Hurry Up for a Tour of Triumf, A Radioactive Super Blog

in #funny5 years ago (edited)

A Radioactive Super Blog

IMG_7610.jpg

IMG_7611.jpg

Not many people know this but the world's larget cyclotron resides beneath the Univerisity of British Columbia's Campus, a little off to the south. The first I heard of it was from my friend Gordon. He told me that beneath my feet was another CERN and at any moment the entire campus and Vancouver too, I imagine, might just be blown up in a nuclear explosion or be sucked into a black hole and become inter-dimensional. It was the 90's and we were both Theatre students. What we didn't know about physics, we made up for with wild rumours and conspiracies theories. Science moves forward, not so sure about human nature. But I digress.


I homeschool my nine-year-old son and am always looking for fun and free things to do that are not only educational but also get us out of the house. I was sure that particle physics is on the grade 3 curriculum and so off we went.


We love going to the UBC campus. It is much more quiet and clean than downtown Vancouver. We also spend a lot of time at our local planetarium and observatory and so we were up for a trip into inter-space. And like any little boy and quite a few girls, my son loves big machines. He still likes to watch the garbage trucks. From a distance, of course.

Triumf did not disappoint on the big or the machines.

IMG_7625.jpg

IMG_7631.jpg

We didn't get to see the actual cyclotron. It is buried underground and underneath some pretty impressive concrete blocks. Our guide, a Italian physicist, told us he has only ever seen it once and that was after it had be shut down for a few weeks. Going down there at the wrong time would give your skin a glow Oil of Olay could never accomplish. There were radioactive signs all over the place. You'll note the one to the right. Not to worry the offending object is wrapped in hard plastic and duct tape. So we were safe. We were scanned for radioactivity on our way in and out. My hopes of becoming a mutant super hero were dashed. Yep, I remain gamma ray free.

IMG_7613.jpg

IMG_7635.jpg

This is the control room. On the back wall is the original analog. Digital runs the show today. The analog is probably maintained in case of alien invasion. That kind of thing. They also keep a landline on hand for when they accidently open a portal to the past and need to call 1989.

IMG_7621.jpg

Large magnets are used to keep ionized particles on the right track making the area above the cyclotron unsafe for paperclips. My son and I learnt to defy gravity with our minds. We gained mutant powers after all.


SPOLIER ALERT


IMG_7633 (1).jpg

Here they are building a mind meld machine for Thanos for the next Avengers movie. Turns out there are more of those stones and Thanos is now a talking zombie head. Shh ... tell no one that you heard it from me, but remember you heard it here first.

I may have also turned the shot on its side and have no idea what the machine is for. But isn't it pretty? Physics can be pretty. Who knew.

After all this you are probably craving the hard science of Triumf. But what does it do, you're screaming. I'll let them tell you themselves and not because the blog is getting long and my butt is sore from sitting too long.

IMG_E7627.jpg

That concludes our tour of Triumf. There was no mushroom cloud or nuclear fall out. Although we did find this strange breed of red caps growing nearby. Perhaps a home for robotic smurfs.

IMG_7640.jpg

I remain your friendly-neighborhood, definitely not radioactive blogger. All photos are my own. You can even see me in the last shot.

Sort:  

@prydefoltz,

I DID NOT KNOW THIS!!! Fascinating.

Incredibly well-written article. As I've said before, your writing is best (it's always good) when spiced with that special kind of Foltz-funny. Your casually off-handed use of humor is something of which few writers are capable. @girlbeforemirror is the same way.

Incidentally, I think I need a cyclotron. Off to Home Depot.

Quill

You jest but the physicist said that was often the case. Although it may be Canadian Tire ... you forget, you ex-pat, You:) Thanks so much for your visit and kind comment:)If I keep listening I may fit that skull cap:)

@prydefoltz,

It's only a matter of time before Canadian Tire money goes crypto too. Sooner or later, I will have my cyclotron.

!TIRE

($0.05 ... after Steemit, that actually seems pretty damned good.)

Quill

That was truly fascinating to learn. I just learned about Canada’s role in the Manhattan Project when I saw the film “Red Joan.” Canada certainly is involved in some interesting physics projects.

Thank you, kunschj. Yes, we have some good science going on. Great universities up here.

Nice tour of Triumf and your first photography is awesome.

Thanks, Kam:)

Fascinating! I didn't even know Canada had its own "CERN"

I see a bright future for you and your son in the entertainment biz

You could corner the market in paper clip balancing!

Need to shrink down that cyclotron some to fit it in the car 😂

Very funny post Pryde. U+R

Haha ... or make the car bigger and maybe made of paperclips:) Thank you, Michael:)

That was a great blog. Love the personal side to it discovering some new things about you. I loved the planetarium as a kid. But this is another level. I hope your son was inspired by a bit of stem from his theatre mum :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank, OZK. I went on to study quite a bit of science after; so I ready for anything LOL. He does like science but is not a math fan. But he does like coding, languages and art too:) So much to learn:)

Oh. A polymath in our midst is mdme foltz. Sounds like a well rounded mind for junior too :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh there are few nerds out there like me:)

I find the accelerators the most interesting machine. At one time I thought there were only the two big ones but have since learned there are many that are all sizes and many universities have one. Great article and trip for you and your son.

Thank you, Willow. I think they may not be all that hard to build. UBC actually had two. Another much smaller one for the creation of medical isotopes. The short life of them was very small and so any hospital using the same medicine would need to be lcose by to have a supply. These things may just be all over:)

I didn't know about this! How cool. The large hadron collider in Europe is pretty wild to say the least.

Love ot visit. You have?

No i haven't yet been to a particle accelerator ; )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00