More benefits from fasting, something you might not have concidered!

in #health5 years ago (edited)

Recently I completed a fast and since then I have been much less hungry than I usually would have been.

There are more benefits to fasting than just what happens to your body, and one being that just now I realised that in the last 7 days I have produced hardly any trash! Obviously if you don't need to eat, then you will buy less food, which means buying less packaging.

Normally I am eating 90% from Dumpsterdiving and its quite silly how much waste packaging it seem's that I alone "produce" from living like this (even though technically, the waste I'm producing was already in the trash, but still it seems as if I had produced it which is not actually true as I took it from the trash in the first place, but still.. :) )

Check this out, this is what I mean as to how little I have produced this week in a full 7 days..

DSC03181.JPG

this is including 2 empty bags of dog food inside!


Ive been making some really nice food also after the fast, to be nice to my body.

I had the idea to turn a bag of Kale into crispy Kale chips mainly because I don't have a big enough pot to cook it in, and also as an experiment.
The first time (below) was a test and then last night I did the rest of the bag I had sat in the fridge.

DSC03155.JPG

So last night I decided to make also Hummus! Something healthy, vegetarian and plant-based..
People find hummus quite addictive and its also quite cheap to make, so I went for it! I guess not many people will tell you of the effect that fasting has on your guts, but well you know me , I'm not shy, and I have to say that after not eating and letting all the food stuffs digest in my system, when I did finally eat something, I had terrible flatulence and my body was not coping so well, or it was coping *too* well, I'm not sure what one lol.

Basically if you ever do a fast be prepared for some stinky days after you have started eating again, and also when your system is nearly empty during the actual fasting time!


I went to the eko sklep (The organic shop) and got myself some nice vegetables consisting of celery, cucumber, a pepper and carrots and also found some cheap flat breads there too, and check out this restaurant quality meal that I enjoyed last night!

DSC03179.JPG

I have been eating when I'm hungry but I notice how dramatically less hungry I am now after doing the fast. Yesterday, I was eating two pizza bun things from when I woke up until 4pm, and I ever went an hour to a sauna, which usually makes me very hungry afterwards, but this time not. I even had some of the pizza bun left over and ate that after the sauna, and that was it until the hummus was ready at 21.00. I have been feeling much lighter on my feet, and managing to sleep better without even smoking cannabis, which is strange.

Please please please Universe, Send me something nice to smoke that was grown with love! (Ive already pictured that I have it, but hmm its not even arrived yet, but soooo close!)

DSC03180.JPG


The rest of the Kale

Kale is a super food and Ive been snacking on it as its quite addictive stuff. To the right is all that's remaining from a big bag.. It is high in Sodium, and very high in Potassium, Vitamin A and also Vitamin C and has high trace elements of Magnesium, Calcium and Vitamin B6, Iron and also believe it or not - Proteins.

It was a great idea to dry it out on a low temperature in the oven. It tastes just wrong to eat it in the raw form, and as it is when its crispy, one can eat a lot of it without even noticing it, which means you get a lot of goodness in your body as your eating more of it.

DSC03177.JPG


Right now I just got back from the supermarket as I felt I should maybe go buy some food to put in the fridge as the fridge is looking kind of bear, and it was actually very had to decide what to buy. I'm not really used to going into a supermarket and traipsing around up and down the aisle's as I love the surprise of what you can find in the trash out the back of the supermarkets and the fact that its free helps.

I got a tradition polish food called Zapiekanka which I'm heating up right now and here it is below, cheap and cheerful..

DSC03184.JPG

DSC03185.JPG


And its done now! So I'm of to stuff my face!


Big Love & Abundance,
@movingman

Sort:  

Oi veggy eater, I just did a shopping guide post for you. :-)

I saw it! :P thanks!

Thanks for the update and enjoy stuffing you're face :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Good effort fasting in January. I just can't face it this month.

I've opted for an 8 hour eating window a couple of days a week... which at least gives my stomach some time off!

Posted using Partiko Android

Im actually on holiday and dont need to do anything so its ok, I ve rented a warm appartment which entails no collecting fire wood or drinking water , and no climbing 70 steps to get home on a hillside lol, this makes a huge difference, theres no way that I could do fasting living normally (I mean my normal lol) Its much easier to sit in a house a turn a tap for hot water and have central heating just automatically heating the place lol..

Feels like im cheating somehow hahahahah. Thats also a great Idea to have an eating window, a great compramise right there!

Nom nom nom... some tasty treats you've made yourself there.
A fast is also scheduled for me. It does wonders for your health. Its surprising how many health ailments disappear after a decent fast.

I am so amazed at purely how less I feel I need to eat! Im sat here now munchin celery and some of that hummus actually :)

I feel like I only want to eat living things, like vegetables etc, when before Id be quite happy to eat a steak for example, or fries or something processed, but for now my body is just happy with raw veggys and leafy things lol.
I brought some eggs and will make an omlete and see what that does to my digestive system, when I feel like eating eggs again.. I usually love eggs! fried or scrambled I used to eat on average 2 everyday hahahaha..

Hm, now I just had the idea to boilthe eggs instead!

What the body needs is an individual thing. So there is no one size fits all. We are educated out of listening to our bodies. If we pay attention, the messages are unmistakeable. That's the incredible bit. We don't have to think about it, just "listen" and go with that flow.

I completely agree! Society never will want us to find out our true potential and to live well, otherwise the system will crumble away and we would all become poly-amorous nomads once again! And then who would be there to pay them taxes to the rich?! :)

The world runs on the maxim of "If aint broke, don't fix it". When I say the world, I mean the natural world. In our hubris, we see the human world as something separate, when it is not. We belong to that continuum even in our abstracted modern state. The conservation of energy is paramount whether it physics we are discussing or biology. Therefore it is our natural state to conserve energy and go with the flow. If there is an easy way of doing things, we will find it, for our survival.

However, when confronted with an extreme situation, often just surviving is not enough, extreme action is required. This applies if we consider natural, personal (mental) or health disaster. Those organisms which do only enough to get by (survive) will fail (die).

Thriving in the face of adversity only given to those who can be extreme. As we all know, extremes of any kind can invoke fear, because of their perceived threat to our current default natural mode of living as previously outlined.

So it is not so that the elite of society are try to hold the mass together to sustain their lifestyle (through taxes), it is the masses that work keep everybody in check. Because people who (are extreme) go above and beyond and make them painfully conscious of their inadequacies. This is when the mob becomes vicious. This dynamic even plays out in the smallest human group unit, the family.

The elite are simply aware of this, and smart enough to take advantage of it. Again even in this the same rule of the conservation of energy (effort) applies. They have finite energy and resources, hence the tipping point when the masses rise up and turn against them. They have to be judicious in their efforts of control, lest all is lost.

You don't have to be particularly adept at anything to be in this social level of elite, only born to it. We often see how inept our leaders are.

But it is the founders of a social structure, and a new elite, that have to be extreme, to go above and beyond to rewrite the order of things.

...

So by today's current standards (go with the flow), your fasting is considered extreme. You are willing to do whatever is necessary to thrive.

Does this mean you are going to become one of the rich elite? =)

Very happy to have started following you especially after seeing your fantastic art work every now and then since I joined here!

I love the people I interact with on here, seriously I do.

Cheers @movingman.

I'm finally kicking off my own fast.

I'm lucky to have just seen this reply from you now!

I was thinking this yesterday morning after having a spontaneous "random" conversation with a stranger, that I should do another fast but for atleast 7 days.

He explained to me he was very much into fasting and just did a 9 day fast on water and he did it with a friend who on the second night felt he had to keep spitting.. and in one evening whilst they sat and just watched tv, he filled up 2 cups with saliva, and on the 5th day was spitting out some kind of black stuff!

Sounded well weird! Yesterday I ate quite a lot of vegan food and then in the evening in celebration of finally finding some smokey, I decided on a junk food night and movies.. Its well hard anyway to choose junkfood when you have reprogrammed the mind to hate sugar lol, so it was just a pizza and soya bread with cream cheese in the end. I went to sleep stuffed, and woke up 6 hours later with very bad heart burn, and almost diarrhea!

kept me up some hours, and now I just woke up, had a coffee, and will now start another fasting.

I see how my body rejected that processed food, the pizza, and thinking about it since the first fast, my diet changed naturally dramatically in regards to how much i wanted to est everyday, and then what I was eating was all unprocessed foods.

My stomach is hating me for bringing even on just one pizza, so I will clean it again!

I'm heading over to your post, as its been the third day of your fast!

Hi @movingman!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.389 which ranks you at #7195 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 12 places in the last three days (old rank 7183).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 430 contributions, your post is ranked at #189.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94