Sweet day in the summer garden. The aroma of summer in each jar.

in #food6 years ago

Good day to all the sweet tooth! Today is my day in nature, in the summer garden. I'm busy making delicious jam. I think that nature has decided to compensate us for the long wait for heat and give us a good harvest this year. You all remember how long we waited for the arrival of spring, as soon as we hoped to see bright, warm and Sunny days. And now we are in our gardens can already see how to ripen berries and fruits. But today my attention is drawn to only one plant. It's rhubarb.


DSC01280 (2).JPG
click for a full-screen image


Every year we have it in large quantity. This plant appears one of the first as soon as the last snow melts and the sun begins to heat the earth. Therefore, for a long period, we can use it for the preparation of various vegetable salads, smoothies , casseroles, filling for pies, juices and compotes. Today you can find this delicious grass in different parts of the world. Connoisseurs of this plant know about its useful properties. It is no accident that it is widely used in cooking, cosmetology and folk medicine.



https://pixabay.com/photo-1406455/


Rhubarb contains about 90% water. Therefore, it is well absorbed in the human body. It contains a very large list of vitamins and minerals, but its rate is only 13 Kcal. Even the well-known dill and parsley have more calories. In my family, we love to use this plant in various forms. In view of its large number, I try to cook a few cans of jam. And when the cold winter months come, it is a great pleasure to have a Cup of tea to enjoy the memories of summer days.


DSC01286 (2).JPG
click for a full-screen image


Of course, now any finished product can be bought in the supermarket. Jars in orderly rows on the shelves are full of labels of all jams and marmalades. But there is something mystical in the process of cooking. Therefore, I do not deny myself this pleasure. In our crazy life there is always not enough time, so I try to simplify my life and choose only the simplest and most correct recipes that never let me down.


DSC01303 (2).JPG
click for a full-screen image


This jam can be cooked in two ways : single and multiple. I cook in a one-time way. At a single cooking, the fruits are mixed with syrup and boiled until ready. For 1 kilogram of fruit we need 1 kilogram of sugar. You can cook jam not only on sugar, but also on honey, which should be taken in the same amount as sugar. And you can take half the sugar and honey. Rhubarb stalks should be cleaned of rough skin and cut into pieces of 1-2 centimeters. Choose a suitable pan, put the pieces of rhubarb in it and fill them with sugar. Leave all the mass in the refrigerator overnight. In the morning put the pan on a small fire and bring to a boil. Then pour the hot jam into sterilized jars and screw. Then the banks to turn upside down and wrap a warm up to cool down. Everything is so simple and the result is really excellent. As additives can be introduced into the recipe cinnamon, ginger, lemon zest. All this adds new flavor notes and makes jam even more enjoyable.


DSC01292 (3).JPG
click for a full-screen image


Our summer will end very quickly. And when the bad weather comes, we will be pleased in the cold evening to open a fragrant jam and feel the summer in each jar.


DSC01282 (2).JPG
click for a full-screen image


Camera SONY DSC-W350

Thank you for Your attention and Your visit. I appreciate Your feedback and comments.

image.png

Sort:  

Rhubarb is very common in the US especially in the colder climates like Minnesota. Rhubarb pies are very popular. Beautiful photos and fun post. Reminds me of when I was young. We lived in the country and canned a lot of different things from our garden.

We do this also because in winter we have only imported fruits and vegetables in supermarkets. They are either unreasonably expensive or not too high quality. Local producers are too few. Therefore, people who have gardens and cottages, try to keep their crops as possible. This is a guarantee that the products are grown without the use of chemicals.

YUM! Looks amazing @madlenfox! I haven't had rhubarb jam before, but I will try to make it once it gets into season over here next year :).
Now that you mentioned cinnamon for this recipe I remembered that I put some in my rhubarb and strawberry pie and it was delicious.

@kotturinn, Oh, Yes! I remember That delicious rhubarb pie of yours. This taste of sweet and sour Apple remains and is present in all recipes. The best time to make jam is the beginning of July. At this time, rhubarb Matures completely. Hope you share with us next year too :)

That's crazy because here in Michigan I've only seen it once and it was in May or June? I forget, you cannot find it in the stores anymore.

cheers!
to having a good harvest!

so you also harvest them by cutting the bottom?
I do exactly the same ^ ^

Yes, I cut and leave only the stems. They say that the root has medicinal properties, but I know little about it. So we don't use them. The stem is only for cooking. Since early spring, when he appears and he is still young, we make smoothies with various additives. I like to drink it like a first Breakfast. But by summer, rhubarb grows so much that we can make a lot of jam for our whole long winter. In early July, we start to cut it and cook jam

yes, it seems that no amount of cutting would stop them from growing back
as if laughing at us saying; " we're stronger than the many of you humans, you may keep cutting us but we'll show you what pushing through hard times mean" :D and the grow harder than before I even cut them - with even thicker stems the next time ^ ^

That's for sure! They have an amazing ability to grow and so we have to dig up some of them and give to other people for their garden. Otherwise, they threaten to take all the empty seats in our garden, :)

Sounds like you've had a fun day @madlenfox.

I'm not a big fan of rhubarb personally but my mother-in-law makes rhubarb and apple chutney and I love that with cheese. 😁

Your photographs are stunning. Good luck with the contest and with ocd.

Thank you! Today is all day in nature, sun, jam and football. We are all rooting for England, but alas... failure .

I didn't watch it @madlenfox although I heard the first goal from the pub across the road.

I guessed it wasn't good news from the lack of further noise. 😢

@gillianpearce, I saw the whole match. It was sad. We really wanted this victory. We shouted - Football’s Coming Home! We even learned that phrase From your football fans «England fans in Russia! Drinking all your Vodka! England’s going all the way!». But we couldn't help :(

Aw. Well. Thanks for trying @madlenfox.

Did you read my post I wrote last week with the Football's Coming Home videos?

Yes,@gillianpearce, I remember Your post. I felt in him Your hope for this return. But, nothing can be done, life goes on. Next championship in 4 years

This vegetable we do not have in Argentina, there are some similar ones like the red chard or the hogas of the beet, but not rhubarb.
Excellent post dear friend @madlenfox for sharing all this information
I wish you a great day.
PS I hope you are having a lot of fun with all the visitors that went to the World Cup in your country.

This is a very unpretentious plant. I think it's capable of growing in your climate.
Yes, it is a great holiday in our country. It is especially pleasant that my city also hosts guests and participants of the championship. Our team made a big breakthrough in this championship. It is a pity that the championship is over for our team, but the celebration continues. A lot of tourists are on our streets now. Another match will be held in St. Petersburg. It will be a game for the 3rd place. We will be able to see a lot of interesting here :). Thank you, @jlufer! I'm really glad you stopped by!

It is true we also regret what your national team, here we had as favorite champion. football is like that, it will be again in 4 years

You're right,@jlufer, We'll see who gets lucky in 4 years :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

@pixresteemer I am very grateful for your support!

I made a rhubarb cake and a crisp and still had enough to freeze some to use this winter. Your photos are beautiful!

You gave me a good idea. I didn't try to freeze him. We sometimes have too much harvest, so I think it's worth a try. Thanks @melinda010100

It's easy to freeze, only requires chopping up! I like having it in January.

@melinda010100, thanks for the tip, or I would have folded it up like a lot of peeled sticks, heh.

Ha. I just cut it up to the size I would want to use it in recipes.🙃

Wonderful recipe!
Quickly and a minimum of hassle. Thank You, Marina!
I haven't tried rhubarb jam yet. ))
I will definitely cook.

I'm sure you'll like it. This delicacy is the most simple, easy and affordable, heh . The Bush Grows by itself, does not require care, it is easy to prepare this jam :). Enjoy!!!

Уже ))


...я в него, правда, чуть-чуть имбиря ещё положила )

Oh! That's cool! How's that taste for you? It is very good to add ginger root too. We eat this jam all winter until the new harvest. For some reason, rhubarb jam is popular in my family. I'm sure you'll be making this jam every year now. :)

И я надеюсь!

hmm yummy, i'd really like to taste some of this. keep on.

If you visit Our city, I will definitely present you a jar of this yummy :)

Congratulations @madlenfox!

Your Photography post has been selected and featured in Qurator's Photo Friday competition! Please click HERE and comment with the link of your picture to officially enter and stand a chance to win a Tier 5 Qurator membership!

Good Luck!

Like what we do? Consider voting for us as a steemit witness.


@qurator, Thank you for paying attention to my blog :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60870.66
ETH 2917.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62