My New Business Vlog's Out: "How To Not Get Distracted When Working From Home"

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


You can't do big things if you're distracted by small things.

Getting distracted is actually one of the trickiest traps one can step in when working from home. That's at least one of my biggest takeaways as a young entrepreneur.

A thousand things want to call your attention, while you desperately try to focus on one.

My strategy: Be radical!

Switch off those phones, uninstall those apps, don't text back, ignore phone calls. There is only one way to get your stuff done: you need to get your stuff done.

I hope you enjoyed my today's little video advice.

Have a great week! And: Be focused.

Marley -

PS: If you can't display the video on DTube, here's the Youtube version


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Nice reminder!
I have worked from home for the last 12 years, and the last 5 years we have had 2 kids growing up!
It can be s madhouse here.
I edit all the videos I shoot for clients from my desk, and keep my camera gear stored away when not in use.

It can be difficult sometimes but when big chunks of work needs doing, me and my wife find arrangements for a quiet(er) house.

Having the phone/internet off during work hours is a worthy tip too!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey Ash, thanks for stopping by! :)
I grew up with two little brothers and can definitely relate. It was always hard to study when they were around :-) However, I also can't work in a totally silent ambient - that kinda makes me nervous. So I usually put on some music in the office.

You are so right!

:-) Ich wünschte, ich würde meine eigenen Ratschläge immer zu 100% beherzigen, hehe

I needed this .... Thanks!!

Hehe, you're welcome!
Btw nice combination of interests: Health | Tech | Life :-) (followed)

Great video. Yes, sometime's I also love to keep my phone away from me and use silent mode. That time I just want to be myself. Thank you so much for constantly adding value to @dtube platform .

This feedback was posted by priyanarc 🐞 through OneLoveCuration Discord Bot.

Yeah, it's important to be oneself, focus and not get distracted sometimes.
However, sometimes we just need to do exactly this: get distracted and carried away. There's room and time for everything I'd say :-)

Thanks for stopping by!

You’re so pretty and it’s lovely learning pretty stuffs from you.

It’s been a while you posted video here on steemit, but we didn’t miss you that crazy because we’re always close through Twitter handle, but please try and share more often with us here on steemit even when thousand things want to call your attention

Hope you surf 🏄‍♀️ today @surfermarly.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Aaaaw, you just put a huge smile on my face, hehe :-)
Thanks for the flowers!!

It's too windy right now to surf - I could do windsurf if I had time for it. But this month's quite busy, so I just surf in my daydreams - yet these can be quite intense at times :-)

Thanks for being around, hope you're having a great day!

Thanks for the reply and the clarification, I noticed the strong wind at background of your video. It’s really windy there.

Posted using Partiko iOS

That’s also what I do when I work from home. Close the door. Turn off / silent mode everything not work related.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think it's the only way...:-)

Thanks for stopping by @lion200 & have a great week!

Thank you for sharing!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nothing new. 100% true.

It's probably as old as humanity itself, yet sometimes we forget about it :-)

Muchas gracias por pasarte por mi blog.

Good tip! But what if your work is on the phone lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha, I have actually never heard of anybody running a company / business on the phone. Have you? :-)

Hehehehe very good response ! I need to put my phone away for sure for family time and work;) Thanks for the share dear. And thanks for commenting on my semi trolling.

Lol, I didn't even consider it being trolly :-D All good, and feel free to come back and leave some more of those comments :-))

Oh, and I agree: family time is offline time.

You are right. We need do it. your advice need to do for all. I think focus on work will create good result.

Well said @surfermarly I agreed

Anyway, I want to talk with you, How can I find you on discord or others?

Sure, I'm surfermarly#8679 on discord. Feel free to reach out at any time, I'm just not there every day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72