Moong Dahl & Leafy Greens DTUBE RECIPE: Plus, the Link Between Anxiety and Low Iron Levels

in #dtubesnap5 years ago (edited)


My energy levels have dropped like crypto this week. I feel like I'm walking in treacle - I'm fatigued despite 'taking it easy' as people say, and getting a good 7 to 8 hours sleep. And I'm anxious, for the first time in months, despite taking my miracle pills of St Johns Wort, fish oil and valerian - a magic trio that seems to work for me. My heart beat is driving me crazy and I'm thinking in pea soup fog and I'm breathless, too - wait - hang on - it can't be iron deficiency, can it?

Breathlessness is a warning sign of low iron for me, but I've never really made the link between low iron and anxiety until now. Seems crazy when I'm always walking on the knife edge of anxiety and depression but one of the symptoms is a foggy head, so when I'm anxious I'm trying like hell to solve it as a problem, and when I'm not, I'm not really thinking about it, so it's no suprise I've missed a few things.

There are links between mental health and low vitamin B and iron - this study found that iron deficiency, particularly in childhood, can cause 'the risk of psychiatric disorders, including mood disorders, autism spectrum disorder, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, and developmental disorders'.This study concluded that altered metabolism of iron and other metals modifies emotional behaviors. They also validly concluded that:

More systematic and controlled studies are warranted to better understand the underlying mechanism of iron-associated emotional behavior and mental health. It is necessary to improve our understanding of the pathologies associated with anxiety and other psychiatric disorders to develop therapies to alleviate emotional dysfunction.

Yes, yes and yes. There is so much to learn about mental health and it's impossible for the health system to truly assist everyone until they're screaming out for help, or, they're simply medicating it with an opoid. I'm on a constant journey of curiosity and discovery here and don't expect I'll ever get to the bottom of it, but what if it is a iron problem? Do I undergo costly testing and unhelpful doctors? I wonder if it's because I was brought up vegetarian - not something I want to broach with Mum as she always did her best, and there's nothing I could do about it now, but I do wonder!

I can certainly make sure I take my vitamin B's and iron (here's another [study](Low B levels are also linked to anxiety) if you were interested in the science - not the role of this post) My naturopath had prescribed me an activated B and I've stopped taking it because I ran out and was feeling better. Therein lies the other lesson - just because you're feeling better, doesn't mean you give up your meds!

Hence, the moong dahl soup with leafy greens, full of iron and lots of nutrients I need. Plus, I'll probably take a supplement.

My recipe is a bit of a bastardised version of the Indian moong dahl, but it's the one I like to make. In this recipe I use a lot of leafy greens from the garden - beetroot tops, silverbeet and kale. I also use a turmeric paste with ginger in it, but you don't have to use that - fresh ginger would be nice too. And don't forget the black pepper, which helps with the absorption of pretty much everything!

Lemon juice makes the soup taste even better, but the vitamin C in lemon juice also helps absorb the iron. I used bone broth in this recipe too but you can use ordinary stock, as listed in the ingredients. I really did need something totally nutritious to pick me up this week! Hopefully I'll be up off the couch soon and back into the energy of the world.



1.5 cups of green moong beans or yellow split peas
A few big handfuls of leafy greens
A bunch of coriander (omit if you aren't a fan - I am!)
An onion (I only had spring onions from the garden)
Ginger
A spoonful each of turmeric and cummin
Half a teaspoon of cinnamon and ground coriander
Optional chilli
Black pepper to finish

Soak the moong overnight and cook until soft. In a frying pan, melt ghee or coconut oil and fry spices and onion for about two minutes to release flavour. Add to soup with stock and the greens. Cook ten more minutes. Blend half the soup (this is optional, but I like the creaminess of it) with a bunch of coriander. Reheat gently. Serve with lemon and pepper and more ghee if that's your thing (it does make it nice and creamy!)

Do you suffer from low iron?

Did you know low iron levels can contribute to feelings of anxiety?



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

OMFGs was chatting with my lovely partner not 15 minutes ago, and I was telling her to make mung Dahl with leafy greens as she’s been told she is a bit iron deficient.

Something in the air???

Not too far from the truth...

Mung beans are a wonderful food for Liver-qi & Liver-blood, as are all leafy veg.

Boil mung beans until they start to open (about 1 hour), and drink the water to help cleanse liver of toxins, at least 3 cups a day!!!!!!

😊🙏🏽☯️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Snap!!!! That's so cool!

Posted using Partiko Android

I have a few friends who could benefit from that... all that drinking and what-not they do! Thanks

Yes haha. This recipe to be used to be my go to after a big weekend.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'll try to remember that next big weekend!

I had no idea about low iron and anxiety being connected - I suffer from anemia probably more often than not. Its just sort of become normal over the years. This soup looks gorgeous and I am definitely going to try it! Lovely video!!

Vote on your video in Vote for my video

That's not the way I do things honey xx

Posted using Partiko Android

Hope you start to feel better, i can totally relate to walking through treacle sounds like my life these day, every footstep a battle 💚 i didnt know about low iron having an impact but can see where it might impact me because of my diet. One to look into and give your recipe a try sounds delicous 😁 great post as always

Posted using Partiko Android

Maybe get some iron supplements Dan or a B complex? Worth a shot?

Posted using Partiko Android

I am about to have lunch it kind increased my hunger lol ;)

It is indeed looking delicious.

Ha yep that will happen!!! Never look at.food when you are hungry!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

OHHH that's exactly something I needed! ..

Leafy and soupy food for this rainy season ^^

My recipe is a bit of a bastardised version of the Indian moong dahl, but it's the one I like to make.

Hi5 on that one, I cook various bastardised Indian dishes too :-D

M- from accross the pond.

You got to adapt recipes to your way of cooking right? Plus what's tasty is tasty and that's what really counts after the health benefits 😁

It's the same way I took my son to Cook. A smidgen of this and a splash of that , ignore that part of the recipe and add to this instead comma taste it and add something else

Posted using Partiko Android

Heehee. Yeah I know this style of cooking very well!

Mainly it's because some of the spices are unavailable at my city. So, I really hope it won't alter too much of the taste. :-D and agreed, what's really counts is the health benefit!

Ah yep makes sense. What city are you in?

Ah I live in indonesia :-D nearby this place

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Borobudur

Borobudur
Borobudur, or Barabudur (Indonesian: Candi Borobudur, Javanese: ꦕꦤ꧀ꦣꦶꦧꦫꦧꦸꦣꦸꦂ, translit. Candhi Barabudhur) is a 9th-century Mahayana Buddhist temple in Magelang Regency, not far from the town of Muntilan, in Central Java, Indonesia. It is the world's largest Buddhist temple. The temple consists of nine stacked platforms, six square and three circular, topped by a central dome.

What you are describing I am going through now. But I know it's tied to the Seasonal Affective Disorder and thought, "But wait! She's in OZ. It's spring!" So I read on to see what was up.

I've never been dx'd with low iron, even after the millions of tests done over the years. I know my SADS is directly related to the time of year and to the fact it's been raining at least every 3 days with constant cloud cover between. (I have atypical SADS, too much cloud cover can bring it on....)

Good you made the connection and have the tools to alleviate it. :))

Resteemed!! Your recipe sounds delicious and looks like a perfect list of healthy ingredients. We are what we eat is one of the truest statements ever made. Turmeric, ginger and leafy greens are some of my most favourite go-to’s in life these days. I shall be trying out your recipe very soon! Thanks river 🤗🦋🌴🌈💛🍀

You are more than welcome. I'm hoping that I feel better because of it tomorrow! I love how I can pick the greens out of my garden too, and Mum picked some lemons for me off her tree.

I hope so too. I couldn’t agree more, picking from your own garden is by far the best way to eat and live 💚🌴🌈💛🍀

A total YUM food in our household - a comfort healing food - that we were blessed to be shown how to cook PROPERLY by none other that @eco-alex direct from India. :) Feel better, my dear. Eat dahl and steamed greens OFTEN, and BEFORE you feel like you are looking up at the bottom of the bucket. Much love to you. x

You know I have been feeling a bit like this myself, I think I will have to make your delicious Dhal tomorrow and get those lentils soaking tonight. Your video is great too. I hope that this sorts you out, it seems we have had such crazy full moons of late as well. Much love to you lovely xxx.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09