Healthy Eating | Yucca Root? Mango Bread with Apple Goji Compote

in #food5 years ago

DSC_0086 (2).jpg

What do Mangoes and Yucca Root have in common?


DSC_0007 (2).jpg

Actually, nothing…but hold on!


Today they are going to get up close and personal! We’re making a breakfast or snack using both and I think you’ll be surprised!


We all know what Mangoes are, but you may ask, what is a Yucca?


Yucca is a root vegetable which grows in subtropical climates like Mexico and South America. It is much like a potato, rich in carbohydrates, fiber and Vitamin C. Yucca is used to boost your immunity, and Native Americans have used Yucca to ease arthritis for many years. It is great for your skin and hair; you’ll find Yucca added to many shampoos and lotions. What a versatile vegetable!


Yucca can be mashed, fried or used in soups and stews, but today we’re trying something different! A relatively inexpensive vegetable, one medium root cost around 1 USD.


todaysjourney.jpg

Mango Bread!


  • Yucca Root (1 medium)
  • Oatmeal (1 cup)
  • Chia Egg (1)
  • Mango (1)
  • Flax Seed (1/4 cup)
  • Cinnamon (1/2 teaspoon)
  • Garam Masala (1/2 teaspoon)
  • Cardamom (1/2 teaspoon)

This bread uses no refined sugar, dairy and is gluten free! We’ll use Chia eggs to bind the bread. But first we need to shred the yucca root! If you like, you can blend the Oats to make a fine flour, this will create a fine texture with your bread. It's up to you! Either way works!


Wash and peel the Yucca root and shred the yucca in your favorite food processor using the shredding blade. This root made about 4 cups of shredded yucca.

DSC_0009 (2).jpg


Blend the peeled Mango along with all of the spices in your blender until smooth and creamy. See the sweet Mango will give your bread a slight sweet mango-y taste! Yum!


DSC_0019 (2).jpg


Combine all ingredients with 3 cups of shredded Yucca in a bowl. Make sure everything is well incorporated. Sure, you can use your hands to mix!


DSC_0021 (2).jpg


You can either pour this in a muffin tin or cake pan, bake at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes or until golden brown.


DSC_0035 (2).jpg

While the bread bakes, we make the Apple Goji Compote!


It’s fall and to me, that means apples! Applesauce, Apple butter, Apple pie and Apple Compote! I’ll probably drive you guys crazy with apples this fall.


I used

  • Fresh Apple (sliced)
  • Maple Syrup (4 tablespoons)
  • Cinnamon (1/2 teaspoon)
  • Ground Cloves (1/4 teaspoon)
  • Non-Dairy Butter (1tablespoon)
  • Dried Goji Berries (1/4 cup)

Combine all except Goji berries in a saucepan and simmer on low heat for about 20 minutes. The apples should soften nicely and your house will smell like a bakery! Add the goji berries and cook for another 10 minutes.


DSC_0076 (2).jpg

Now liberally apply your favorite Vegan Cream cheese and top with the amazing Apple Goji Compote!


DSC_0095 (2).jpg


So tasty, the bread has a slight mango taste, paired with the cream cheese and warm fruit! A true fall breakfast. Make them ahead of time and warm them in the toaster for breakfast! Adding the Yucca will keep you satisfied all morning!


Thanks for stopping by my friends!
And as always, blessings to you all!

loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

Holy Crow. I'm just making my delicious (gack) low carb breakfast and you show me this? I'm dying here!

I am at least familiar with Yucca root. There's quite a lot of it in the vicinity. The Yucca isn't very happy in the real low desert where I live but you don't have to travel far to find it.

What a spectacular and exotic dish. Thank you for it, even if I can't have it. It's the stuff dreams are made of.

hahaha, you really made me laugh this morning! I'm sure you had a wonderful breakfast! We eat very low carbs but since the kids have been here and they eat a lot more than we do...carbs were necessary ;) Now back to the juices!

An interesting combination and looks so good

Thanks @tatoodjay, I love experimenting with new fruits and vegetables ;)

I have noticed that it is so cool and opening me up to new ideas

Another delicious and healthy treat, I just love apples and spice, lucky Mr Bird ;)

Thank you @lizelle, love fall baking...ramping up for the holidays ;) This will be a fun season of baking!

Hi @birdsinparadise, first time i heard of Yucca Root. Thank you for sharing this to us. Oh yes, I love cream cheese very much. Anything paired with cream cheese, it perfect for me :p. Goji Berries, is good for eye sight. This recipe of yours, really nail my taste bud, my mouth watering when i saw how you made it. I definitely will try when i have time.

Thank you, such kind words. Yes, the apple compote was very rich, the cream cheese was wonderful with it! I hope you'll try it! :)

This is one hell of a meal. Well-done. The finished product is seducing my taste buds. This is definitely 'if it looks awesome, it tastes awesome' kind of snack

What do Mangoes and Yucca Root have in common?
Actually, nothing…but hold on!

That intro got me laughing

Congratulations on the curie upvote. It was well deserved

Blessings

Thank you, glad you enjoyed the post! Got to have fun with it right? Appreciate your kind comments :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 301 (11/03/18)

Thank you so much @thesteemengine! Truly appreciate being included in The Daily Whistle!

Hi birdsinparadise,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wow, what a great surprise! Thank you, thank you @curie, I am so honored!

Hi. @birdsinparadise, We have selected your post for the The Best Post. contest for your creativity. Magazeemit rewards your creativity with 1000 SP. for more details enter the link


No way, bring on all of the apples you can muster. I’m such an apple cinnamon freak. Anything that has apples, apple sauce, cinnamon, nutmeg, Christmas, is a winner in my book :). I don’t know how you whip these fantastic treats up @birdsinparadise but you do so so well. I love your creations 😋

Yay, another apple fan, glad to hear! You are way to kind, thank you. I am just starting to gear up for Christmas...my favorite cooking time of year! You too? Love it! This is going to be a fun year!!!!

Oh yes! Christmas is the best for baked goods and candies. Last year I was able to send my great grandma half a loaf of chocolate chip butterscotch pumpkin bread. She devoured it with a huge smile. My mom took video of her eating it and giggling, then sent it to me. I cherish that she enjoyed it so much. We lost her a couple months after that. It’s okay though, she was 101 and very much ready to rejoin my great grandpa. I’m talking your ear off now, but yes, holiday cooking is my favorite too! I’m looking forward to your creations Mrs. Bird :)

I would vote this but my BP is so low this morning for some reason. Sorry. This looks delicious. If I ever come to America I am definitely going to come to your place and give you lots of warning so you can cook me lots of yummy food haha. I have never tried yucca and I have never seen it for sale here either. It looks like a good autumn dessert with those spices too xx

Posted using Partiko Android

aww, you are so kind @riverflows! You are always welcome to visit! My daughters just left and I showered them with my crazy cooking! They are my biggest fans! I do love cooking. Thanks for stopping by, you are so sweet :)

Ah yes I knew they were down that way it must have been really nice to have them over and just spoil them with good food xx

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94