The Silent Ones

in #fiction5 years ago

He walked into town with insecure steps and a hallucinated look, a beard and tangled hair, clothes turned into rags, a rotten hat, a rusty machete and a heavy sack on his shoulder.

He arrived at mid-morning, exhausted and sweaty, stinking to old sweat, damp earth and fresh sap, walked slowly, looking both sides of the street, staring at the buildings, contemplating those who sat idle at the doors of the houses and muttering to himself.


Source


He reached "The Argonauts," as they also called the trading house Hilder & Co -store, greek library, bar- sat on the polished stump from the rubbing of heavy trousers under the shadow of the huge rubber tree and there he stood, motionless, self-absorbed, hallucinated.

Ciriaco Hilder observed him in the idle moments he had while running his business, in that village of hard adventurers he never saw anyone in such a state of abandonment, it seemed that his hair had never known the barber's blade and his clothes had melted with his skin.

Certainly, to this town of travellers and adventurers always arrived strange men, adventurers of gold and rubber, men who came from the civilization looking for fortune or fleeing to the lost villages of Canaima. Silent and suspicious natives also arrived, miners with their eyes dehumanized by a long stay in the dark jungle; but this one was totally different from the others.

Ciriaco, "Childerico" for his friends, continued his work weighing grains, cutting fabrics, selling tobacco branches. Meanwhile, the quiet man wandered his gaze from here to there, incredulous. The customers, upon seeing him, unconsciously made a small detour to avoid the strange man and entered the store to do their shopping. Many asked Ciriaco about him, to which Hilder could not answer, because he knew nothing.

At lunchtime, Ciriaco left his job behind the table and approached the man. He sat next to him on another stump, offered him a plate of food and spoke to him:

-Good afternoon sir, I don't think I have the pleasure of meeting you," said Ciriaco, trying to be as polite as possible. I am Ciriaco Hilder, owner of this humble shop that I like to call "The Argonauts," can I do something for you?

The man stared at him for a moment that seemed eternal to Ciriaco. After a while, he seemed satisfied and replied:

-Of course you know me, Ciriacus. Although I don't know what happened to you, you've aged very quickly. I'm Ulysses Guanipa, don't remember me? What happened to the store? How did the tree grow so fast? said the bearded man, looking at Ciriaco with crazy eyes and a completely sane voice.

-Ulysses Guanipa? the same Ulysses Guanipa from whom I bought gold twenty years ago?

Ciriaco fixed his attentive gaze on the little skin that allowed the tangled beard to be seen, then he observed the restless black eyes, the wide forehead and the crooked nose, at the end, he recognized him despite the big changes after the meticulous examination. Minutes later, after defeating his disbelief, he asked.

-Ulysses, is that really you? We thought you were dead, killed in the bend of a river, killed by the bite of a snake or malaria. Where have you been these twenty years?

-Twenty years? 20 years passed? How can that be possible?

-Yes, Ulysses, it's been twenty years. The Adarvin´s are gone, the town have grown as you have seen, look at the rubber tree I will soon have to have knocked down, it's been twenty years since I last saw you. Where have you been?

-Ciriaco, it can't have been twenty years since I left.

-I'm not lying, Ulysses, twenty years you've been absent. Where have you been?

-You won't believe me, I cannot believe it myself or explain the changes in the town, but I'll tell you anyway. But first you must promise to remain silent until I have left this town. You must swear to remain silent.

-Ulysses, I won't say anything you tell me, you can trust me. I swear on my mother.

Ulysses took a deep breath, hesitating, then he shrugged, perhaps resigned, and at last, after a moment to organize his thoughts, he began:

Do you remember that man from the village who didn't talk to anyone, the man who sometimes slept in that adobe shack about to fall? No one knew his name, he arrived silent one day to the village and settled in the abandoned shack. I was always curious, who was that quiet man, when he was in the village slept until noon and disappeared to return weeks later?

He didn't talk to anyone, always silent. No one knew him,,he came to the village, bought you provisions, rested for a few days in the village and returned to the mountain. On several occasions I coincided with him here, but despite my attempts I never managed to start a conversation.

Others were also intrigued with the man, in the mine, playing cards with miners from other villages, I found out that the man also went to their villages and maintained exactly the same strange behavior. He arrived for a few days, bought provisions and returned to the jungle. Silent.


Source


Curiosity made me follow his steps. I smelled something strange in the way he acted, why this effort to remain away from others? why did he not talk to anyone? why his lengthy absences? where did he get the gold with which he paid his expenses? I came to this conclusion, the man had discovered a mine and was exploiting it, on his own, silent.

So I set out to discover his secret. I didn't tell anyone what I was going to do. I waited until he returned to the village, filled my bag with provisions and watched over his shack so that I could follow him when he came out in the dark. The first night it didn't come out, nor the second. I thought I was suspicious of my intentions but had no way of deducing what I intended to do, so I decided to try again.

On the third night, in the deepest darkness the man slipped out of the cabin. He looked around attentively but the darkness in which he trusted to hide his comings and goings hid me from his sight. He carried a sack on his shoulder, adjusted the machete in the sheath hanging from his waist and made his way to the mountain, following a path of tapirs. I chased him silently, sweaty with my machete in hand and the revolver on the belt, trying to make as little noise as possible. Silent.

I walked after him all night, following the path of tapirs, praying in silence, asking God not to be attacked by the beasts whose rumor I heard closer and closer. At dawn, he crossed a stream and entered a clearing full of orchids with a large rubber tree fallen in the middle. The enormous roots of the fallen tree left in sight the entrance to a small cave where the man, after looking around, entered. I waited hidden among the trees, vigilant, silent.


Source


At the end of the afternoon I saw him come out, sweaty and exhausted, the formerly light sack now seemed extremely heavy despite not having much inside. I let it go, in the utmost silence. I spent the night there, in the middle of the jungle, at the mercy of the beasts fearing their return. At dawn I convinced myself that he had gone and I decided to enter among the roots of the tree.

It was a small opening of moist soil, the roots were like beams to keep the entrance open. I slid inside, hunched over not to hit the ceiling, about 5 meters later, in full darkness, I lit my lantern and its light revealed to me the rock of the ceiling and the walls, with chisel marks here and there. I moved a little further, crawling along a small passageway that ended in a wide gallery. It was a polished rock, shining in the light of my lamp with the reflections of gold shining on the walls.

I lost track of time, spent hours working with hammer and chisel, piling to one side the largest gold nuggets I could imagine. I lost my appetite, the fever took hold of me, and the foul air made me falter. I think I fainted.

When I woke up, without the slightest idea of how long I had fainted, the fever had disappeared and the lamp had gone out, I turned it on and understood the need to get out of there as soon as possible. I filled the bag with everything I could carry and crawled back outside. That was this morning.

Ciriaco looked at him incredulously. Ulysses noticed.

-Good story Ulysses, now seriously tell me, where were you?

Ulysses didn't answer, he looked around, beckoned Ciriacus to come closer, and for a moment he opened the sack.

Ulysses left the next day, never to return. Ciriaco sold his business at the cheap price of a skinny hen and went to Caracas, where he lived for many prosperous years, thanks to a plate of food, his good reputation, listening to a crazy story and keeping silent.


Licencia de Creative Commons
Esta obra está bajo una licencia de Creative Commons Reconocimiento-NoComercial-SinObraDerivada 4.0 Internacional

Sort:  

Me encanta tu forma de escribir. Tienes un particular estilo de narrar que encuentro muy disfrutable, siempre que he tenido la oportunidad de leerte ha sido un gusto, pues considero que eres un escritor prolífico con muy buenas ideas, las cuales desarrollas con notable experticia... ¡Mis felicitaciones por tu nuevo curie major vote! (:

Gracias! No sabes cuanto me alegra que mis escritos te sean entretenidos y reconocibles, creo que leer debe ser entretenido y lograr que un lector no se aburra al primer párrafo tiene su dificultad. Pero creo que incluso más importante es que con la practica mi estilo se ha hecho reconocible, es decir, una de las cosas más complicadas de lograr a la hora de escribir es encontrar "la voz propia", todo escritor novel tiende a imitar a sus ídolos y dejar de hacerlo es complejo pues muchas veces uno no nota que lo hace, simplemente lo hace y luego, al releer algún viejo cuento se da cuenta que es una mala copia de alguno de sus heroes.
Por eso agradezco a la plataforma, a la comunidad y a todos los que se han tomado un momento para leer y comentar alguno de mis cuentos.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jcalero from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi jcalero,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thanks! I really appreciate it!

It's an enjoyable fantasy story, a nice read :).
                   
Congratulations for your curie vote ^_^.

Thanks! I´m glad you enjoy it!

Es bueno ver como los venezolanos que hacemos vida en steemit damos lo mejor de nosotros para crear contenido de calidad...

felicitaciones por tu voto curie mi estimado... saludos desde Barquisimeto.

muy agradable la lectura. Le echaste un camión de ganas xD.. en que te inspiraste ? debieras contactar a alguien para convertirlo en novela gráfica. eso seria genial. de seguro en esta plataforma consigues a alguien.

Gracias! La inspiración vino del cuento de Nathaniel Hawthorne "Rip Van Winkle" (excelente) donde un personaje desaparece durante 20 años pero él piensa que solo ha pasado una noche. Esa idea me hizo preguntarme donde podía ubicar una historia donde el personaje desapareciera y pensé en la selva amazónica; eso me recordó Canaima, la novela de Romulo Gallegos, al que le hago un pequeño homenaje con el nombre de la tienda y su dueño (Los Argonautas y Childerico son suyos).
También tomo elementos como una anécdota que escuché o leí (creo que en Canaima también) donde hablan de la fundación de "El Callao", porque según los cuentos, quién descubrió la mina la explotó durante muchos años, pero para hacerlo, debió permanecer "callao".
Así que tomé ideas de un cuento americano clásico, una novela venezolana, leyendas locales y un poco de imaginación y al final, nació este cuento.

Chamo pero estas rompiendola de nuevo, incluso con la respuesta me dejas impresionado con todos esos datos que de verdad no conocia. y eso que soy venezolano... tu ingenio se vio recompensado y eso es bueno. sigue escribiendo. tienes una imaginacion bestial... toma mi consejo haz una novela... yo la compraria.

Gracias de nuevo, pero creo que exageras un poco, seguiré escribiendo porque disfruto mucho hacerlo pero honestamente una novela son palabras mayores, necesita mucha dedicación y honestamente no me siento capaz de meterme en semejante proyecto todavía, pero quizá en el futuro lo intente!

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, such a good story! I was wondering, but who are the silent ones? And then it hit me haha Is this kinda based on real events or persons? Because I think I've hear that name, Ulises Guanipa, somewhere before.

I spent some two magical weeks at El Paují a few years ago and your story really took me back among the rivers, the wet jungle, the sudden rock and mineral formations, the nightly beast sounds, but over all the silence, eternal, palpable... Man, I want to go back ahaha

Thanks for an amazing piece!

Thank you very much, I´m glad you enjoy it... BTW, I never been there, I always wanted to go but I have to wait a lot until I can.
The name came from Ulysses from Homer´s "The Odyssey" (20 years missing) and the last name I took it from a character from Romulo Gallego´s "La Trepadora", so no, is not a real person, but maybe there is some "real events".
There is a town "El Callao" (something like The Silent), that was funded near a gold mine, the name, as people say came from the man who find it and never tell anyone (callao), so he could take all the gold he wanted without anyone disturbing him, until someone curious (as Ulysses) follow him and discover his secret, so I made a story based on that legend and some other ideas that I took here and there, like Nathaniel Hawthorne´s "Rip Van Winkle" (the character missing for a long time without notice it) and Gallego´s "Canaima" (the store, the owner of the store).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27