IBT Survival Island Game - Progress Report Three

in #gaming5 years ago (edited)

Welcome to another IBT Survival Island regular progress report -  these updates will be posted weekly if possible. All images here are original and built from scratch for our new Steem SMT game. 

The above image is the concept char from the actual game being built - IBT Survival Island 

Another quick update this week, but hopefully enough to provide evidence of progress and gather more interest. These update posts are to get feed back and ideas from Steemians just as much as to provide a journal like insight of what it takes to make an off platform downloadable Steem rewards game, that uses SMT tokens which provide exclusive benefits.

Please keep in mind this is not a team of Pro Programmers making this and it's not a professional Steem game like drugwars or Steemonsters so no promises guys; still those who know me and played IBT know I don't give up easy... we are doing our best to push boundaries and explore what can be done with Steem and SMT's. Discussions continue around how to get the game distributed, for the moment we are still looking at downloading it via STEAM (A popular online supplier of PC games) as a fully playable free Educational demo. What ever happens this won't be a 'pay to win' game. It's possible there maybe a pay for DLC, but I'm trying to work out how to make SMT token holders benefit here as well. It's certainly a big undertaking.

So some work was also been done to produce our first critter, this is an Australian Black Crow

The above image is from the actual game being built - IBT Survival Island 

This week has mainly been about trials and learning more about the UE4 editor. A few real life struggles with capturing in game sounds as well. I managed to get some time in the Adelaide hills to capture some ambient in game sounds of the Aussie bush, but I have to learn sound editing software as well...anyways these real 'bush sounds' will help build authentic Aussie Island feel.

A bit more time was spent on working with API calls and blueprints, which is basically the most simplest way of interacting with the Steem blockchain...but if your a teach yourself hack, it is anything but simple hehe.

A fair amount of lost hours have gone into working out how to stack items in that all important inventory. This stuff is critical to being able to pull this game off, but happy to says some success here.

How can you help?

  1. If you had a lucky week trading the crypto (I never do - I'm a hopeless investor), feel free to sponsor with some Steem  (Those who know me, know I am trust worthy - and you can clearly see in  previous IBT on the block chain I've ensured 100's in Steem prizes have  gone out fairly). Anything received I will put it in my savings account  ready to move to the soon to be created community account.  Alternatively you can support via fundition here: https://steemit.com/en/@lordnigel/l6mjz3r5q
  2. This week people can help by telling me if you think it looks like an Australian Black crow or how it can be improved?.  Let me know in a comment below and we will try to improve. There are many things  of use in the Aussie bush environment, but right now we are just looking  at getting animal animations working.

That's it for this weeks update, until next time take care and happy steeming! 

Any liquid Steem raised from upvotes from this post will be  transferred to my savings account, which will be used as part of future  IBT Survival Island prizes (Either to power the community account or for  direct transfer for Educational rewards in game). While I'm trying to  setup a variety of sources to fund/build the reward system every upvote  helps, but totally cool if you need it more then I do - keep it and just  drop us a comment to show interest :) 

Sort:  

This game is looking better by the day.
I would give the crow a eye and maybe a bit of contrast on the beak. Otherwise looking very good. I can't

Posted using Partiko Android

Cool tip with beak - hmmn needs a little work but coming along - he has some eyes now as well :)..my poor bro is having to animate the guy as well..tough work!

Cheers for the feedback

Congratulations, this post was rewarded with a SteemGC Upvote!

SGC_Logo_Font_style_2.png

Want to meet fellow Steemit gamers and earn upvotes yourself? Join the SteemGC Discord channel!

Thanks for the support - I'll try and drop by your channel :)

It would be awesome if @rustle made an appearance as a bit of a cameo or something. But this is really coming along nicely. Is this going to be like Ark: Survival / Subnautica?

This could be a really interesting thing. What if those who contributed to your fundition had the chance to make an appearance also?

...Also sorts of interesting things are possible. I'd like to make it so SMT holders get various rewards and earn more tokens by playing. I'm sure rustle could muster his way in some where hehe..maybe an easter egg :)

Ooh graphics! They’re looking good 😄 looks possibly derpy enough to be an Australian crow though I think they look different depending where you are or maybe I’m just confused in my sleep deprived state 🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks - oh good point! some crows have a bit of white on them (especially found in africa), I guess we will favor the South Aussie version of the animals (as I know these best) - our crows are pure black all over, with black eyes...creepy~

You should try sneaking up on one to record the squawks - evil little birds haha... :)

They’re fine, it’s the magpies you gotta watch (though the smart ones are scared of me). There’s crows in my yard even as I type (I think, I’m not sure if I could tell the difference between a crow and a raven), it’s also raining outside so not going out there 😆

Posted using Partiko iOS

Pls send the rain this way...:)

Has it reached yet? XD

(I checked the radar earlier to see if I could hang laundry and some clouds were heading east a fair way north of me, not sure where they're going precisely)

Nothing yet :(...but it is slightly cooler.

He could be cloned as a magpie pretty easily too, with a bit of white.

Good idea, pretty much the same looking really :)

I really think these kinds of projects should get more exposure. I'm resteeming this and hoping you get more attention and support for your program.

Yeah it's a bit surprising and slightly dissappointing. I guess I'm not bringing promise of riches like the pro games though, just a small fry operation :)

As a side note when the price of Steem went down I think the community got depressed and I noticed allot of the whales stopped being generous (not that allot ever were). The great thing about Steem is when the price goes back up every little upvote of the past counts :)

Heyoo!

Im not posting in generall anymore, but Ill keep an eye out for your updates.

Keep it up, your the reason Steem.it is relevant for me these days.

No worries mate - thanks for the kind words, I'll try to keep up the weekly updates.

Cheers

This Game Got My Attention, I'll Play.

Nice - still allot of work to go before it's playable, but I will try to give weekly updates so people can follow along and provide input as well.

Cheers


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05