How long have you left?

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)


jeo4vg4b65.png



I was at work today and doing a rare spell on checkouts. I was feeling a little burnt out so tills are always a great way to relax for a couple of hours and chat to the customers. Wednesday morning is always one of the quietest times in the week so there was never going to be a big rush or huge panic like at the weekends. I don't do it often but it makes a nice change to my usual shift which is non stop work and movement.

Sitting there relaxing, I was being fairly chatty and friendly with the customers as I told the one hundredth person that,

"I'm good today and how are you?".

After almost a decade with the company you can run out of new and interesting ways to say hello. Especially to the regular customers who can be in more than once a day. I Never understood that part myself.

We have the ones that come in the same time every day. the morning people for the fresh products and the evening ones for the nightly bottle of wine but for a person that shops about twice a week at most I just can't see the appeal of traveling to the shop more than once in a single day.

Anyway one of the regulars was chatting away and asked how long I had left? I'm guessing on my shift, but I was never one for giving a straight answer. Must be the Irish in me.

"Just another 30 - 40 years",

It depends on how the government treats people down the line. I'm still fairly young so I could easily be working up to 70 as a lot of people I see still do. She started laughing but in reality there will be very few jobs in retail 30 years into the future. If I stay there I should be fine but a lot of the regular staff will have been replaced and not too far into the future I would guess. We are already running on the smallest possible amount of staff and with the automation of ordering and checkouts advancing then it will soon be more cost effective to replace most of the staff with machines. And we all know that as soon as it becomes cost effective it will be done. All they will need going forward will be a manager to look after the place and a couple of bodies to stack shelves and keep the place clean. In reality it's just a matter of when and not if.

That is why we will need another form of income going into the future. I have no intention of working until 70 and never did. The plan has always been to make my money now while I can and then pick up property and investments to generate a passive income to support myself.

The dream would be to see STEEM become large enough to support people that have a decent stake through investments and using the blockchain. Obviously that is still a long shot but I do wonder where that price point lies. What value would it take for STEEM to be able to support me to the same level as my 40 hour a week job?

In reality it's not that much. At my current rate I can earn about 300 STEEM per month through my activities on the blockchain so if we got to $10 then it would be more per month than my current wage. Obviously if we rose to that level it would generate a whole new level of interest in the project and we would get a new wave of users so $20 is probably a better bet. It would still require a good few hours of work every week to keep the monthly earnings at a high level but with that kind of price we would attract more projects like @actifit and @steemhunt which can also generate an income.

The future holds unlimited possibilities for STEEM so it's just a matter of who is willing to help get there and buy into the vision. I know those numbers might seem crazy from where we have been sitting all year but in reality it wouldn't take that much to get us there. We have gotten to $7 before and that is with only a small minority of people even looking at this space. If crypto and STEEM attracted a few larger businesses and more people getting involved then it would become a very scarce commodity and a token with a lot of value.

All it would take is one dapp to break the barriers to the rest of the world and we could see people flood into this space to take part. It's not a guarantee but it is a strong possibility. If you don't fancy working until 70 it's up to you to make that choice and see where you can help to improve and build the chain that we all want to succeed.



0p2eczmztu.png




xpuakyq8vu.png

Sort:  

Great vision that we share! I hope to accumulate for a couple years while still depending on my income from work. I am taking a portion to add to my Steem Power so that in the future I become less dependent on my income and generate opportunities on the blockchain which will include entrepreneurial ideas to build here! It’s an exciting time to dream as we see the potential available!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thats a great plan and something that i am doing on a much smaller scale. If i could get past my mortgage and car loan I would be a lot freer to build for the future. That is my plan for the next couple of years. My only issue will be if crypto takes off in the meantime when now is the time to really accumulate.

My goal is to stop working at 50 years with enough passive income to support myself and with a personal network of 2million(Danish kroner).
I am 27 year, so I have a few years to make it happen, with compound interest :D

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm only 30 myself so this is my time to get things set up. I have a mortgage and car loan so if i can get those payed off then there will be more money for investment. At the moment all i am doing is buying up small bits of crypto and growing my SP.

I dont have mortgage or a car nor do I have a good paying job xD
Thats also a good investment if you ask me. I will properly be buying more steem either later this month or in the beginning of next.

Posted using Partiko Android

My job isn't that great but I am careful with how I spend my money. I got a good deal on the house and did most of the work on it myself. With house prices going up every year in this country it was a good plan for the future.

You work in retail as I do right? Thats quite nice!
I am renting a really cheap apartment and I manage my expensive quite well. 1/3 of my salary is for every month expensive, so I have most of my salary for stuff :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Yep. I work in a supermarket. I just try to be smart with what I have like yourself.

Posted using Partiko Android

I work in 7/11, so ye.
It makes perfectly sense to be smart with what you have

Posted using Partiko Android

It won't take much to get Steem rocking and we may have one of the apps already in Steemhunt. I know actifit is decent but there are a few of them around now offering the same thing.

Haven't seen any others. Which chain are they based on?

Posted using Partiko Android

I actually don't know. Just saw them offering tokens for activities.

I'll have to take a look or if you see them again could you let me know. If we could link a few of them to the one fitbit it would be a handy way to earn some extra crypto.

True. I never thought of that. I will keep an eye out as never paid much attention to it and let you know. I think I saw some on Steemhunt.

@niallon11

Actifit is the only one I know of for fitness.. I love it though, waking up and knowing my first post will be just from working out.. feels good.

Accumulate as much as possible, the future is promising

Posted using Partiko iOS

That's the plan. This has been the best time for growth I've seen since joining two years ago. I intend to take full advantage of that as well as getting as many SMT tokens as possible. If we do make a success of this anybody holding over a thousand SP should be very happy.

All it would take is one dapp to break the barriers to the rest of the world and we could see people flood into this space to take part.

I believe so too! There is a certain growth in the amount of dApps built on Steem. So who knows, maybe even in near future we can expect big things.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Some of them have great prospects. I'm very excited to see how steemhunt progress with the next phase of the project after the ieo. Review hunt.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @solominer.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 15 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 117 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hi @niallon11!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.666 which ranks you at #1656 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 45 places in the last three days (old rank 1611).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 216 contributions, your post is ranked at #51.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85