"Scarlett in Red" - 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday Prompt: red wine

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

rsz_p7130155.jpg

Here is my first attempt to write a story (which is unfinished, though), and also to participate in @marrianewest's five-minute #freewrite. Thanks to @mariannewest for providing all the information and the links to the tools that will help us in our writing. I used The Most Dangerous Writing App, and corrected all the wrong spellings and use of punctuations using Grammarly.

rsz_divider-36856_960_720.png

SCARLETT IN RED

Scarlett was sipping her glass of red wine when a familiar face and figure suddenly appeared in front of her. She was caught redhanded by her husband having a dinner date with Rusell, her ex-boyfriend. She panicked and all her bright red lips could manage to utter was, "It's not what you think."

Tonight, she chose to wear the red cocktail dress that Rod bought three years ago as an anniversary present for her. She had never worn it once. "What was I thinking?" How could she explain that it was not her intention to hurt Rod. She thought that it was the only way she could help resurrect her husband's company, which was approaching its imminent death or bankruptcy.

Tonight, she executed her plan to revive it, somehow. Scarlett knew that Russell still had strong feelings for her, and he would do anything for her, regardless of the fact that she was already married.

"It's not what you think," Scarlett repeated. Rod only looked viciously at both of them. His red eyes were filled with rage and tears. He desperately wanted to punch Russell in the face, but he was aware of the ogling eyes of the people around him.

Rod left the restaurant instead without saying a word. He made his mind up that he was not going to forgive his wife. He didn't need an explanation from her. He sat morosely in his car, contemplating on the preceding events that led their marriage to this. "Is our marriage over?" "How was I not able to see this?" Her face with glowing red lips and makeup hovered in his mind, then he decided to switch the car engine on. He came to a decision that he was going to win her back. He would wait for her to come home and they would talk. There was still time for reparations and their marriage could be saved.

rsz_divider-36856_960_720.png

And then time was up, although I still want to write the end of the story to emphasise the daily prompt "red wine" even further.


Thank you for reading! Here is the link to @mariannewest's freewrite daily prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-182-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-red-wine.

Don't forget to vote for witnesses, too, and let them know that you support their work. I voted for @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle), @yabapmatt, @cloh76.witness, @vesteem, @thamarkymark, @blocktrades, @ausbitbank, @curie, @utopian-io, @ocd-witness, @steemed, @liberosist and @patrice because I believe they will contribute greatly to the success of the whole Steemit community.

I am also part of #SteemBulls and #DynamicSteemians Discord Groups. They are a great platform especially for new Steemians. We are a community of people who help one another in having our posts get noticed, read and appreciated. So, come and join, and be inspired!!!
Check out posts by @sarahdandridge, @ryl, @dangerousangel, @socialreformer, @puregrace, @pkalra, @honeychum, @bunnychum, @udywriter, @cyber-warrior, @ntowl, @dynamicgreentk and many more!!!

try-1.gif


upvote button.png

Sort:  

Congratulations, you have been upvoted by insta-ßus


The curation team that never sleeps.
You're welcome to participate in our initiative in promoting quality content creators on the platform to get upvotes and improve on content creating.

Join here on discord on

Insta-ßus

Your writing skill is impressive @evlachsblog. I'm following you keenly i would be also writing like you do hopefully.Just watch out for me (:0)

Thank you, @dymond. Yes, I will definitely watch out. Drop me a message on Discord anytime.

Great! Now, I have to go and see your finished piece :)

I posted another blog with the finished piece. Here's the link:
https://steemit.com/ocd-resteem/@evlachsblog/short-story-scarlett-in-red

This post is resteemed and upvoted by @bestboom

It was a nice story, I did a few of her freewrites, I need to better manage my time and hope to restart again in the fall. I found your post via the "Pay it Forward" contest you were spotlighted by @udywriter, but the post she highlighted was already in to it's payout phase, which is good, because this was a good story.

Thank you for dropping by. I am grateful of @udywriter for including me and curating my post. It was just a shame that my post was nearing the payout phase. Her curation was well written and I am honoured to be included in that post.
#freewrite is really challenging. If I am not busy, I will be able to participate every day, because I want to be better at writing stories and poems, too.
Thanks for your feedback and for your time. I really appreciate it. I am following you now.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Thank you. I voted you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65