Finish the Story Contest - Week #50! - The Abysmal Biscuit, My Ending

This is my entry for the Finish the Story Week #50 contest run by @bananafish. For more details on the contest and the @bananafish community check out the original contest post, Finish the Story Contest - Week #50!

I managed to use 746 words instead of the recommended 500 words. It seems like a number I just won't be able to hit.


The Abysmal Biscuit


by @F3nix

The awareness of the box's contents dripped slowly in Joelle's mind, coagulating like a graceless Rorschach's blot. Bones. Tiny tapered bones, standing out against the mahogany bottom.

The unusual item jolted on the worn chair, reacting to the vibrations of the old diesel-powered train. The convoy, the last of his lineage, still fulfilled its duty along the Brașov-Sighișoara route allowing students to return to their homes every weekend. To the rhythm of joints and sleepers, the whiteness of the remains continued to dance tremulously before the eyes of the young woman as the frames of her glasses slipped slowly from her nose.

In a tinkling clink of bracelets, the student closed the lid of the box and moved away as far as possible from it, crushing herself against the seat's padding. The lazy air of the air conditioner stuck to the bottom of her dry throat an acrid plastic taste.

And then she saw him. The old passenger had returned and was staring at her through the windows that led from the corridor of the car to the cabin. She listened to her own scream erupting and fill the cramped cab.

"I didn't want to scare you, young lady."

"N-not scared, don't worry". Somehow, Joelle managed to gather the few polite words her manners demanded. She could not have said how long he had been watching and if he had seen where curiosity had taken her. The glasses, temples up in the air, laid on the seat beside her.

The old man was tall and lanky, his burnished skin resembled the ancient scales of a dragon. Dressed in work trousers and a raw cotton shirt, he gave the impression of being one of those peasants whose families had inhabited the Carpathians for centuries.

Joelle's gaze passed involuntarily from the man to the funeral urn disguised as a biscuit tin: the representation of a merry-go-round in a lacquered colored wood and graceful workmanship. The children were swirling with their bent busts, perhaps because of the speed of the carousel. Their mouths were wide open and their hands clung to the poles skewering the horses. With a lump in her throat, she remembered the fleeting memory of just a few hours before, when a train was huffing at the central station and a gentle old man asked her help because he couldn't open the cabin door. She felt like something ruined down from her lungs to her guts.

"I see that you like my craft" In the silence, she could detect the old man's fingers caressing the box inlays.

"It's delicious. A gift for a grandchild?"Joelle realized only now that the object was his only baggage. In the warm twilight, the colors of lacquered wood seemed even more lively. The conifers thickened on the sides of the train, sliding quickly to the edges of her field of vision.

"Oh. A gift, says the young lady. Like a toy, perhaps? ” The old man's eyes were two black bottomless pits. His gaze had slowly become vitreous like that of a deep-water fish, yet at the same time penetrating.

"Yes, a toy. I like how you see it, miss." The passenger continued, his voice getting thinner.

Only then, Joelle realized where they were heading: the train had just passed the old mill and would soon pass through the tunnels beneath the mountain.

"You may have noticed how I depicted all these children. Observe, miss, between a horse and the other: they are not alone." By pronouncing the last vowel, which he abnormally prolonged, his voice tone had become a slow and drawling rattle.

It was still too early for the wagons' lights to turn on and the tunnels were preparing to swallow the convoy.
A sound of nails carving into the wood tore the thoughts of the young student.


Image: Pixabay

Here is my ending to the story:

The entire car became darkened. The only light was the faint glimmer of the safety lights along the edges of the corridor. Joelle noticed that the old man's eyes, previously black as the inside of this tunnel, now had a bit of a glow about them. While this sent her into a panic briefly, she felt a calm take over her entire being as she stared into them. Joelle asked the old man where he was headed.

He replied somberly, "Home again."

"Why were you in Brasov?"

"My former wife passed away. We buried her yesterday."

Joelle briefly wondered if the bones could be his wife's, but then realized they were much too small. Fishing for more information, she asked if he'd made the box for his wife.

The old man turned away as he responded, "No; for my daughter, actually."

Joelle could see one tear escape from his eye. It was becoming clear that the finely-crafted box was where the remains of his young daughter lived.

The convoy now had begun to emerge from the other side of the tunnel. Everything became brightly lit once again. Joelle's eyes squinted while they adjusted. The only change in the old man's eyes was now they seemed even more entrancing to her.

A conductor then went walking by shouting, "Next stop, 4 minutes, Rupea Gară station. Transfers to Sibiu, and Transylvania. Please have your tickets ready."

The old man began gathering his things as he said, "That's my station. One more train and a carriage ride, and I will be home."

"Where is home?"

"A mountain estate that I inherited in Transylvania." Staring deeper into Joelle's eyes he continued, "Would you like to join me?"

There was an uneasy silence that seemed to last forever before Joelle replied in a monotonous tone, "Yes, I shall join you."

The two transferred to the Transylvania-bound train. Joelle's ticket didn't cost much more as they would be seated in the private compartment the old man had already purchased for the trip. The train rumbled from the station. With stops in Cata and Palos, their trip would take another 90 minutes. Joelle finally gathered the nervous courage to ask about the bones in the mahogany box. "Is that your daughter in the box?"

The old man took a very deep breathe and began to explain.

"Yes, my dear Claudia. She was taken from me when she was just five years old"

"How did she die?"

Before she could finish that sentence, the old man lashed out, "She did not DIE. She was killed . . . by a monster! He would have killed my Anne as well if I hadn't agreed to go with him to Transylvania and become his servant."

"I'm sorry." Joelle whispered.

"Sorry, my child. I didn't mean to frighten you. It is just very hard to talk about. Even though it was 63 years ago, it seems like it was yesterday that I had to watch that man drain the life from my Claudia." As the old man got more and more emotional, the years literally seemed to melt from his face. Joelle's expression became puzzled as she noticed a much younger man emerging from the old man with blackened eyes she met earlier in the day.

"63 years ago? How old are you?"

"The years tick away. The number of days in this life no longer matter." He then continued his story. "I returned to the evil man's castle. The Castle Dracul. I lived out my days doing his bidding. Every day I envisioned taking out my revenge on him, but I was not the only servant in the castle. Finally, one day I was alone with him as he slept. I had broken off a piece of wood from one of the boxes of desecrated earth that he used while traveling and sharpened it for months, dreaming of the day I would get retribution for my little Claudia. That stormy afternoon, I drove the stake through his evil heart, but not before he had made me one of his own so many years before. Now I am the Master of Castle Dracul, and you are my new concubine."

At that moment, the conductor walked past the compartment shouting, "Transylvania Station. Last stop. Transylvania Station."

Joelle now sat terrified, yet feeling for the suddenly younger-looking and attractive man. A small part of her felt excited for what the future may hold for her, and her new Master.


I hope you all enjoyed my ending to this week's #finishthestory. Let me know what you think in the comments. Be sure to go check out the @bananafish community!

Sort:  

Joelle is very optimistic about what is going to happen to her. 8-)

Well I think she admired him after hearing his story and how he sacrificed himself for his wife, and then avenged his daughter... and it didn't hurt that he was now the younger looking and attractive vampire.

Novum kalium pirata.png

Congratulations, you've been selected to receive a 100% potassium enriched upvote from the @bananafish!

We are a safe harbor for every writer and poet. Freedom, solidarity, quality, inclusion: these are our values. Keep an eye on our weekly contests and grow with us in a friendly environment!

Join us! Here's your key to access the Bananafish Realms.

"A mountain estate that I inherited in Transylvania." Staring deeper into Joelle's eyes he continued, "Would you like to join me?"

There was an uneasy silence that seemed to last forever before Joelle replied in a monotonous tone, "Yes, I shall join you."

Off to Dracula's castle, she goes!

LOL!

Congratulations @randomwanderings! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 80 posts. Your next target is to reach 90 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

The old man is actually the new Dracula? You should have described more how handsome he is when he becomes young again, that would please me :D.

Yes, he became the new Dracula after killing the previous one who had killed his daughter. After reading the start of the story and seeing the Carpathian mountains mentioned I searched to find the two cities mentioned where the train line was running. Once I saw there was a spot on the route that was just a 30 minute drive to Transylvania I knew what direction my story had to go.

I was going to go into more detail about the change in looks, but was already over 700 words and was supposed to do 500 words. I suppose at that point I might as well have added more. lol

Congrats @randomwanderings for your accurate research, which gave coherence and depth to your story. You must know that I was actually planning a trip to the Carpathians with Mrs. F3nix. Looks like they're an interesting and off the beaten track travel destination. I loved your Dracula's sequel and how the innocent Joelle has been lured.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi randomwanderings,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

A fine idea to utilize the history of the setting to give us this great ending and congratulations on the well deserved Curie vote! 😎

One thing that sets your story apart from the others is the history of the man, revealed to be the new Master of Castle Dracul. His heartbreaking journey of the loss of his sweet little Claudia and servitude to a monster arouses empathy from both Joelle and readers. His role is elevated to more than simply 'the villain', which is a track many entries have taken.

Though the story ends with Joelle trapped in a role as his new concubine, his sharing has lessened her fear. (I did have a chuckle when mention was made of his attractiveness. I'm sure his being so made the pill easier to swallow. 😉)

~Bris

Reacción (Reaction): Well, I am kind of late to the commenting party but I decided to finally catch up on this as I should have like a few days ago. Anywho, I look forward to your entry in the recent edition of Finish the Story this week with calluna and gaby-crb (Galluna-CRB) on the deck with this week's prompt. That's the hope anyways. But without further ado, let me finally read into and make a comment for this post finally - had some malignant no more commenting impulses in me for a while.

La filosofía (The Philosophy): Okay, me llamo- jajaja. Yah thought I would do it in Spanish, nie. Let's get some fish fried now. In some semblance of my current mental instability I do just want to write this off as some anti-villian outlook to the Vampire-Dracula stories. (Which that very much on the hatred of Bourgeois-Feudal ruling class people if I were to believe my Slavic brethren, but also believe that another inspiration was Wallachian's very own Prince/King Vlad the Impaler that was called Dracul which meant Dragon as well. Interesting World we live in socially-culturally.) But yet the anti-villian status granted on this Neo-Dracula doesn't guarantee that, unlike what other commentors stated, innocent status of our protagonist. We can easily see her consciously screwy at the very end and I like to propose Vampire-Magicry is at the helm of unconsciously manipulating her to join - especially with the fact we are not dealing with glitter Vampires yet someone that can survive sunlight (often God, tak that uppercase G God, or the Truth or mass proletarian power if I were to believe my fellow Slavic people). But even with the fact of this anti-villianry, we are still left with that reflection of Bourgeois-Feudal potrayals of the original Dracula, no matter how fragmented it had became - concubinage retained from the Feudal aspect and endless need from you know what if I were to pull up my Slavic people again. Makes me wonder why Neo-Dracula awaited for a new concubine that being her when that Vampiric magicry could've easily worked on elsewhere, then again which doesn't necessarily exclude her as well so I shall shut up on this point.

La forma (The Form): Probably the thing that I most definitely enjoyed is those subtle points of trope with Dracula emerging in this story, especially the Transylvannia aspect being evoked to the air like it is as normal as saying the word "I" itself. It had definitely built upon the Vampire aspects that I leaned in closely to the screen now; yet equally was I lured into the Dracula revenge story and felt the mediation of the established facts making me wonder what ole Dracula did to travelling Old Man while thinking him a Neo-Dracula. And I loved that my suspicions just getting confirmed and confirmed like spreading butter on toast makes it just that better of a toast to eat on. Still, if there's one aspect as I noted in my section of "La filosofía" is that on Joelle herself. She isn't presented as oogly-eyed "I WANT TO [expunged]!!!!~ <3" or "Oh woe is me!!!!~ DX" but a person that has been manipulated (in my reading to the unconscious levels) but still consciously freaking out. Still, the concubine culture is a thing I want to impale in the heart so much that I might just impale the impalement afterwards - yet your story avoids the fucking fine line and I am grateful for that. <<<<3333!!!!~

So obviously congratulations on that @curie (you curie curator-), keep on wriitng (hope yah see my entry :D :D :D :D) and happy steeming!!!!~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61906.25
ETH 2905.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64