You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dragging You Up With Me Giveaway - Week 4

in #giveaway6 years ago

Hey @d00k13,

It's been a little while, but I keep seeing this "series", so I thought I'd check it out lol

Well, I've seen this a few places now and I really am not sure what it is (may sound pretty bad considering I've been on Steemit for over half a year!), so here it goes: What is a curation trail? How can rewards be earned from it? Why do I have to log in to something outside of Steemit in order to get anywhere (from your provided link)? Do I need one? Lol

Cheers,
OFI

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

#1

Good to hear from you, glad I opened up the ask me anything line of questioning for the giveaway as you have asked some good questions.

Curation Trail: When you join a “trail” you are part of the votes following the main accounts votes such as @onelovedtube and the curators intend to choose posts of quality giving them a boost in income and visibility.

Curation Rewards: Being part of the trail voting on quality content that also earns income a said percentage of what that post generates will be paid back to those whom voted on it based on what their vote was actually worth, if the post gets further large votes after yours then you curation reward will increase thus taking advantage of the visibility generated by the trail votes.

SteemConnect Login: It is a secure way of logging into any app/portal without having to trust the developer with your keys. SteemConnect by @busy creates a secure token allowing something like @SteemAuto to use your posting privileges to then cast the trail votes on your behalf. It’s just simplification and security for both the user and developer of the said “portal”... Partiko counts as a portal also

Posted using Partiko iOS

This makes much more sense now, so thanks for the detailed explanation, @d00k13!

I had no idea what a curation trail was, other than just putting common sense to it, but I think it's better to have it explained the way you did. I wonder how many others out there might be thinking the same thing?

For now, I will read more about curation trails, 'Fanbases' and who else is using them. This should be interesting, because for now I've just been turning a blind eye to trails... now I will take notice and see what's out there!

Thanks again, cheers,
OFI

Posted using Partiko Android

Your welcome dude, I think going forward this be a good subject and also a challenge for me “ask me anything” kinda obvious now that I’ve said it, I can usually find the answer if I do not already know it!

Many people wonder about curation trails as I have had to explain the idea of our #OneLoveDTube curation trail many times, it’s a community support combined with curation outreach. If your in the followed authors list for onelove then we support 3 of your posts daily but we ask they are quality plus we have a discord server with promotion channels that our curators monitor trying to pick out the best pieces to support with our community trail. It’s like asking members to give up their vote for the community to receive support by the community, most trails do not work this way thus it’s a support network working through a curation trail.

I suggest using steemauto for trails, hell you could make your own pretty simply... you can also use steemauto for auto voting your favourite authors hint hint never mind just following a trail that is called “fanbase”, it has features for scheduling posts, comment upvotes for people whom reply to your posts, also auto reward collection so you never have to check your wallet again... I do think steemauto is an essential tool for the extremely active Steemian to achieve simplicity. I have tried many and none stack up against steemauto and I deeply thank @mahdiyari for his continued efforts on making it the best possible option...

As for who uses them, most people including the nefarious whale vote traders as getting the timing of when you vote down to the perfect moment will maximize your curation reward for giving a vote. On a large account this could be a huge difference in roi.

Let’s imagine your vote is worth $100, if you vote to early or late your curation rewards are lowered, max return is 25% so essentially getting the timing down to a science could be the difference of $25 roi a vote with a big gamble of who’s votes come after you. Now if your able to time the auto incoming votes of a particular user then getting in just before those large votes will guarantee that curation reward at its max while still giving to the author.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey @d00k13,

You should run your own "ask me anything", even though there's one already on Steemit - there's plenty of room for more brains! lol

With so many people asking about curation trails and their inner workings, I'm surprised I don't see more posts about it from the community. Everything you stated makes a lot of sense now, especially the ROI aspect of "timing" as it relates to curation.

I wonder how quickly these services/developers will react to the HF20 change coming soon. The change to the curation window time will certainly force updates to be made to services like SteemAuto.

Cheers,
OFI-sig.JPG

Posted using Partiko Android

Sounds like a plan, I will put your name on it as the inspiration 👍 So now I have a direction for this series you just so happened to look at 🤔 coincidence much?

Somethings people want to keep secret, those who analyze and find the solution do not wish to share. It’s out there but you will notice those people get bad attention for criticizing the system. I take a different approach and use the knowledge to benefit myself and others so I love that you asked what I already know a fair bit about.

The timing changes will play with timing but it’s settings are usually controlled by the users and trail leaders... I have already adjusted my fanbase and I assume the #OneLoveDTube trail will be adjusted when the changes happen.

The real question about HF20 I wonder about, how many people will use a work around combined with the auto vote services to circumvent the self vote implementation? It all just adds to the size of the total blockchain thus expenses for witnesses.

Posted using Partiko iOS

So... oneFATIndian will be synonymous with Inspiration?? I LOVE IT! lol

Sharing information is totally the way to go. I understand why some people would hold back on such information, but they don't see the bigger picture.

I guess we'll have to wait and see what impact HF20 has, and to what extent people will go to reach their goals.

Posted using Partiko Android

I guess you will be 😎

Just reading over a witness update this morning about the hardfork, so far it seems more aimed around account creation then anything

Posted using Partiko iOS

As for needing a curation trail, many people do not understand the dynamics of generating the most curation rewards (rewards for your upvote on rewarding content) and being apart of a trail gives back to that community for its efforts in curation and also increases your rewards if say you tend to vote on very low earning posts... in short no but I say yes as it helps me spread my vote across the whole @OneLoveDTube community and also keeps my VP below 100% meaning I’m making full use of my ability to support others for their work rather then trying to do everything manually.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Making use of your VP and keeping it below 100% is such an important element of this platform. Spread the love! 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

That it is, I consider 100% VP nice for added value behind your vote but ultimately a waist of potential support you may give. Find a project your interested in and show them some love by following their trail. Every vote counts even if you keep your settings low 10x 0.001 is still 0.01 and if that trail has 1000 trailers that is $1 plus the added visibility for the author with a large number of upvotes.

Incase you have ever wondered I receive on average 80-100 votes through the 2 trails I am apart of which both work in the same way contribute and receive!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I love hearing about the inner workings and the math behind this - great details, @d00k13, thanks!

Also, 80-100 votes per post is no joke! That's also a great indication that you put out quality content.

Cheers,
OFI-sig.JPG

Posted using Partiko Android

Aye you will have to come up with some good line of questioning for next weeks post 🤞 always glad to share.

The 100 votes a post does tons for visibility works out to .20-.40 average on each post then I boost, my boosting after the curation votes ensures I am paying my curation 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

Man, you have this technique down and all figured out!
Good on ya :D

I will have a question or two for next week for sure.
Let me know where to share my question with you.

Cheers,

Posted using Partiko Android

Yea tons of research to find the answers no one wants to really share.

I will be keeping the series going hopefully this time I can get the post up on time 🤦‍♂️

Posted using Partiko iOS

You nailed it! Sharing is the key - and so many people want to hold a bunch of keys lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Good luck with scoring a large sponsor! It makes sense, and I'm sure there are plenty of great 'fits' out there.

Where should I leave my question?

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62120.17
ETH 3179.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75