Microbrews are fun until you don't know that they are

in #getyerlearnon5 years ago (edited)

Look. I'm not uncultured.

I genuinely try to get on with a vast majority of the people that meet.

I just don't know S**t about micro brews and I don't know how to learn about them

man-holds-bottle-craft-beer-260nw-759511501.jpg

I went to a bar tonight and I genuinely didn't know what to order because they didn't have any "regular beers" on tap. I had to order some strange local S**T" that i had never heard of in order to get a drink. It is my understanding that this is what is happening everywhere.

AM i being forced to be a hipster? What is next? The only cars will be mini-coopers? I will suddenly find myself incapable of purchasing any coffee not overpriced by starbucks? Everyone without a stupid mustache will have to pay a tax etc.

Look... i know how to get a "regular" beer. I know that stores exist. But if every bar (and this one was NOT BUSY AT ALL) thinks that we have to ONLY have crazy strange beers that no one has ever heard of , in order to be relevant.... well, you will not be relevant, and you will not be a shop in 6 months.

I also will not go back there ever again.

861a12-20130116-20130110beer01.jpg

I appreciate the fact that you have a beard. I appreciate the fact that you are pretending to know more about things because you just happen to know more about the 7 ass-holle beers that you happen to have on tap at this particular point in time and well, i think it is wonderful that in your 3 years of being legally capable of consuming alcohol you have somehow managed to become more familiar with these jerk-off micro companies that myself and everyone else that I know have never heard of.

BN-TR757_CRAFTj_GR_20170601153607.jpg

Sort:  

Oh man this is too funny. I have this hipster friend who is so hipster that he doesn't even realize that he is one. That would be too mainstream.

He is always giving me some random beer or another, which always tastes more terrible than the last. It is always the bitterest foul tasting IPA with some stupid name, like Cow's Intrepid Forsight, or Jimmie Jane Floor Stain Ale. Of course those names I just made up, but they are completely legit names for the shit he drinks.

I hate going to a bar or pub and being made to feel like an idiot because I can't choose one of these obnoxious beers with any level of cool guy confidence. Plus I refuse to wear girls jeans and cultivate my beard into a perfectly sculptured manscape with trimmed eyebrows that my wife would be jealous of.

I somewhat agree and disagree. Yes the market is flossed with Micro crap, but once you get to know the ones locally, that makes all the difference. I take the time to visit my local micro breweries in order to have them explain their products. If I don’t like any after a few samples, then bye bye boys. You better impress me quick. I like beer and trying new things, but don’t discount my familiar standbys. I need my Guinness, Blue Moons, and Sam Adams Seasonal ;-)

i was drunk off said micro-brews when i wrote the article. I apologize for nothing but i think i was overly harsh on the bartender. It was a "get off my lawn" moment. :)

Hahahahaha. Enough said. I would have thoroughly enjoyed watching that conversation go down though. You are entitled to take a stand. Good stand to take too.

Lets talk my man! Craft beer is for people who really like beer, and who prefer quality over quantity. If you're not really a beer guy, and or you're fine with plain Jane products that's totally cool too! And to each their own right,..

when I buy beer I pay a little extra for good craft beer that is brewed with exceptional craftsmanship, world class ingredients, and in small batch. and its not small batch to be cool or pretentious.. its fucking expensive when you're dry hopping with 3, 4 or 5 extra varieties of hops.. There are some things in life where I'll get the "regular" version and not care to have the best, or I plain old cant afford the best..

I'll warn you, once you start going down this rabbit whole there's no going back. Where to start...how about what kind of beer do you like... Ale's, Pilsner, something else ...?

i don't even know what i like. Mostly i drink for the booze like a college student. Very rarely do I truly enjoy a craft beer. I suppose i prefer the lighter stuff. I don't even know where to start. I suppose my gripe was the complete absence of mainstream beers - and the attitude of the bartender in this particular place. Just different people :)

Pretentious dicks,.. he should help you out and hook you up with something you like.. If you want less hoppy and less bitter but like ales I would suggest asking for a New England style ale.. will be hazy and cloudy, it will be juicy!

Funny thing is bartenders can be like that,..but when I go to a dispensary the bud tenders always go out of their way to make your experience awesome,.. and explain EVERYTHING in ridiculous detail..

here's the other thing, @bdmillergallery alluded to this. Instead of a bar where you get dicks, try an actual craft brewery tap room,.. those guys will be so pumped that you're a noob and at their brewery they'll take care of you! and try flights,..where you can sample 4-6 beers then only get a glass of what you like..and if you dont like anything, bounce, there's lots of breweries and some are better than others for sure.

Dude I know the feeling. Going for a beer in London to certain places is exaclty like this, a list of 10-20 beers, end up getting a half pint and paying about £6 for something. It didn’t used to be like that at micro brewery’s but I guess it’s “cool” now haha

Hahaha awesome!

If you ever need a crash course on separating the hipster piss from the good stuff, hit me up!

I don't drink alcohol, but this was a great read. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97