You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curation and Engagement Leagues ๐Ÿ† - STEEM prizes & steem-bounty available! ๐ŸŽ

in #engagement โ€ข 6 years ago

Another quality week of dedicated Steeemians even during some bleak times as far as engagement here on Steemit. We keep each other strong and have encouraged each other to get out there and engage. It has not been in vain, look at those numbers!

First and foremost, thank you to @abh12345 for again doing the work to put on The Engagement and Curation Leagues. It's becoming a real hub for people who are serious about making a difference around Steemit. I'd be interested to see statistics on how many entrants there are each week (as we only see the top results). The Engagement League is one of the main drivers behind what I do on Steemit and I imagine it is for others as well. Thank you for the prize. I've powered it up already.

Also, thank you to @curie for sponsoring The Leagues. I've been competing for months now and it's one of my favorite things on the platform! The prizes are appreciated and I always power them up. :)

@janton, congratulations on taking the crown for the third week in a row. You've been a seemingly-unstoppable force since you showed up on the scene. I've enjoyed our conversations and look forward to more of them in the future. Wear that crown with pride. You earned it.

@lynncoyle1, I got to comment back and forth with you a bit this week. That's been fun. You're here, there, and everywhere, so anytime the Lynn train stops in town it's nice to catch up. You're doing a lot of hard work that doesn't even get picked up in the stats, so thanks for helping make Steemit a better place.

@gillianpearce, you're always a contender. Congrats on getting on the podium again! I don't know how you find the time, but you do it consistently. I think that's one of the keys. I'm still amazed that you're able to get out four posts per day, but hey, you gotta get paid! You'll be a whale in no time! Don't forget us when you're famous.

@glenalbrethsen, another fine showing this week. I saw you around in many different places and that was with you taking some time to do other things. You have been one of the people who have elevated everyone else's games and now we have a better idea of what we can expect from ourselves. Thanks for the motivation. I normally have something in the back of my mind that tells me I should try harder so I can beat you. :D

Also, congratulations to my fellow Top 10ers - @funbobby51, @eaglespirit, @bashadow, @maverickinvictus, @leeart, and @davemccoy. You all did great out there! You're some of the best and I'm glad to share the company of such as you.

Lastly, thank you to @themanwithnoname. I couldn't do this without you. Wait. Sorry. I got confused. Ha ha!

"You can engage with others, but for it to be meaningful, you must first engage with yourself."
-themanwithnoname

Sort: ย 

Thank you @themanwithnoname

I do like to hear about prizes being powered up right away :)

This week there were 320 valid entrants into the Engagement League, which means that 180 members who are on the list didn't make a comment at all this past week. That actually sounds like quite a lot, but I would suggest that 400 out of 500 accounts created since the start of the year are no longer posting - That would be in line with @paulag's findings last month.

"You can engage with others, but for it to be meaningful, you must first engage with yourself."

Nice line!

Cheers!

I happened to be around, so I think I had that powered up before you even got the post out. :)

I would suggest that 400 out of 500 accounts created since the start of the year are no longer posting

Sadly, 80% of new accounts going inactive sounds about right. There seems to be an influx, then slowly they leave. Do you have a limit on how long they can be inactive before you don't include them in the League?

That wasn't my best quote. They're meant to be more humorous, but I'm really tired and couldn't come up with something right away. That's the rule, it's got to be a top-of-the-head thing.

"You can put a hat on your head, but if your head isn't screwed on right, the hat will fall off with it and get dirty. That's why I always get extended warranties on my hats."
-themanwithnoname

I include them in the list, but if there is no comment in a week then they won't appear - and return to the list if they then return.

No need for humour when the quote makes good sense - I was thinking it was a spiritual effort ๐Ÿ˜Š

So they're really on the list until they opt out. That's probably not a big deal if it doesn't take any longer to run the query.

It was supposed to be semi-spiritual. Normally my new quote series is funny though, so I was trying to do both. It was too much.

"Before you juggle many knives at one time, make sure you know how to juggle. Surprisingly, not everyone thinks of this."
-themanwithnoname

hahaha what's with the quotes today? I like them!

After talking with @glenalbrethsen about how I kept misquoting him, I decided to start sharing some wisdom with people by way of making up quotes. :D

Well if it's ok with you @themanwithnoname, I may join in with some quotes of my own.

"When you're unsure of the accuracy of something, simply make it up using stats and big words. No one will notice a thing."
-lynncoyle1

"Just for the record, @themanwithnoname had already made up at least one of his own quotes when he mixed around a word or two in a reply I made to him, which I happened to like his interpretation of better anyway. So, in pointing this out, I'm not trying to perpetuate his assertion that he 'keeps misquoting me' because he doesn't. He actually consistently remembers things much better than I do (or he bothers to go back and look). If anything, this is a giving credit where credit is due thing. :)"
โ€”glenalbrethsen

I think that's a great idea!

"67% of statistics are made up on the spot."
-statistician

Actually, the list is taking longer to compile and so I may at some point need to think about removing the inactive.

I can juggle 3 items quite well, never tried with knives though!

I was wondering about the compiling time. Maybe if someone misses three or four in a row then they're removed until they ask to get back in. Vacations can go two weeks sometimes, but three weeks might mean they gave up. I don't know.

"They said they were going to close the inactive accounts, so I went out and spent all my money... just in case."
-themanwithnoname

Thank you so much @themanwithnoname! What a lovely comment; it was nice catching up with you this week :) Congratulations to you too!!

Well, you're a lovely person so of course it was nice catching up!

"They call it 'catching up' because gravity pulls things down. If you're 'catching down' you're going to get hit in the head with a baseball."
-themanwithnoname

hahaha annnnd you're back @themanwithnoname !! Thanks for always making me laugh :)

"Life without laughter is like peanut butter without jelly, or themanwithnoname without silver. Just crazy"
-lynncoyle1


"Life without laughter is like peanut butter without jelly, or themanwithnoname without silver. Just crazy"
-lynncoyle1

YES! 10 Points for Lynnindoor!

Happy I can make you laugh. :D

You'll be a whale in no time!

Ha, ha, ha. That's hilarious @themanwithnoname. Although you could be right. I think I'm only approx 449,500 Steem power short. Easy, peasy. should be there by Christmas. ๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ˜‚

And of course I won't forget you when I'm famous. although I'm not sure what that has to do with becoming a whale. I like a quiet life. ๐Ÿ˜Š

So you're a little short, that's ok. Keep at it and you'll be there before... something. It could be a while. Although you have a few strong supports and you post often, so I could see it not taking too long for you.

Quiet life is great! Good call.

"If you say you don't like the quiet life, sleep with a rooster outside your window. You'll soon get an appreciation for the quiet. Or the rooster might get appreciation in a soup pot."
-themanwithnoname

you're a little short

That's hilarious @themanwithnoname. That has to be the most optimistic statement I've heard for a long time.

"If you say you don't like the quiet life, try sleeping in Gillian's room when the world cup is on. (Not when Gillian's there of course because that would be just plain weird!) You'll soon get an appreciation for the quiet. Or the football supporters might get an appreciation for buckets of cold water".
~gillianpearce

Ha ha ha, I like your quote. :)

Well, @themanwithnoname, I don't know how far afield I got last week or the week before, but I appreciate you looking out for me. I guess I took some time off purposefully (my birthday counts), but most of the rest of it was not intentional. Saturday was just a lousy day to get things done in. Wednesday (being Independence Day and a day off for my wife) probably won't be so productive either.

At any rate, it's nice to think something I'm doing, especially in the leagues, is having an impact. I don't know how many of you really need motivation beyond your own desires to excel and to whatever fashion the incentives might speak to ya'll, but hey if what I'm doing is pushing you along somewhere back there in your head, I'm happy to be a part of the journey. :)

I'm kind of thinking it's time I started elevating my own game again. Enough of this lollygagging. I mean, I don't have all control over it, and I don't have to push myself relentlessly, but I probably should come up with an effort that's more indicative of the time I'm spending here, if not closer to my potential.

I mean, that 50,000 point mark has been well out of reach for me for a while now. Not sure how yet, but it's getting time to step up and just do it.

I mean, that 50,000 point mark has been well out of reach for me for a while now. Not sure how yet, but it's getting time to step up and just do it.

Yes! Maybe this won't be your week because of the day off on Wednesday, but next week will be the week. This is going to be exciting. Maybe we can get @abh12345 to send you private daily updates that you can post so we can track your progress as you seek to slay the 50,000 point mark starting next week.

"It's important to have benchmarks. Otherwise, how will you know where to put the benches?"
-themanwithnobench

Problem is, you kind of have to roll with it when you're feeling it, and I'm starting to feel it. :) Maybe I just kind of warm up this week, and go for it next week? I don't know. I can comment all I want but I need several people, maybe 30-40, that are willing to engage back. Otherwise, I'm doing more searching for posts than I am commenting. Not a good use of time.

You're right, you do need some people to comment back and forth with. You could always try doing two parts of a conversation with yourself. Ha ha.

Yeah, man, warm up this week and we're excited to see you break this this wide open next week.

Who's we? Me and you? Or you already spreading the word? As far as I know, you and I are the only ones aware that I've been thinking of 50,000 as a possibility. I'm not even sure how many people actually pay attention to the points. Okay, now I'm getting a little paranoid. :)

I could just set up another couple of accounts. Actually, I've been thinking it would be cool to set up some character accounts and comment like they would. The Darth Vader one that I used to see around a lot is some of the most hilarious things I've ever seen. :) At any rate, I could just spend all the day making comments to myself and whoever actually wanted to join in.

"Somehow, though, I don't think that would be keeping with the spirit of the leagues. Just a hunch."
โ€”glenalbrethsen

I'm pretty sure we've talked on the Engagement League post before about you getting to 50,000 points. I guess I was using the executive "we."

I've thought about setting up some other accounts too, but I had been saving my SP to get to 500. Now that I joined Steemsilvergold and delegated some SP to them, I'm back below 500, so I could spend the Steem without negative effect. I had a few ideas. I'll have to go through my mental list and see what I come up with.

That would be pretty funny if you had some good character accounts that talked to each other.

It probably wouldn't be in the spirit of the league, but it might be entertaining for me to witness! :D

It seems to me, and I could be totally mistaken about this, but a good old fashioned "fabricated" feud between two or more accounts would not only be entertaining, but potentially lucrative. The idea would be to make it somewhat obvious that it's fake, but not so obvious to keep people guessing. And, somehow avoid flags. People can get on a high horse faster than you can say, "Hi Ho Silver!"

That could be really funny. You could put something in their bios about being the enemy of each other so people know what's going on. You could even introduce the feud in a post on your own profile. Maybe have a link at the bottom that says, "If you don't know why ____ is a dirty, no-good, low-down, lying sack of garbage... check out this post" and have that direct to your original post on your account. Or something like that. I'm just thinking out loud, or in text as the case would be.

"You can organize fights, but make sure the contestants know that you're not the enemy. Otherwise, you might be paying someone to beat you up and take your money. Go to middle school and you'll find people to do that for free."
-themanwithnoname

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63648.37
ETH 3125.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87