Activision-Blizzard is now Big-Brother

in #gaming6 years ago

overreach.png

Below, you have the latest developer update for Blizzard's hero-shooter, Overwatch. Now, although the video covers a number of topics, including balancing and things of that nature, I'm not interested in any of that, for the purposes of this post. What is important, is that Blizzard has taken upon themselves to dictate what the users of their product are allowed to do, say and think. And not only within the confines of their game, oh no! Now they want to police speech wherever and whenever you interact. Thus, I will be exploring only the first three minutes of this update. Let's see what the thought police has to say, shall we?


First thing's first:

As you all know, it is a major initiative of the Overwatch team and everyone here at Blizzard to minimize the amount of toxicity that takes place in online games. Not just our games, but games in general

I'm sorry, but what? First off, you never defined toxicity, so I'm not exactly sure what you're trying to minimize, and secondly, who made you my nanny? Your only job in relation to me, a customer, is to make my fucking game work and balance it. Anything you consider toxic... frankly, I don't give a shit.

As you all know, we recently added the ability for our console players to report people, which has been amazing and has shown us really great results. We also added warnings for people who were about to get suspended, silenced of banned, that their behavior was unacceptable and that if they kept getting reported by other players, or noticed by us, here at Blizzard, that they would get in trouble. And then we've also given feedback to those of you who are reporting players who are exhibiting poor behavior, in the sense that you would get a message, in the game itself, that would tell you: "Hey, you reported somebody, and we've taken action against them". I am very pleased to report, that in competitive play, since those features went live, incidents of abusive chat are now down 17%. So we measure the stuff and we track it, and we're very pleased with those results. On the other hand, player reporting is now up 20%. We're restoring faith in the system, it's starting to work much better and it's actually having a big impact on the community. We know those numbers are not as great as they could be.

Well, excuse me, mister KGB, but I thought here in the western world, people have the right to free expression. It seems you're really glad that you're encouraging people to snitch on each other on whether they used words not approved by the party. Also, you think that this constant surveillance on each other should increase. Well, here in Romania, I saw the impact neighbours reporting abusive chat to Securitate (Romania's equivalent of the KGB during the communist reign) had on the community. It turned everyone paranoid, and everyone got forced into using a wooden language.

We've instituted some really interesting programs on that front as well. I'll just give you one example. A lot of these, we don't like to talk about, because we don't want players gaming the system or knowing what we can catch you for or action you for, but I'll give you an example of one thing that we've been doing that has proven very positive

You don't want players "knowing what we [...] can action you for". Are you for real? So you're going to punish users for stuff that they don't even know is an offence? Well, that's not abusive at all! And if you think this is bad, let's continue... straight from we left off.

We now proactively seek out social media sites, like YouTube for example, and look for incidents of very toxic behaviour and track down the accounts that are participating in those, and action them, often times before anybody's even reported them or they've shown up in any other place."

You do know that George Orwell's "1984" isn't an instruction manual, don't you? What you're doing here is not called "you being proactive", it's called stalking, and is illegal. What users do outside of your platform is not your prerogative.



Learning this scary information, I have decided that, starting today (even though I believe Blizzard has been trash for years), I will boycott all current and future products developed and/or published by this company. And I urge all of you that value freedom of speech, to do the same. People should realize the implications of such policies, as they have been tried and used to oppress people across the world. Back then, it was the government that they had to worry about, but more and more, it seems that large corporations have taken things into their own hands. I will forever oppose such measures, however well-intentioned they might be. As the saying goes, "the road to hell is paved with good intentions". I have included above Tim Pool's thoughts on the issue, as I believe he words my sentiment better than I can. So, if you wish, check that out as well!

PS: Blizzard, go fuck yourself, you communist cunts!

What are your thoughts on these measures? Do you fear, as I do, that such draconian measures to curtail "abusive behaviour", is stepping way out of line? Share your opinions below, along with any feedback you might have. It is greatly appreciated!


Thank you for reading, and keep on steemin'!


Sort:  

Un fucking real. I've personally considered Blizzard a dead company as far as game development is concerned since about halfway through the opening ceremony of the last blizzcon.
They are less about making games and more about pandering to, and apparently influencing a thought controlled society.
Maybe they will ban my fucking account for this post someday, I won't care because the client is uninstalled.

To me, Blizzard has been shit sometime during the WoW days. I never liked it, but I could understand what some people found cool in it. But they decided to stray further and further away from what the fans wanted, even when they had the feedback. Diablo 3 was garbage, just play Path of Exile, way, way, way, way, way better and it's free. Starcraft 2 was alright, and was the only game on their lineup that I was interested in, but honestly, it's not really much more than the original, not worth the wait of over a decade. I don't like Hearthstone, honestly, I don't get what's so cool about it, but I guess that's just me. Hots, is another copy-paste attempt at MOBAs, and Overwatch is the same, but this time it's copying Team Fortress.

Whatever my views on their games, people like them, but even the biggest fans can see that quality has degraded over the years and that their games lack the "soul" they once had. And even if I'd love their work, I cannot stand by this sort of censorship. They can ban my account, fuck 'em! I've already seen communism, and don't want any part in any more of it. #BetterDeadThanRed

I'm with you on every part of this except The communist cunts part. They're clearly capitalist cunts.

Capitalist would imply that they're doing this for financial gain. This is about social engineering. In this case BlizzActi is more like the Soviet Nomenklatura.

They're socially engineering their game so more people feel more comfortable playing it and spend more time in it/buy more loot crates. Also communism is about sharing wealth. This is more like facism.

What @gurudeva said. They're capitalist in the US, but want to impose communism within their platform.

Great article. I had no idea this was going on. It's frightening how restrictive these companies are becoming.

Thank you! Yeah, it's scarier by the day...

This makes me sad :( I have loved Blizzard since the early Diablo days. Out of line. definitely.

I loved them back in the days of Diablo 1 and 2, Starcraft and such. But these days ... fuck them! They popularized the worst parts of today's gaming, and now want to thought-police it's users even out of their games. I cannot stand by that, even if nostalgia is a powerful thing.

Hahahaha, free criticism... Sure, buddy. Please, move to North Korea... see how democratic that place is

"But experts contend this is a mistake: North Korea rejected Communism decades ago, they say, and U.S. failure to understand the real beliefs and values of the regime’s rulers could have catastrophic repercussions. " - source

by definition if its not democratic it is not communism

Of course not. The old "it's not real communism" crap.

the old "communism is when the workers control the means of production and if the workers do not control the means of production it is not communism"

They made no effort to make it "real communism". They call themselves democratic. that must mean they are democratic right?

This makes me fucking sick. Overwatch is one of those games that I love(d) and invested a lot of time in, but the sterility and blandness took its toll and made me too frustrated and too bored to continue playing beyond events.

Well, Overwatch was never an attractive option for me, but I can understand your pain. It must be even worse for you, as you're seeing your, once beloved, hobby, being perverted into something else.

As stated, even if I like a game, I will oppose such measures. Wanted to buy Starcraft 2 a while back, as I'm more into strategy and management games, but I will not give away my hard earned money to a bunch of people that want to control me.

It's the symbol of the sickle hammer

Well, this is weird. I mean, if I say something about Overwatch that they don't like on YouTube or something, they could ban me from the game? Thankfully, I don't play it, I'm not a big fan of these games designed to create addiction (PUBG as well).

Blizzard got a bit un-friendlier when Activision stepped in, and they are surely the ones to blame for this kind of action. I miss their times of Diablo 1 and Starcraft 1, when they still created new, interesting games. Not the cut-and-paste crap of the last decade.

They'll even ban you if you play their characters. For example if you pick a tank when there are already two tanks in the team. Also, they can ban you if you're shit-talking.

Also, I think Blizzard has been shit for years, dunno if it's Activision or not, but their flair was lost after Warcraft III, imo.

Well, that's extreme. I guess when you own the world you start thinking about crazy stuff to do without fear of losing a bunch of players.

All those users complaining about balance issues and shit ... They're just toxic and need to be put in their place, doncha know? Fuck Blizzard!

Just smack'em xD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61665.59
ETH 2884.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62