You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Write an Organically Trending and Popular Post

in #funny6 years ago

I want that woodchuck video narrator's voice. It's one of those voices that can make anything sound like serious business, even a video about Canadian wildlife.

When I worked in retail, I recall being reprimanded about how I wouldn't "get anywhere in the company" with my attitude. This was toward the end of a (very) deliberately temporary working arrangement.

It was one of those times when I thought of a great retort a couple hours later but it was too late. Not to be robbed of my opportunity, I decided to lie in future tellings of the story and say that I actually said something like: "I sure as hell hope not."

So, that's what I did. Yep. I didn't mumble a half-assed apology and drop whatever complaint I was pursuing. I stood right there and I delivered that line, exactly like that. Then, the entire place burst out into applause. The manager burst into tears and quit his job, and my fellow labourers hoisted me upon their shoulders and declared me their god-monarch.

It was a good day.

Sort:  

Retail is tough and there's always that manager on a power trip who will gladly put their lack of common sense on display, daily.

Wow, your experience reminds me of the time I ordered a coffee with one cream, and they gave me a coffee with no cream. I yelled, made a big scene like a normal person, everyone apologized to me, quit their jobs, and put ME in charge. I sold that business the next day and bought a skyscraper.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63212.56
ETH 3233.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88