Have You Ever Seen A Vegan Chicken?

in #food5 years ago

KFC is jumping on the meat-free bandwagon, launching a vegan version of its signature crispy chicken burger in the United Kingdom.
The fast food chain is calling its first plant-based offering "The Imposter." The burger, which uses a Quorn fillet and vegan mayo, will be sold at select restaurants for four weeks starting June 17.
Quorn is a meat substitute that gets its protein content from a fermented fungus. KFC describes the burger as "a triumph of deception." source

Quorn originates from the United Kingdom, it's a substitute of meat.

190613084750-kfc-vegan-imposter-burger-2-exlarge-169.jpg
source

Vegan burger is excellent, I don't see why vegans can't have their own burger. I'm not vegan, occasionally eat meat and also would eat vegan burger. Many of the fast food giants are joining the club, offering vegan burgers to their customers, so I believe this is going to spread worldwide.

The article published by CNN named the burger "Vegan chicken burger", which sounds funny. Looks like people can't use other expressions, it's probably easier to say vegan chicken burger even though it's not.

KFC stands for Kentucky Fried Chicken, so I guess they are going to have their own vegan chicken made of Quorn.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

I wonder what it tastes like. I wonder if it's good. Fermented fungus. Wow, what's next?

I once had a vegan chicken sandwich in Singapore and it was actually better than most of the actual chicken sandwiches i had ever had. It was, however, significantly more expensive than actual chicken.

I often wonder if there is some serious chemical engineering going on here and that concerns me. For now, I'll stick to actual chicken but agree the alternative can be really tasty!

The problem is that many farmers are feeding chicken with genetically modified food and that's not good. It would be great to know what we're eating but it's not really possible at the moment.

My dad had chicken a few years ago and fed them wheat and corn flour. That hicken meat did not taste as good as the one you buy from the supermarket and I bet the reason was the food they were given.

However, it's nice to have your own homegrown chicken but it's a lot of work.

I have never seen a vegan chicken as they love eating worms... Something I have asked myself many times, why name the meat substitutes things like hamburgers and not just burgers. The meat name somehow needs to be present in the substitute. That makes a name like 'the imposter' so much better. I am not a vegan or vegetarian but with all the good alternatives these days we pass on meat some days. Nice piece!

Posted using Partiko Android

I was thinking the same thing. They eat insects, and all kind of small things I guess, so they are not vegan either. This is a trend already and I guess they should invent a name for these vegan substitutes. It would be more pleasant.

You got a 11.59% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @erikah! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 25 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58