Apple Cinnamon Pumpkin Something Cake: food fight friday !

in #fff6 years ago

Welcome to another week of Food Fight Friday y’all!

This is such a special time of year, kids back in school, Monday night football, pumpkin spice latte’s and apple cinnamon yum yums. I always look forward to reaching into my recipe arsenal and pulling out fresh baked sweet breads, cakes and pies. Nothing says fall/winter/holidays like the smell of apple cinnamon pumpkin something. Well, cozy up with a hot cup of cocoa, an oversized sweater and some ‘Stranger Things’ season 3 because I have a treat for you.

A63BDE28-2CA5-4DA0-8516-896354DFFBB3.jpeg

Apple Cinnamon Pumpkin Something

I was talking to my friend @birdsinparadise about baking with dates. I realized I have never used them in anything and wanted to change that but first “does one need to de-pit the date before baking” 🤔… common sense told me yes but I asked @birdsinparadise anyway. Her answer was perfect:

Yes, you do want to remove the pits. Medjool dates usually contain pits....hard on the teeth and the food processor lol You can get pitted...just have to look around a bit. They are so easy to remove, no worries my friend :)

This convo came about because she put out fantastic looking Blueberry Protein Balls made with dates. They looked so good I became inspired to bake something of my own using dates… thanks @birdsinparadise.

CCFDE483-01AC-4856-A6ED-D176A332E18B.jpeg

These are the dry ingredients, although I did add almond flour/meal as well.

Dry Ingredients

2 C GF Flour Blend (1 c GF Flour to 1 c Almond Flour)
1 Tsp Cinnamon (I am very liberal w/cinnamon)
1 Tsp Baking Soda
1/2 Tsp Sea salt

262AF19A-7068-41BF-AC3B-6015E15A6615.jpeg

This is what I consider the “wet ingredients”.

Wet Ingredients

1 C Dates (plus 1/4 c boiling water to soak them)
3/4 C Almond Milk
1/3 C Coconut Oil
1 Tbsp Vanilla Extract
1 Tbsp Apple Cider Vinegar
4 Apples (2 sliced, 2 grated)

I began by de-pitting the dates by slicing them down the center and simply pulling out the pit. It was quite easy and now feel a little silly for being so intimidated 🤦🏼‍♀️

A874B168-EDF9-4C2B-8C9E-50ED0E88F351.jpeg

Just in case you’re like me and are uncertain of what the pit is, it’s that hard looking seed in the middle there.… just pull it out and voila, de-pitted.

I boiled about a cup and a half of water and soaked the dates in my measuring cup.

DF09AE78-899D-46F3-A950-8F9D0EA46349.jpeg

Moving right along, it’s time to sift all of the dry ingredients into a bowl. Being that we have the bare minimum, as far as kitchen utensils, you have probably guessed that I don’t have a sifter… and you would be right. I was able to fashion a make shift (make-sift) sifter here.

4503F32B-81F8-4488-88D6-94EB186A469C.jpeg

A Tupperware bowl, a rice rinser and fork should do the trick. If I were smart I would have mixed up the Gluten Free Flour, Almond Flour, Cinnamon, Baking Soda and Sea Salt before sifting but I like to fly by the seat of my pants so I mixed as I sifted.

7CA93F8F-010B-44E1-9306-7EB999866B06.jpeg

I used a strong circular motion at first but quickly realized a tapping was just as effective and much more annoying… naturally I went with the tapping.

C28235D2-7F09-442C-AA62-B4DC75C67622.jpeg

I think it ‘sifted’ quite well, although, the bottom layer remains cinnamonless it’s something I feel I can rectify with the mixing of the wet ingredients.

First, I bust out my handy grater (if you have a food processor then use that) and get to work grating 2 apples. I specifically grabbed a few of the first Royal Gala Apples of the season from the Farmers Market just so I could make this Apple Cinnamon Something… yay to locally sourced organic produce 💃💃

F4C2A1E4-C1AC-4D12-B822-FF67AB006CC8.jpeg

I realized while grating my apples that the skin works as a finger guard, shielding your fingers from any mishaps. Love it!

62F618CC-2AF5-468B-8610-4C54CEED0399.jpeg

I don’t think I’ve ever grated an apple before so this entire process stimulated a bunch of apple sauce-y inspiration.

58D5A474-461F-4326-8BAC-5F0518760541.jpeg

I mean look at all of that goodness! Just wait until it hits the blender, which by the way did a fantastic job. No need for a food processor here (however, if you have one I’d still use it).

301A50A3-83C7-4801-B3B4-B17F9A8FEB59.jpeg

Dump your Dates, Almond Milk, Vanilla Extract, Coconut Oil and Apple Cider Vinegar into your Blend-cessor and blend until smooth.

A53C9204-7EB2-40EF-8638-5AEE3C42E829.jpeg

Then add your grated apples (I use my hands because we’ve already established I’m a renegade 🤠) and blend that until smooth as well.

DC5F5835-2D14-4857-9F8F-DFA274C73A5D.jpeg

Look how well my blender did with that job. This blender really has been a good Thelma to my Louise. I’ve even made chickpea cookies with this blender, granted it took fooorrrreeeevvvvverrrrr to blend but in the end Thelma came through.

2CA2B5F7-54CA-45AA-BC84-243BEE11038B.jpeg

Now, here is where I’ll rectify that ‘fly by the seat of my pants’ trick with the cinnamon. Pour the wet ingredients over the dry ingredients and gently fold together until just mixed.

46F8D6EE-E804-448B-ACE6-5EE5DCD27167.jpeg

Pour the batter into a nicely greased baking tin and make sure it’s bigger than the one I used here. You don’t know yet but about 30 minutes after taking this picture, the batter had ‘runneth over’ 🤦🏼‍♀️

88ACD455-479D-4CD1-B704-B51E2D1BFBAA.jpeg

Take the other two sliced apples and place them around your cake in whatever way you think is pretty. My husband @dandays helped me with this one.

E6417048-11D5-43C1-9C64-A2E933FDB0A7.jpeg

I could have made my apple slices thinner but was scared to cut off my finger tips so thick apple slices it is :). Before transferring into the oven (set at 350) make sure to dust the top with cinnamon and I drizzled a little agave too. Like this:

80A7DB19-E682-4E6E-97D2-C36213B44919.jpeg

I bet you’re thinking what I was thinking right about now… “that cake is filled to the brim, should I pour it in a different dish and start arranging the apples again or go for glory”… as an outlaw, I went for glory!

B7AE524E-DBEA-47D4-89B3-2F8C8E4EA707.jpeg

I went for glory, set over a piece of foil; I’m an outlaw not an idiot. Then I shut the oven and squeezed my butt in anticipation of a cake mess. I must have opened that oven 8 times in the first 30 minutes. It wasn’t until the last 25 minutes that the cake began to burp up unwanted pieces of batter. I quickly grabbed a cookie sheet and placed that under the cake as well. This move adjusted my cooking time quite a bit…

2C65C4CE-DFAB-4AB3-93C3-A60822B61521.jpeg

After the initial 45-55 minutes baking at 350, the center was still runny so I threw it in another 15 minutes. From there I checked the cake about every 7 minutes and still felt it was under cooked in the middle by the 30th extra minute but had to relieve the browning top. I pulled the cake and let it cool on the counter while baking a pan sheet all in one dish dinner: rainbow potatoes, broccoli, eggplant and zucchini.

4E31E5A5-1609-4473-9825-517D3A4EF0BA.jpeg

This is what our first piece looked like; an epic fail. I had just spent the last 2 hours filling our house with an Apple Cinnamon Pumpkin Something aroma and there was no way we weren’t going to devour something that was apple cinnamon. So we pretended it was an Apple Cinnamon bread pudding and got down on some dessert.

Once our taste for A.C. (Apple Cinnamon) was quenched I decided to throw the cake back in the oven for an additional 30 minutes (at 350). Our second piece was much more on point.

5C2AC4F2-4E81-4447-83AC-46CD331C5A94.jpeg

With all of that said, done and devoured I got to work on some dishes.

93D1EC26-A9B2-47AA-8A26-1293BDA54E09.jpeg

Not bad for a Food Fight Friday extravaganza! Next time I will use a bigger cake dish, even if it isn’t round, so the cake cooks without the need for a cookie sheet filter.

Either way, epic fail or pleasant invitation to the holiday/fall/winter season, Apple Cinnamon Pumpkin Something Cake will always be welcome at our house. Thank you for reading! Let me know of your favorite (Vegan, GF, Refined Sugar Free… haha) Apple Cinnamon goody recipes :)

Pura Vida ✌️

P.s. I know there is no pumpkin in this recipe but didn’t want to exclude it from the festivities.

Sort:  

The bread pudding was delicious, the toasted a little more bread pudding was equally delicious and those dishes were a piece o cake!

iheartu all the time.

This looks delicious @puravidaiville :) Cautious Outlaw ... I like it:)

Even though it's still stinkin' hot here in Mexico, September calls out to me in the same way, so I tried an oatmeal cinnamon cookie recipe here that truly was an epic failure ... turned out to be more like crumbled muffins ... I can't just throw stuff out ... so I made a apple cinnamon bread pudding of sorts too from it; threw in a little this, little that and we enjoyed it immensely!

I never think to take a photo or turn it into a post, until I'm staring, belly full, at an empty plate though haha

Haha… it’s hard to restrain myself (but mostly to restrain my husband) long enough to get those darn pictures… let alone dress them up with different fruits or flowers or cinnamon sticks. I totally understand the empty plate, full tummy, no picture having moment. I have quite a few of those myself.

I think I like the sound of crumbly oatmeal cinnamon muffins. The thing with those is that it fills the house with such an aroma there is no way we can walk away with a loss- the only option is to make it work as a bread pudding or something. Haha…
We are in LA and it’s still pretty hot here, however, we’ve already established i’m an outlaw so I sweat through it 🤠.

Thank you so much for stopping by @lynncoyle1 it’s good to have you !

Thank you so much for stopping by @lynncoyle1 it’s good to have you !

Hey there @puravidaville, it's a pleasure to be had :)

the only option is to make it work as a bread pudding or something. Haha…

I just couldn't toss out the crumbly muffins and KNEW there was something that could be saved from the whole mess :) You're right ... the smell alone makes it impossible to not figure something out!!

For sure- as long as it tastes good!

OH MY GOODNESS, I am still laughing so hard I am crying! You are the greatest! I love your posts! I even read it to Mr. Bird and cried again, your sense of humor is priceless!! I am certain that cake was amazing, just a little more bakee :) Thank you for your sweet mention @puravidaville , your post is so refreshing and honest....only a fellow foodie creator will truly appreciate. I can smell the apples, cinnamon and pumpkin now....may have to try this gem!

Yeah, what she said! Haha, I totally agree on the humor! And I can also just about smell the warm cinnamon if I close my eyes...

@plantstoplanks a big ol piece of apple cinnamon something coming your way… thank you for appreciating my humor too! You rock :)

Haha… thank you @birdsinparadise - I’m so glad you liked it!! It actually turned out fine but eating our way through the first piece was a little rough… ah whatever, it’s the first apple cinnamon something of the season…they’ll only get better from here :)

I truly am so happy that you appreciate not only my humor but the revelation of my mistakes too. I figure, I can’t be the only one with kitchen bloopers 🤷🏼‍♀️ Thanks for you support birdsinparadise and I’ll keep my eye out for your apple cinnamon something recipe this season. :)

Thank you kindly! The second piece was much better than the first and even better the next day :)

Oh maaaaan I have such a sweet tooth and we all know how I feel about apples. It's amazing how much sweetness comes from dates. Awesome! 👍👍

I know… I had so many left over dates that I made snickers bars out of them last night. They turned out great! I don’t know why I’ve shyed away from dates my entire baking career.… haha… well my sweet tooth is a running rampid as well so get ready for more recipes. Most are quite easy and yum. It’s good seeing you this week @lizzyib thanks for stopping by fellow food slinger :)

So yummy and I love apple cider vinegar.

I actually love Apple cider vinegar too! I add it to my smoothie every morning 😋.

I’m glad you like my Apple Cinnamon Cake. Next time I’ll have to add the pumpkin. Thank you for stopping by @joeyarnoldvn, two virtual pieces headed your way :)

Pumpkin is the best but sadly is not used for this recipe. I just included it in the name because who doesn’t love pumpkin 🤷🏼‍♀️

Om-nom-nom-nom! This pie definitely brings the sense of Fall and I am in love with this time of the year! I don't feel nostalgic at all, Autumn is such a beautiful season. I love the coziness and an apple pie would match perfectly with the tea I just made myself :)

Apple anything is a winner in my book! Fall/autumn/ winter, all are seasoned with sprinkles memories of non stop apples, cinnamon and pumpkin, at least in my house. Thank you for coming on over to my page @kremena.shtereva next time you come for a visit I’ll serve you a piece of Apple Cinnamon Something Cake :)

Looks yummy. Though I am too lazy to do this.😁😁 Hopefully someday.

Please support, follow me. Newbie here. Thank you

This recipe definitely called for a little more attention to detail but was much easier than it looks. The part I get lazy about is the dishes cleanup part… my husband is really good at doing these for me :). Thanks for stopping by @abhijung and welcome to the community!

P.s. I know there is no pumpkin in this recipe but didn’t want to exclude it from the festivities.

I was going to check if my english is ok. 😂

Haha… your English is great! Sorry if there was any confusion :) When baking holiday/fall/winter cakes or breads or whatevers, pumpkin is usually my go to ingredient. I thought it would be mean to not, at the very least, name drop it… lol.

Thank you for stopping by @scorer, always a pleasure having you around!

Pumpkin is one of the ingredients that is used to make various meals in winter months. I believe it is no big deal if you use apples or zucchini instead. 😜

For sure- Zucchini is great for sweet breads and apples are very much a staple holiday ingredient for me. I know Pumpkin is usually for winter months but I do tend to make pumpkin breads year round… what can I say… it’s my favorite :)

But did you have to throw the dishes in? Lol :p

Another tasty Adventure 😋 & another "haven't had that before" mmmm

Nice! Thank you @weirdheadaches. The dishes are always the byproduct of my creations. Luckily for me @dandays is really good about helping me out. Sometimes I feel bad though because it’ll look as if I blew up the kitchen 🤷🏼‍♀️ What are ya going do… that’s what it takes :).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11