You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curation and Engagement Leagues ๐Ÿ† - STEEM prizes & steem-bounty available! ๐ŸŽ

in #engagement โ€ข 6 years ago

Well, @themanwithnoname, I don't know how far afield I got last week or the week before, but I appreciate you looking out for me. I guess I took some time off purposefully (my birthday counts), but most of the rest of it was not intentional. Saturday was just a lousy day to get things done in. Wednesday (being Independence Day and a day off for my wife) probably won't be so productive either.

At any rate, it's nice to think something I'm doing, especially in the leagues, is having an impact. I don't know how many of you really need motivation beyond your own desires to excel and to whatever fashion the incentives might speak to ya'll, but hey if what I'm doing is pushing you along somewhere back there in your head, I'm happy to be a part of the journey. :)

I'm kind of thinking it's time I started elevating my own game again. Enough of this lollygagging. I mean, I don't have all control over it, and I don't have to push myself relentlessly, but I probably should come up with an effort that's more indicative of the time I'm spending here, if not closer to my potential.

I mean, that 50,000 point mark has been well out of reach for me for a while now. Not sure how yet, but it's getting time to step up and just do it.

Sort: ย 

I mean, that 50,000 point mark has been well out of reach for me for a while now. Not sure how yet, but it's getting time to step up and just do it.

Yes! Maybe this won't be your week because of the day off on Wednesday, but next week will be the week. This is going to be exciting. Maybe we can get @abh12345 to send you private daily updates that you can post so we can track your progress as you seek to slay the 50,000 point mark starting next week.

"It's important to have benchmarks. Otherwise, how will you know where to put the benches?"
-themanwithnobench

Problem is, you kind of have to roll with it when you're feeling it, and I'm starting to feel it. :) Maybe I just kind of warm up this week, and go for it next week? I don't know. I can comment all I want but I need several people, maybe 30-40, that are willing to engage back. Otherwise, I'm doing more searching for posts than I am commenting. Not a good use of time.

You're right, you do need some people to comment back and forth with. You could always try doing two parts of a conversation with yourself. Ha ha.

Yeah, man, warm up this week and we're excited to see you break this this wide open next week.

Who's we? Me and you? Or you already spreading the word? As far as I know, you and I are the only ones aware that I've been thinking of 50,000 as a possibility. I'm not even sure how many people actually pay attention to the points. Okay, now I'm getting a little paranoid. :)

I could just set up another couple of accounts. Actually, I've been thinking it would be cool to set up some character accounts and comment like they would. The Darth Vader one that I used to see around a lot is some of the most hilarious things I've ever seen. :) At any rate, I could just spend all the day making comments to myself and whoever actually wanted to join in.

"Somehow, though, I don't think that would be keeping with the spirit of the leagues. Just a hunch."
โ€”glenalbrethsen

I'm pretty sure we've talked on the Engagement League post before about you getting to 50,000 points. I guess I was using the executive "we."

I've thought about setting up some other accounts too, but I had been saving my SP to get to 500. Now that I joined Steemsilvergold and delegated some SP to them, I'm back below 500, so I could spend the Steem without negative effect. I had a few ideas. I'll have to go through my mental list and see what I come up with.

That would be pretty funny if you had some good character accounts that talked to each other.

It probably wouldn't be in the spirit of the league, but it might be entertaining for me to witness! :D

It seems to me, and I could be totally mistaken about this, but a good old fashioned "fabricated" feud between two or more accounts would not only be entertaining, but potentially lucrative. The idea would be to make it somewhat obvious that it's fake, but not so obvious to keep people guessing. And, somehow avoid flags. People can get on a high horse faster than you can say, "Hi Ho Silver!"

That could be really funny. You could put something in their bios about being the enemy of each other so people know what's going on. You could even introduce the feud in a post on your own profile. Maybe have a link at the bottom that says, "If you don't know why ____ is a dirty, no-good, low-down, lying sack of garbage... check out this post" and have that direct to your original post on your account. Or something like that. I'm just thinking out loud, or in text as the case would be.

"You can organize fights, but make sure the contestants know that you're not the enemy. Otherwise, you might be paying someone to beat you up and take your money. Go to middle school and you'll find people to do that for free."
-themanwithnoname

Yeah. I'll have to think on that for a little while longer, but I like the suggestions. Introduce them from my own account and set theirs up so the profiles indicate their enemies. I think that would work.

I'm not sure which I would choose yet, but since they're basically superhero and supervillain, normally the names would give it away. But on Steemit, that doesn't automatically give them away, now does it?

I would imagine, though, through the course of their spat back and forth that any readers would get the idea.

I might wait a while to do this, though. Maybe until after Hivemind/Communities hits. I'm not in a terrible rush to get something like that set up, though I have been thinking about formally introducing characters in some fashion, perhaps through my own blog.

Plus, I'd like to be a bigger account before I start rolling out the big guns. Or better said, what I think will be the big guns, since the stories for the characters are nowhere near production yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 67135.09
ETH 3126.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72