the way from the deep inland of Peninsular.

And I had a good time playing the camera effects with one of our adorable little Food Bank recipient cum volunteer. She's our little chilli padi


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

I also did this before!! 😂
It's an another intersting way to do the plank contest I think 😎

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha. Well this is also one of the intermediate planking category. Even @minloulou also did Sally Up planking and that is considered as advanced level. 😂
In a Core X Class you already do most of the planking types on day one already, I remembered I literally felt like my body was crying and screaming in all the muscles

Posted using Partiko iOS

Side plank, omg. That’s ain’t easy and I don’t think the Bring Sally Up one is hard than that, I don’t even want to think about this. Good work anyways!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha, but it is hard for me because my biceps and triceps are not strong 😅

Posted using Partiko Android

😅😅😅 just started planking after being tagged by @davidke20 quite some time ago... But I have yet to find courage to video it let alone to upload it now... Some day in the future... I will be uploading this... 💪💪💪

Posted using Partiko Android

Don't film your face. I saw most of them don't film the face all the way. Only @davidke20 and @janicechua plus @kaerpedim I have seen with full video haha.

How many days have you survived?

I started 31 Dec. But missed a day on last Thursday.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow that is quite amazing! I am going to miss one day tomorrow as I have church duty the whole day from 730am

Posted using Partiko Android

I do it before sleep. So nobody disturb me. 😅

Posted using Partiko Android

But wouldn't you be sweating a lot after that?

Posted using Partiko Android

Not really sweating a lot. Doing half plank. I think if do full plank, maybe... But I don't have enough strength to do 1 minute full plank... The most I can take is 4 seconds

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh half plank is super basic. Don't worry, in time I am sure you can survive full plank.
As minloulou mentioned before. It is the importance of doing it correctly first then you strive to endure for 1 minute (and more)

Posted using Partiko Android

@minloulou @yanyanbebe 單手黎😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha 她们都有做单手黎吗?? 💪

Posted using Partiko Android

我之前有做,佢地覺得好出奇。🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

點解呢???Side Plank 都係其中之一项嚟㗎嘛。

Posted using Partiko Android

It's the filming part that gets me cold feet😂😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah ha ha ha. Don't show your face lar. Make sure your phone is not filming your face. You will feel better. 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahahaha.. One day I'll just have to do it

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahahaha... And you can get your fellow housemates to join you too

Posted using Partiko Android

I know. Same here!

Posted using Partiko Android

Even the founders don't post their faces. So can Wan. I just went to check

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehehe.. Yes. I think can la to show my face. Just shy hahaha

Posted using Partiko Android

Have to do it one day la hehehehe

Posted using Partiko Android

Absolutely, challenge accepted - well kinda cheating - cuz my yoga sequence includes a forearm plank hehehe. So I do it on a regular basis, but let me add this on for the next 30 days.

Although I may not be so diligent about the vlog part LOL!!

Shall perhaps do one with update on how the challenge went.

Awesome! Maybe since you have been doing the forearm plank you can go for the intermediate or advance level @kchitrah 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

I have an injured wrist, which is why I was doing the forearm plank. ;)

Technically I shouldn't overdo the forearm plank either as I have a shoulder injury too Lol!!!

But we do what we can :)

Oh my! How long do you actually hold? Is your wrist and shoulder injury and old wound??

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehehe, about a few minutes of.

They are old and new mixed in...Lol!!

Call me a clutz.

Uh... That's really dangerous if it's already hurt... 😳

Posted using Partiko Android

Cool le! I have not try this before! I really never do exercise one lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha and look at you now,quite pro already! 💪🏼
You can start with elevated plank (I did on day 2) first and see then proceed to side plank.
每天不同平板支撑可以锻炼不同肌肉那全身也会比较平均哦

Posted using Partiko iOS

哈哈 我都随便one take 就收工 还不敢乱动试别的😂

呵呵。。。但是如果一开始觉得容易就得挑战自己的肌肉咯。
When muscles work hard, they burn fat 😎

Posted using Partiko Android

对我不容易啊 !你好厉害

Posted using Partiko iOS

还好啦。还是很辛苦的。哈哈

Posted using Partiko Android

I think I wanna do this challenge been seeing it everywhere hehe.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ok. I have added you in my invitation list in this post 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

Keep it up... side plank👏👏💪💪

Posted using Partiko Android

Felt like dying at the time and now my whole sides with my arms are feeling the pain hohohoho the muscles are crying.

Posted using Partiko iOS

No worries coz this is an advanced plank. Ur body is starting to adapt to this workout. Maintain this workout after the soreness subside. U can feel that ur body is getting stronger.💪💪

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha... Maybe if I have time tonight I will do knee planking. Easier 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Yea.. recommended💪💪

Posted using Partiko Android

Great job~ keep it on👍support💪

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks a lot @sasaadrian today I take a break haha. Too busy already

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85