Surthrival Trailer Mark 1 Update #28

in #fundition-ok49qt5zv5 years ago (edited)

Hello beautiful humans!

Tonight I have a new update for my trailer project. I worked on completing the wiring for the second string of solar panels and performed some testing of the completed wiring.

I started by striping the 10AWG solar wire about 1" from the end of the cable.

d20181030_151024.jpg

You need at least 1" of wire to crimp the MC4 connection fitting.

20181030_151105.jpg

I soldered the connection, and started by tinning the end of the soldering iron.

20181030_151416.jpg

After crimping the connector I soldered the MC4 connections to the end of the wire.

20181030_151508.jpg

I slipped on the back of the connector, notice how this is the + connection and its larger diameter.

20181030_151738.jpg

I attached the other half of the + MC4 connector.

20181030_151808.jpg

I screwed on the back of the connector to complete the assembly.

20181030_151929.jpg

I crimped and soldered the - connector, notice the smaller diameter of this connector.

20181030_152448.jpg

I completed its assembly.

20181030_152845.jpg

I connected the - connection to the - side of the wire completion for the Sol-Ark on its second solar panel input circuit.

20181030_152907.jpg

Here is the picture of the wiring run for the 2 solar input circuits run in separate 1/2" metal conduit.

20181030_153128.jpg

I used these 3/4" screws to fasten the conduit holders to the trailer.

20181030_154027.jpg

I used 4 holders for each conduit.

20181030_154534.jpg

I connected 3 of the panels on the rood in series by connecting the + to the - sides of each panel as can be seen in the photo below.

20181030_164256.jpg

Here is another example of how this was done on the 2 side panels which are wired in series with 1 roof panel.

20181030_164412.jpg

Here is the end of that string on the - side entering through the LB of the trailer. 4 10 gage solar wires were passed through the 3/4" LB into the trailer.

20181030_164424.jpg

Here is the positive side of the string that enters the trailer.

20181030_164619.jpg

Here is the negative side of the panel that connects to the positive side of the side panel for a series connection.

20181030_164648.jpg

Here is another example of how the rooftop panel series connection is made. Notice how the longer wire extends on one of the panels.

20181030_164703.jpg

Here's another demonstration with the closest panel wire extending toward the camera as the connection that will enter the trailer at the end of the series string.

20181030_164717.jpg

Here's the overview of how all the wires enter the trailer. I will be collecting and fastening the rooftop wires to keep them together and from moving around during transport.

20181030_164740.jpg

Here's one more view of that layout.

20181030_164837.jpg

Here is another view of how the wires enter the trailer.

20181030_164907.jpg

I gave it a test by plugging in a vacuum cleaner to the Sol-Ark to clean up some. It worked great, I could see how the energy was being consumed by the vacuum and partially taking energy away from charging the batteries.

20181030_155417.jpg

Thank you for your time if you gave my update a read!

Yours in Liberty toward a brighter future, may the great creator bring peace and joy withing your hearts, Greg @makinstuff

cropped-LogoV4.png

Sort:  

Looking Great @makinstuff!

I got to thinking @makinstuff and realized that where your trailer's exhaust vent is in the roof could potentially cause a hot spot on the panels directly above it. Perhaps a simple low volt fan installed inside the vent will help dissipate the hot air. I have never looked at them for trailers but the same type of vent is common on RV's and I have definitely seen fans specifically designed to fit them.

Wow, great catch sir, that very well could happen. I will definitely look for one. I don't think I'd ever have thought about that. Thank you @jacobpeacock

Posted using Partiko Android

You are welcome @makinstuff. It is difficult to see everything when we are deeply involved in a project. Sometimes we just need to get back from it, give it a critical eye and try to grasp every aspect of what is going on. Also outside opinions often are illuminating. Cheers and have a great day.

Very nice, the more panels the better! I purchased these same connectors, and I really like them. Soldering is critical for long life, and reliability!

Be blessed.

:)

Thank you @smithlabs I hung out and listen to some music for a while in there tonight. I've got plenty of power to run all types of devices right now. I'm going to run some testing with a mini fridge and lights etc. tomorrow.

i am glad it is working fine for you! I found a solar compatible fridge on Ebay thet pulls 65 watts, and runs directly from the batteries. I plan on getting one for the homestead. They are expensive ($1400) but are full sized too.

LED lights do not draw very much, I would recommend them.

:)

Wow. Great tutorial! We hope someday to have solar on our RV, but first have to get one.
Ren

Very cool, Lots of folks have the same Idea right now. I've had a few panels listed locally and many are looking to add them to their RV's.

I think it is a good match really. We have friends that started using them before it was cool. They said they wouldn't have done it any other way.
Ren

It looks like you're making good progress with the solar panel wiring.
Do you have to put the panels in series to get to the voltage that goes into the charge controller? Is that a 48 volt system?

Yep, because its a 48V battery system the manufacturer's instructions were to string at least 3 of my 72 cell panels into each solar charging circuit.

This project is being supported by @Fundition

Fundition is a next-generation, decentralized, peer-to-peer crowdfunding and collaboration platform, built on the Steem blockchain.

#upfundition and #fundition tags on Steem represent the projects that are started on https://fundition.io.

Are You Prepared to Make the World a Better Place too?

Read the full details of Fundition Fund program

Learn more about Fundition by reading our purplepaper

work_on_progess.gif

steemitf.pngtwitterf.pngyoutubef.pngfacebookf.pnginstaf.pngdiscordf.png
Join a community with heart based giving at its core

Nice @MakingStuff! I'm gonna have to get familiarized with this connectors soon... we need to build a solar array for next year!

Believe it or not, I know how to weld but I'm not sure how to solder.

Anyway, thanks for a bit of inspiration, it lools good and not too complicated (apart from the soldering bit 🙄)

Cool mayne! Give me a holler if you have any questions. I've been messing around buying panels in bulk and reselling some. That's how this project came to be. I'll do a write up on the soldering part in the near future. I have to find more connectors I misplaced or reuse the ones for the other circuit on this system.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh what a great idea... buying them in bulk and reselling the rest to fund the project! Nice. Yeah cool I'd love to hear more. Can I find you on Disccord somewhere?

You bet same name @makinstuff

Posted using Partiko Android

Cool mayne! Give me a holler if you have any questions. I've been messing around buying panels in bulk and reselling some. That's how this project came to be. I'll do a write up on the soldering part in the near future. I have to find more connectors I misplaced or reuse the ones for the other circuit on this system.

Posted using Partiko Android

Right on @makinstuff! I will holler soon... got to get my purse full of coin again to start buying panels... I'll ask about that too 😁!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95