💚 Open Heart, Open Mind: 💙Part 2 of #ecotrains QOTW Series on Emotions

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

@ecotrain asked three questions last week, to be answered over three weeks:

  1. What does it mean to own your emotions? (find last week's fabulous curation here, and please do give gratitude to @eco-alex for taking the time to put them together)
  2. How open are you about your emotions?
  3. Do you appreciate others to be open about their emotions?

It has been a really interesting exploration into our emotional lives and I highly recommend you undertake your own exploration of these questions.


This post will attempt to explore the answer to Question 2:

'How open am I about my emotions?'


It's going to be a rambling affair and to be honest I've not written this in flow - I've been working through it from the heart, and then going and editing and returning to the beginning with another sort of logic entirely, so if none of this makes sense, forgive me! There's a reason for this feeling of uncertainty which I hope to make clear at the end (ironically).


I can most definitely say I have an open heart.


My whole life I’ve had people say to me that I’m an ‘emotional’ person and I have certainly recognised that as a truism – so much so I have a heart tattooed on the inside of my forearm as if to say, yep, I feel with my heart, live from this deeply emotional centre of me and I’m proud of that. It’s taken me a long time to get to the point where I can say, yes, I’m an emotional sort and there ain’t nothing wrong with that. I need my heart, because without my heart, where's my head?

“One ought to hold on to one's heart; for if one lets it go, one soon loses control of the head too.”

― Friedrich Nietzsche

I’ve told this story before on the blockchain but my Dad said to me a few months back that the family would be very different without my emotional energy. This meant a lot, because I have always felt the odd one out in the family because I seem to be the only one that operates in this way. The rest of the family are quite rational, logical and calm people. In fact, I surround myself with calm, grounded and rational people as a counter balance for my airy, deeply emotional side. Clearly, I intuitively needed the rational in my life, whilst being quite open about my emotions at the same time.

image.png

My heart side feels things deeply. I'm moved by nostalgia, literature, films, poetry. I feel things deeply, and have an incredible amount of empathy to the point it's actually screwed with the nerves that run up the back of my legs - if I see you've cut yourself, I get all these violent electric shocks from buttock to knee and have to stomp my leg to calm them down, much to J's amusement. I've also been prone in my life to get really carried away in tides of feeling - passion, anger, jealousy, rage. I've been consumed by anxiety and depression, resulting in a nervous breakdown a few years ago that really changed everything, in a wonderful way. I've also been enticed by many dark sides and loved travelling, as I loved throwing my heart into new experiences and feeling them with all my heart.

“The heart is a strange beast and not ruled by logic.” ― Maria V. Snyder, Touch of Power

Perhaps my emotional self, however, was not an unrestrained beast so much but a kind of emotional intelligence that is part of my DNA. I've always been rather good at feeling. And I've learnt that there's nothing really wrong with that at all - it's what J. loves me for, after all. 'Babe', he'd say to me, with an incredulous laugh, 'how can having such a loving heart be a bad thing?'

How extraordinary it is to find the thing you thought was kinda odd and wrong is actually a really nice part of who you are, and something people really appreciate. And, like the following quote attests, it's because I've been really openly emotional that I've been able to heal in the first place and eventually detach from the worst of the violent and damaging emotions.

“Take any emotion—love for a woman, or grief for a loved one, or what I’m going through, fear and pain from a deadly illness. If you hold back on the emotions—if you don’t allow yourself to go all the way through them—you can never get to being detached, you’re too busy being afraid. You’re afraid of the pain, you’re afraid of the grief. You’re afraid of the vulnerability that loving entails. “But by throwing yourself into these emotions, by allowing yourself to dive in, all the way, over your head even, you experience them fully and completely. You know what pain is. You know what love is. You know what grief is. And only then can you say, ‘All right. I have experienced that emotion. I recognize that emotion. Now I need to detach from that emotion for a moment’.”
― Mitch Albom

I've always been one for putting myself in a situation where feeling is inevitable - if I don't feel, then who am I? Thus, I've exposed myself more times than I can count, and entirely risked rejection so many times (and been rejected too) but through doing this, I've also enriched my life quite a bit - I can look back on the life I've lived and feel happy that I put myself out there as I have had far more rewarding and enrichiing relationships (with lovers as well as friends) that I can look back on and smile and remember.

It's this emotional openness that paved the way for me and J. hooking up too - and I think because he was emotionally open as well, we both just clicked. Neither of us were cautious - and although we'd both been hurt, we were both impulsive and didn't need time to build trust. When we met we ended up snuggled under a duvet together on a friends couch by the end of the night, and within three days we'd said I love you, and within a year we were married - a ridiculously hasty and impulsive choice but one that we're thankful for as fifteen years later we're still in love with no signs of that abating. If I hadn't been emotionally open, would we have clicked?

I might be really open about my emotions but I also must recognize I also have a logical side and thus refuse to be defined as wholly an 'emotional' sort - it's not that easy to pigeonhole me! Being both rational and emotional gives me a flexibility that can cope with new situations with fresh perspectives - I'm not a rigid thinker at all and some might say this makes me creative. I'd be happy to take that, because I don't think I can pin myself down and say I'm 'either' / 'or'.

Thus it was my rational side that really was bugging me when I was trying to answer this question. What the hell does any of this mean?

What I really wanted was to say 'very' and be done with it. That was J. humourous response anyway. So I confess to took to the internet and discovered this fun quiz, which confirmed my thinking about my openness and led me toward a clearer answer to this question.

Turns out that emotional openness is really just one facet to a whole lot of other areas in which we can be open. This makes a lot of sense to me!

https://www.truity.com/test/how-open-are-you

It was actually a really interesting quiz to do and both J and I scored highly for emotional openness. It turns out that many of the interests that suit this kind of personality defined us perfectly - intellectually curiosity, interests in arts and sciences, looking beyond facts for higher level of understanding, a high degree of creativity and interested in intellectual disciplines and abstract concepts. We were both adventurous and got bored easily, and seek out stimulating environments, are politically liberal and open to new and conventional ideas, and we're pretty non-judgmental, unless we're judging more conservative types, which we can't relate to and see as damaging the world.

So, this quiz let me to realise that of course I was so frustrated as I tried to grapple with this response! I can't say I have an open heart without saying that I have an open mind! So I'm both - I am open with my emotions (heart) but also open with my mind!

The two are not mutually exclusive.

And in fact, it's what many people argue is necessary to change the world! Gah! Self criticism! Who needs it! Turns out I was on the right track after all!



This therefore draws me to the conclusion I was beginning to feel intuitively a few paragraphs back.

I'm emotionally open, very, but also rationally open - and I can't separate the two things. And I'm rather really pleased and happy about that.

What about your good self? Are you emotionally open or are you like me and find it hard to pigeon hole yourself like this? I'd love to hear about what you think about this question, and encourage you to respond to the QOTW for the benefit of us all here on the steem blockchain!



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

1wEUFtd.jpg
Want to find more quality posts? Consider the #tribesteemup trail, and adding them to your autovoting along with #ecotrain.. Please ask if you're unsure what this might mean for you.

image.png
You can read about the 8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp here

riverflows2.png

Sort:  

I like to think I'm quite open but I tend to hold a lot in and probably like most people explode after a period of time.

It gets hard being open in todays busy time limited world.

Yes I can empathise with that... too busy to be open!!! I hear you. X

I'm open to those that I trust, but if your not in that inner circle I'm the type to bottle it up, I soon discovered growing up what felt like a lot of people don't like those who are emotionally open in a work or social context, and its caused me trouble/hostility in the past. My rational side tries to keep me in check but, thats never going to work 100% this was a really nice read thanks! 👍

Yeah i DEFINITELY hear you there Dan. Work life is driven by so called professionalism which seems to necessitate holding back on any feelings. It's what actually lead to my nervous breakdown reckon - Iwas too scared to tell anyone how I felt because it would make me look 'unprofessional' as if i COULDN'T deal with the job that was overloading me to begin with. That being said, I'm not particularly open with my colleagues as they aren't really my cup of tea anyway, so tend to just get on with things quietly. Balance is probably key, as well as not being too scared to reveal who you truly are because - um DER - you are awesome, I am awesome, so let's just BE awesome.

Ha i had the exact same experience a couple of years back, ended up in a dark place, quiting my job, on meds and pushing everyone away from me. I'm the same with my current job I've found being some what detached makes it easier for my rational side to see when they are taking the P*ss. Thanks for your comment 🙂

XXXX I hear you times a million xxxx

well, you could have just said VERY, but i wouldn't have gotten to know you like i have reading this.. so thank you for taking the time to write such a beautiful, open, and honest post about yourself! One love ms river

Thankyou xx 💚💚💚💚💚💚

These questions seem easy to start and then you go deeper into some quite interesting heart realms!!! Xx

i am really touched reading your blog @riverflows and "a loving heart can never be a bad thing" and an "open heart is an open mind". When open hearts meet, they easily hookup. One thing i know about myself too is that i am open with my emotions and its the openess of my emotions that has given me an open mind and has made me to have a strong passion to make the world a better place.
An open heart and an open mind can change the world!

Thanks for your beautiful comment.

the openess of my emotions that has given me an open mind and has made me to have a strong passion to make the world a better place.

You certainly bring this to the world... I can tell from all the things you write about on Steemit! 💚 I think I'm forming my answer to Part 3 as we speak... 💚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68