Odds And Ends

Daybreak over the burned hillsides. The air is very smoky again today but it is from some distant fire. Everything near us is out, the roads are open and everything is back to "normal." "Normal" meaning having no truly effective plan for notifying residents of evacuation orders. On the plus side, it appears logging will be coming back to the area which is a huge part of the solution.
20180907_072121 (2).jpg

Photo taken with my Samsung phone this morning

Twenty days ago I announced a silly zucchini contest promising 1 Steem to the winner. The post paid out, life was busy... I forgot. I remembered today and have just transferred 1 Steem to @yogajill for her great ideas for how to deal with that famously exuberant summer squash.

I also finally got to the post office today and got my junk mailed off to @thedamus. I went to town on Monday, right after the raffle but it was Labor Day and I just have not been to town again until today. Dragons do not really race to part with their shiny... but I have fulfilled my pledge! I am delighted to support the wonderful ssg-community and to send some plunder to someone who sent me silver a few months ago!

So the makeover on the trailer is coming together. I had put the bedroom off until last, using it to store tools and supplies while I worked on the other rooms. I have reached a "sequencing" point, the final touches on the exterior walls need to wait until the final level of the house is done. The kitchen is actually not getting the full makeover yet, it will be made functional for this winter and then we will update everything in the spring. So, yesterday I hauled everything out of that back bedroom so I could pull up the last of the nasty carpet. OMG I will NEVER have carpet again. This room was pretty clean, especially compared to the living room and hall but still... just nasty under there. I'd rather have a dirt floor, at least it is supposed to have an inch of dirt under the rug! I did not think of it really quite "before" but you can get a feel for what I am about to tackle.

20180906_104331.jpg

It's been a LOT of work but that beat up old trailer will be a cute and cozy home.

It has been quite the learning adventure. One wall had been punched / kicked and then "repaired" by screwing paneling over the hole. I got to pull a wall apart to fix that and that was surprisingly satisfying. I am not showing any more pics of the living room until it is done. I am going to throw my arm out patting myself on the back over it, it is REALLY cute now. It was filthy, now it is charming. But I am not done... you will have to wait.

THANK YOU for your support!

NAMASTE!

Sort:  

Things are much the same up here in terms of weather, and perhaps vibe as well.
Have a great weekend : )

Thanks, you have a lovely weekend also!

You remind me of after I bought my duplex. I remember the exuberance of torching the sink from hell out from underneath and totally rebuilding it. Walking out of the house with it like a trophy in my hand, declaring my victory over it's miserable death. Took it to the hardware and said I want to rebuild this structure all brand new. Every year was new adventures in learning one thing or another. That was one of my most prized moments because once I got past that I could basically plumb anything I figured. There isn't much I haven't learned to do, I don't do anything on the main roof, which is twenty six feet up just to reach it, that's not the top, though I have overcome my fear of heights considerably and the first time I painted this house I had to do the peak in the front for myself, I guess I just wanted to feel like I conquered it, that's more than thirty feet up. Now though I am a little worn on things like plumbing, you get older and your back just don't like hedging off the edge of the bottom of the cabinet. Lots of times I don't have the same enthusiasm for some things, like drywall, though I've gotten quite good at it I just don't like dealing with all the dusty mess.

Yeah, this was not really how we wanted to do things, it was just how we could afford to do things... I am not interested in becoming a house flipper or anything like that!

I am not a flipper either....though I would be more intrigued to do something like that....at least it would be like working on something new instead of the same old house for 28 years. lol.

We just got done with a remodel and the can be full of surprizes. The reward is well worth all of it. Have a great night.

Love

It is rewarding to look around and KNOW everything has been fixed and scrubbed and done right, not just papered over!

20180805_185229.jpg
Abbi new remodeled room.

Looks wonderful! Very cheery!

Lovely daybreak but I know its the smoke. Glad your area is getting back to normal and glad to see progress on the trailer. In my area, there are some neighborhood apps that are pretty good for local news. The app consolidates the police, fire, city, local news feed and also lets neighbors have a place to talk about neighborhood issues. Its the first place we check when there is smoke. However, I also live in a city so there are enough people to make something like this work.

I have seen some interesting apps on things like gofundme, I was not aware of any decent ones that are on the market. Have any suggestions, or just one you like?

My wife uses one and she's out of town right now. I will check with her

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-08T00:18:36
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 307.55/200.00
Total Photos: 41
Total comments: 66
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Congratulations @fishyculture! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @fishyculture! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95