ADSactly Food - Next Level Rice Krispie Treats

in #food6 years ago

cover working file.jpg

Today's recipe is a play on the traditional Rice Krispies Treats. I say traditional as it really has become ingrained in our Western culture. Kelloggs introduced the now famous Rice Krispies cereal in 1927, along with the much-loved mascots, Snap, Crackle and Pop.

IMG_3872.jpg

This is one of the first tv commercials ever made, way back in 1939. Watch as Snap, Crackle and Pop take on Soggy, Mushy and Toughy


Source

Later, in 1963, The Rolling Stones wrote a song for a commercial. How iconic!


Source

IMG_3873.jpg

So, follow along as I reinvent the world's favourite sweet treat. I always loved these treats, but thought they were very sweet, and sticky. While the chocolate ganache is super rich, it luxuriously rounds off the sickly sweetness of the marshmallows. The Rice Krispies are perfectly crunchy and have a really great texture. Don't skip the butter, even add more if you like, as it adds a lovely depth to the flavour.

IMG_3879.jpg

May I present "Next Level Rice Krispie Treats"

INGREDIENTS

Rice Krispies Treat Base

  • 6 cups rice crispies
  • 2 T butter
  • 300 g marshmallows

Chocolate Ganache

  • 1 cup of heavy cream
  • 300g dark chocolate

IMG_3881.jpg

METHOD

In a large pot, melt the butter. Add the marshmallows and let the mixture melt completely.

IMG_3850.jpg

Line a deep dish with wax paper, and grease the wax paper with butter or a bit of oil. (Do not skip this step! This is sticky business we are dealing with here).

Push the rice krispie mixture into the wax paper lined dish, and spread it, pushing down with a metal spoon, coated in butter. If you find the mixture is setting too quickly, pop it back on the hob at a very low heat.

Once you have your mixture firmly in place, leave to set.

IMG_3861.jpg

In the meanwhile, you can start on your ganache. Our ratio today is 1:1, as we are after a thick, almost fudge-like texture.

Place a glass dish over a saucepan with water in, making sure the glass dish fits the saucepan perfectly, we do not want in any steam escaping. This is how to make a quick at home double boiler or Bain Marie.

IMG_3855.jpg

Add the cream to the glass dish, and let it warm up. Once warmed, add your chocolate. The finer it is chopped, the quicker it will melt. Whisk well until fully incorporated, with no pieces of chocolate are left.

IMG_3859.jpg

Next, leave the mixture to cool a little. You can even put the ganache in the freezer for about ten minutes, to thicken up. Once it has reached a thick consistency, similar to fudge, whisk it for a few minutes before spreading over the Rice Krispie mixture. Leave to set.

Once it has set (this should take about half an hour), you can cut the mixture into squares to serve.

IMG_3880.jpg

IMG_3872.jpg

I hope you guys enjoyed this recipe! Please do let me know in the comments if you make the recipe.

Lots of love x

footer.jpg

Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

CLICK HERE TO JOIN OUR DISCORD

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Sort:  

Dear mam congratulations to you for recalling those time of cartoon ads and it's interesting how they represent their Rice Krispies and I enjoyed the song of Stones although I didn't catch many thing maybe not familiar to hear this type of songs.
Let's come to your delicious and healthy bite of krispies I will show it to my sister maybe she will be interested to made this delicious recipe which is very exciting.
I wish you many many thanks for making this evening delicious for adsactly community healthier and a tasty break of tomorrow.

Today's recipe looks interesting and delicious as always. I like what you use as a basis for the traditional. I do not taste Western traditions, but now I know about it thanks to you and the video you attached. It is interesting.
Now I'm away and I can not afford to cook such dishes :) But I have already collected some of your recipes that I plan to make for myself. I think that this recipe will also add to the collection of recipes. It looks amazing and not difficult to prepare. The main thing is not to miss a step in which you should grease the wax paper. I think that the components of problems can not be.
Great recipe, as always. Thank you, I really liked

You know, that's what I was thinking when I was writing the post - that my traditional food is not everyone elses. Very interesting.

You are very right - DO NOT skip the greasing of the paper, do it liberally, as the mixture is extremely sticky, and if you don't, the paper will stick to the mixture.

Let me know which recipes you try, and how they go xxx

Ohhhhhhhh. One of my favorite 'Mom Made' treats from the 50s. This looks so good it's almost unbelievable.

Alas, I'll never make this recipe due to dietary restrictions. Doesn't mean I won't dream about it tonight, just that I'll never make it.

Thanks. It is a terrific recipe with great photography. Almost as much a joy to read as to eat.

thanks so much! You can have one once a year surely? Jussst oneee!

I'm a vegetarian and I found at in the health food section at the grocery store where I shop gelatin free marshmallows that are the same texture as regular marshmallows and are very tasty. I've actually made this version of rice Krispy treats with the gelatin free marshmallows and they came out great! The store had both regular size and miniature gelatin free ones. I tried the marshmallows fluff for these treats a coulee of years and the fluff just doesn't work and the treats are very soft, not set like with regular marshmallows. Tonight I'm going to make these but I'm going to use the chocolate rice Krispy cereal instead.

oh cool! I saw marshmallow fluff when I was at the store, but I did think it was too soft. Now I know.

let me know how it goes with the chocolate cereal - I would think if you added a bit of extra vanilla to the marshmallow mix it would be amazing!

Can't believe that you made it from scratch. Amazing!

I for one have never eaten this in my life but I can imagine the taste. I think if they were eaten together the crispiness of the rice (if fried) stands at odds with the richness of chocolate probably giving it a variety rarely found elsewhere.

Apart from this marshmallow in dough look like a pretty genius idea and with chocolate it probably becomes irresistible.

PS: Never before had I seen the two advertisements of old before. This post was filled with new things for me. Keep it up and thanks!

awesome! glad you enjoyed. it's very sweet, crunchy, and the chocolate is rich and smooth. Slightly addictive.

glad you enjoyed

It looks really tasty :-)

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

Great, now I'm craving these treats and all I have in my office is a granola bar and an expired bag of funyuns.

that sounds terrible! wish i could send you treats via the block chain x

. I think the marshmallows were old but I didn't think that would matter. It turned in to a solid blob on the bottom of the pan. Thinking that was the way it was supposed to be I dumped it over the Rice Krispies and smashed it into the pan. The result was a dry, rock hard atrocity that the dog wouldn't even eat. It went straight in to the trash and we went out and bought a box of them already made. Much better and way simpler!

hehehehe oh shame! I am sorry to hear that. Thanks for this hilarious comment!

Cooking I'm good at but baking...not so much. Rice crispies are a top favorite of mine and I stop at any bake sale I see on the hunt for rice crispies because I can never get it right, but I will try again 🙂

it's really easy! You should definitely give it another try x 🙂🙂🙂

Mouth watering recipe from Ms. Princess. Sweets have been a part of human culture and love for chocolate and sweets is not new. We human love to eat sweet things. Even big animal like elephant loves to eat sugarcane and bear is also fond of honey.
I hope my wife would cook this delicious krispie rice treat for me ( I am too lazy to take this initiative and also I am not a good cook). Hoping to have something sweets in a day or two and see myself as a bear feeding on honey.

hehe it's the bear necessities right?

Ha ha! What else a bear can expect!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65