You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Compromising - does it feel right?

in #esteem6 years ago

In my view the ability to compromise is a valuable ability to have in ones arsenal of abilities. However as listed in your examples @momogrow it can often be used in a self defeating fashion.

I would speculate based on The Oxford Living Dictionaries definition that compromise could be described as a form of negotiation. A negotiation with oneself or with others. Compromises - like negotiations can produce negative and positive results.

"Plans to be healthy and one continues to eat junk food, a craving is satisfied now."

This could be a negative compromise as by giving in to a craving one has convinced themselves defeat is only a compromise and in the long term it was self defeating.

However if one had been eating healthy for a month but was suffering distress from pushing them self to hard and neglecting their short term well being, then a compromise could be positive and spare them a sleepless night allowing them to rally the following day and continue to work towards their ambitions efficiently.

To conclude my view:

To compromise successfully on a regular basis is perhaps a skill few of us posses. One must remain ever vigilant that the compromises they make are not ultimately self defeating.

Thanks for giving me a reason to self reflect @momogrow

Sort:  

@the-one-true-dan Aww - you are right - compromise can also be a form of negotiation but based on the quote I focussed on the part of the definition that causes self-defeat.
Thank you - I adjusted my post to mention that as the post is my thoughts based on the quote only.
I am happy that I give you reason to self reflect - I write about these topics based on my current environment and self reflection.

In the situation re. healthy eating if one does not only make plans but has been eating healthily for a period of time like you suggested - then cheating or compromising every so often is actually a good thing indeed.

@the-one-true-dan - thanks for your comment - as a result my post is now clearer and hopefully more understandable for other readers.

It was a pleasure to be able to contribute @momogrow thank you for taking the time to read my lengthy reply :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63173.85
ETH 3147.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87