Murdered Rhubarb Mousse And What Else Is Cooking In My Garden, I Mean - Growing?

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

a1.jpg

That's last night's harvest!

a.jpg

What am I growing in my garden you asked? Nets, nets and more nets! (just kidding). Can you tell?

c2b.jpg

c2a.jpg

Yes, I'm very busy in my garden again and yes, I garden to eat though you often see me posting flower pics. A few days ago, we had our first bountiful harvest and I gave the rhubarb a trim.

b4.jpg

b3.jpg

If it was a haircut it would be called "bakbakji" meaning ... - bald in Hangul(Korean language) if you syllabicate the word without following the IPA. Here's why. Can you count how many I gathered?

b.jpg

After that, I made that whipped cream - less murdered rhubarb mousse.

b5h.jpg

b5a.jpg

Why murdered? If you've read my articles before I have always mentioned that I prefer eating healthy stuff, raw or juiced, even the rhubarb. However, my husband love that for dessert so I mutilated them, added some water and lotz'a cinnamon and boiled to death. Overcooking anything is basically killing the enzyme and nutrients in it(thus the name), but you know, our taste buds must also be pleased when we eat. Yeah, yeah, you're still looking for the whipped cream but you see, there are apple mousse served in the EU without it and still is called a mousse, period!

b5.jpg

What? You think plants don't have lives? This is when I am glad that translation machine for plants has not been invented yet cause I can't fathom any plant screaming when I'm cutting them. I have to eat after all.

c1c.jpg

A few days later, we went back for more harvest cause the berries just kept on blessing us with bountiful sweets to eat! This is when I really love the color of summer ^ ^ ! Can you tell how many sorts of raspberries I have?

c1.jpg

c1a.jpg

c1b.jpg

Some other berries are still on the way! I can't wait for them to finally ripen!

c1d.jpg

c1e.jpg

That night, the rhubarb has grown back like so, as if nothing happened!

c.jpg

That same night, I thinned the beets cause I love them just like this. If they're all giant and full grown, the leaves taste more earthy but not when like these. It still earthy but milder. It just encourages them to grow actually why don't you also try?

b2.jpg

b1.jpg

These days, I spend most evenings biking there to water my plants and to harvest. Btw, this was not our very first harvest, I just couldn't take pics on some nights because my hands really get dirty am worried my D Eye would get a smudge on it again.

5bg.jpg

Anyway, would you like some murdered rhubarb mousse? I mean... how about you? What's cooking, I mean .. growing in your garden? Care to share?

This content's 100% mine . I took some of the pics with my D Eye and some with my smartphone .. Right click on the pic to open it on a new tab.



**TIP :
ONLY Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below to earn yourself curation rewards.



a2b.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you for posting dear @englishtchrivy.

I so appreciate seeing these lovely photographs of the fruits of your garden.

Wishing you 'Happy Gardening' mon ami.

Rhubarb avec Strawberries Mousse.....what do you think?

Thank you for the excursion to your lovely garden.......the nets are a wonderful addition even Mr McGregor would approve. ^__^

A bientot.

xox!

thanks for dropping by mon ami!
shall I send over to you :)
just kidding ^ ^

oh yes, we had one for breakfast with a strawberry on top
definitely refreshing ^ ^

am growing mostly nets these days cause the bunny seems to love my garden much but they will soon have to be off specially on the ones that has grown much and can manage the bunny doesn't seem to chew on them anymore

have a great day!
xox!

PS, sorry for the late reply, I've been away for a few days

Hi ya......

Please do.

All the best to you.

No worries.

Abientot. xox

Your harvest is really appetizing, you are lucky to have such a good soil that brought you I would say a good harvest.

I love rhubarb cake have you tried such, it is a bit sour but tasty :)

thank you

yes, I have had rhubarb cakes on one of those family visits :)

Dear Ivy - don't "cut" your rhubarb - meaning do not use a knife but instead "draw it out" - you have to pull the single rhubarb stemms out of the core so you do not hurt the plant :-) and never harvest more than one third of of the plant's total - otherwise it is going to die or at least will be very close ot dying ;-) All of the plants that live with you for many years need to have enough resource left for the next year... Big huggs from the Seven Mountains in Germany! I harvested some rhubarb today and made a nice salsa for BBQ :-)

thank you for such a tip @jkiw, I didn't know that - pulling instead of cutting ! ^ ^

am happy you shared it with me, don't worry though, this one's been very bushy this year so it really needs trimming. We normally just harvest a few as we're only two but this year, it's gone mad it wants to occupy more space than it's supposed to. Some mushrooms also grew around it and we're worried it would keep spreading with the help of the shade of the rhubarb's leaves so we beheaded plenty to make sure the sun gets to peep.

I hope you enjoy your rubharb salsa and that you had a great time BBQing ^ ^!
cheers to sharing a bountiful habit!

Murderer!! Lol. You are up early!

wahahahay chico !
thank you for reading!

hahaha ... am I the only one?

am always up early but now free early ^ ^

Free as a bird and it's summertime too. Wayhay!!

Looks fresh and delicious ! Awesome work my friend !!
I love berries !

oh my goodness, murdered rhubarb mouse! I love it...actually have you tried strawberries with the rhubarb, it is amazing. One of my favorite pies or preserves. What are the round berries? They are simply beautiful. Your posts make me smile every time, you are a gifted photographer and writer! Thanks so much, I love your style!

thank you

yes, I also had one with strawberries
as for pies, I don't eat much of those but preserves yes,
they're pink currants they're sweet compared to the red ones

thank you, those are very kind things to say
I appreciate that a lot !

Nice setup in your garden! Upvote and Follow. Best wishes from Germany

Wawwww.. Sangat indah.. Saya menyukai photography anda.

I have only seen and eaten Redcurrant, not white. Never had rhubarb; I might try to juice them :)

they're pink ones
if you do, I'd suggest adding just one stem on your mix, two might make it too sour
good luck

Can't beat fresh!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94