Dealing with self-fulfiling prophecies

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

I’m reading Martial God Asura right now. I don’t particularly recommend the read, but I enjoy it a lot. I mentioned it before in a previous post, and it has so many thousands of chapters that I still continue reading it every once in a while. The translators are still hard at work translating the novel. They used to do about 2 chapters a day. I don’t know how many they are doing right now, but it should be the same, I suppose.

I’m going to talk about a plotline that includes a prophecy. I think that this plotline starts after chapter 2410 and ends maybe at around chapter 2435. In these chapters, there is a clan called the Kong Heavenly Clan, a prophet called Grandmaster Prophet and the main character, Chu Feng.

Grandmaster Prophet’s prophecies are always fulfiled and Chu Feng is a main character with a remarkably tough plot armour. This means that he will always accomplish whatever he wants because the author has never read about Mary Sue and her inherent faults that usually make novels unreadable. Props to George R R Martin for killing almost everyone, although Jon Snow seems to be leaning a bit hard toward Mary Sue-ishness.

Anyway, Grandmaster Prophet’s prophecies are always fulfiled, and he reads in his magic ball that Chu Feng will destroy the Kong Heavenly Clan. The Clan Chief and his various elders decide to kill Chu Feng in order to protect their clan. Bad move. You can’t kill a Mary Sue and you can’t move against a prophecy’s unavoidability. This self-fulfilling prophecy has become an unbearable trope for me in most fantasy novels, and this one is a particularly painful one.

In the end, Chu Feng gets really angry when the clan tries to murder him after welcoming him as a guest. He then gets possessed by a demon and becomes an unkillable killing machine who massacres the Kong Heavenly Clan and then magically gets enough will force to regain his self-control.

While I read that, I kept thinking that the second obvious move was the best, which was to accept that the Kong Heavenly Clan would be destroyed, to evacuate the facilities and to rename their clan. That way, they would all survive, their legacies and teachings would remain and maybe a couple sacrifices could have been made in order to satiate the plot’s bloodthirst. Maybe then Chu Feng could destroy all the buildings, maybe kill the meanest meanies in the clan and somehow force their Kong identity to dissipate.

This whole conflict leads me to think about a few other self-fulfilling prophecies.

image.png

Harry Potter vs Voldemort

The one with the power to vanquish the Dark Lord approaches ... Born to those who have thrice defied him, born as the seventh month dies ... And the Dark Lord will mark him as his equal, but he will have power the Dark Lord knows not ... And either must die at the hand of the other for neither can live while the other survives …

First, we have to note that they are bound to be enemies, since one will kill the other at some point, and the “neither can live while the other survives” denotes a conflict that can be manipulated a bit. Voldemort and Harry Potter were clearly alive both at the same time, which means that they were both living and surviving at the same time, so the second meaning would be the true one which would be that they would always be trying to kill one another.

However, it is clearly Voldemort’s fault that he brings Harry Potter into his lair all the time, he shows him all the clues and gets himself killed in the end. If he hadn’t tried to reverse the prophecy (why would anyone do this? If the prophecy is always right, you can only try to negotiate how it happens, not if it happens), he wouldn’t have gotten himself killed so early.

Causing your own demise

As the definition of self-fulfilling prophecy says, these prophecies are not usually true per se in the timeline where the prophecy does not exist. It is the prophecy instead that causes the event to happen. In this case, the prophecy makes Voldemort aware of a new threat. He has spent his whole life creating Horcruxes in order to be immortal and then someone tells him that he’s going to die. His greatest fear approaches and he obsessively tries to fight against these waves without stopping for one second to think that he can try to negotiate with the prophecy instead of fighting against it.

I think that the negotiation part is essential to people who are aware of self-fulfilling prophecies. I don’t think I’ll be including prophecies in my writings, since they are very burdensome, but if you are reading this because you’d like to include a prophecy in your fiction, consider that anyone who is certain that a prophecy will be fulfilled would try at least to find satisfactory alternatives to the resolution.

Another self-fulfilling prophecy right of the top of my head is Narnia’s White Witch situation, where they tell her that she’s going to die by the hand of four humans who will become the rulers of her world. It must be very agonising, but if we take a step back and observe the situation, we’ll notice that the first impulsive action to fight against it is not the right choice, since we’ll be bringing the calamity upon ourselves. But I guess that negotiating with a prophecy and consciously making it be fulfiled in a certain way could have the potential of becoming an annoying trope too.

It’s a hard topic, but I’m sure that with enough thought, we can make the fulfilment of a prophecy have some interesting twists and turns that don’t seem taken right out of a cliche children’s fantasy story with a super evil king and a super goody-two-shoes protagonist.

Sort:  

nice share will download on kindle

I'm not sure it's on Kindle. Care to share the link?

Great start!

I’m reading Martial God Asura right now. I don’t particularly recommend the read, but I enjoy it a lot.

The idea of self-fulling prophecy is also quite applicable beyond the sphere of fairy tales. We doom ourselves everyday with ideas that we "can't" do something or a destined to fail...

We always condition ourselves with our expectations of how the world works and what our duties are. I've had students not study because they think that the topic is hard, but once they start, they get good grades and tell me how simple it all is. What is hard is convinging them of how easy it is once an effort is made.

I've seen this all over the place and it's good that you mention it, since I had forgotten it a little.

The self fulfilling prophecies are one of my favorite devices, but I think it has to be done well. Actually the prophecy of the chosen one is just yawn in my opinion. I don't think that's so much self fulfilling as much as a non negotiable prophecy that's just going to say the good guy is going to beat the bad guy.

To Harry Potter's credit, at least that prophecy is slightly ambiguous where there is room to interpret the final outcome (I think at some point they were playing with the idea that both characters were inevitably doomed but.... )

My favorite instance is the Greek tragedy about Oedipus and it is just so well woven.

Also I never heard about Mary Sue. That's a fun read.

I don't think that's so much self fulfilling as much as a non negotiable prophecy that's just going to say the good guy is going to beat the bad guy.

Yup yup! That's exactly what it is hahaha, it's very boring indeed, but the author does it over and over.

I think at some point they were playing with the idea that both characters were inevitably doomed but

I don't think it's possible. There is no room for ambiguity, since it says "And the Dark Lord will mark him as his equal, but he will have power the Dark Lord knows not ..."

This always leads, in literature, to the villain's underestimation of the main character. The character, like a typical Mary Sue, will discover the ultimate weapon, and regardless of what it is, the villain will say "no, I'm more powerfulllllll!!!!" and attack anyway, even though the prophecy clearly says that there is room for underestimation, and boop, ded.

What would be interesting would be trying to discover what it is that Voldemort didn't know that Harry had. Was it "the power of friendship/love"? Dunno, but that seemed to be a theme in the novels.

My favorite instance is the Greek tragedy about Oedipus and it is just so well woven.

We read a lot about that at uni when we were learning literary criticism. It's a really interesting one. :) I've always loved analysing these tales of prophecies and time travel paradoxes.

I've been hearing some really good reviews about Martial God Asura from people, would you recommend me to read. I like dark main characters and dark stories like Berserk overall.

Hmmm, kinda, the character, at least in the first volumes, is just like that. He unleashes enormous massacres and does all sorts of evils in the name of some weird and twisted sense of justice.

However, where I'm reading right now, he's starting to have a lot more morals. He lets a lot more people go whereas his child self would have killed them and their families.

If you're into this kind of light novels, then yeah! I'd recommend it. But it's hard to read due to the repetitions and filler text (the author needs to fill a quota, so he just writes a lot of trash when he's not inspired). However, the good parts are really good in my opinion.

What I love about MGA is not the plot or the design of the character but the fact that the author has a big imagination for world creation. I love closing my eyes after a description and imagining it all.

I definitely then have to give this a go. Hopefully some artist picks it up and translates it into a Manhua soon 😣.

The Three Stooges/crystal ball illustration cracked me up. Well played.

I was looking for a crystal ball, so when I saw the magic-8 ball, I also laughed and immediately uploaded it. <3

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Whether somebody can really predict anybody's future why not predict his own future then

Well, in the case of the novel I mentioned, that person does read his own future quite often. :) But the "magic ball" usually just tells him whatever it wants and doesn't pay much attention to the owner's future.

There was a case where he was trying to open a big spirit door and he and his friends failed a bunch of times. Then the ball told him that the door would be open by a chosen one. And so they just waited for the chosen one to open it in order to try to get in. :P

Thank you for the clarification, yes you are right there are some chosen ones

Congratulation cryptosharon! Your post has appeared on the hot page after 3min with 12 votes.

These prophecies are interesting how they are designed from an intelligent mind but are often only seen in books and movies

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94