Sugar Baby!

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Sugar The Good The Bad

And The Ugly

Our Sugar Addiction And The Slave Trade

Stanton Glantz told the New Your Times: "It doesn’t capture the whole picture.” Those conclusions, however, overstate the evidence, according to an article published last week in Science. “We do not claim the sugar industry had no influence on nutrition work at Harvard, nor on the field in general.” “But we believe that there is no good reason to conclude that SRF’s sponsorship of a literature review meaningfully shaped the course of dietary science and policy.” Plus, several other industry groups — like the meat and dairy industry — were also funding research at the time. “To boil it all down to the sugar industry, in our view, it doesn’t capture the whole picture,” says David Merritt Johns, a PhD candidate in the Department of Sociomedical Sciences at Columbia, and one of the authors of the Science article.

Back in the 1960s a paper was published in JAMA Internal Medicine in 2016, the research suggested the sugar industry paid scientists to hid the relationship between sugar and heart disease. This is when the government was developing nutritional guidelines and policy. Two researchers from Columbia University claim the evidence is not backed up by "Historical Evidence". The scientist go on to claim that promoting the sugar conspiracy is hindering how science investigates and proves its findings.

A trade Group called the Sugar Research Foundation (SRF) paid Harvard scientist to review the role of sugar and fat in relation to cardiovascular health. In 1967 a well regarded journal dismissed the role of sugar and heart health. Instead the study firmly placed heart disease on fat consumption, in particular saturated fat. Whenever I read about how bad saturated fat is, I think of the generations of farmers in my family. From the time they were wee tots my family ate animal fat every day for 70 to 90 years and didn’t suffer from heart disease. If my farming family did die early back in the day, before prepackaged fast foods and tons of chemicals in our environment and diet, it was usually a farming accident.

A year ago the UCSF group published another paper stating that in the 1960s, the SRF stopped funding research that tied rats on a high sugar diet also had high levels of triglycerides, which are present in patients suffering heart disease. “They were able to sideline the debate over sugar and our health for decades, stated UCSF research Stanton Glantz to the New York Times.

Modern Western diet has gone from whole foods to mostly highly processed refined foods and sugar and trans fats. Sugar, refined grains, and trans fats have been linked to diabetes. Your poor gallbladder and pancreas are taking an awful beating when you eat high sugar foods. You liver and heart also are stressed when eating the modern diet of refined grains, high sugar, trans fat processed, fast foods. After World War II heart disease and obesity were beginning their advance into the general public. Only rich people could afford sugar in the past before industrial sugar milling processes. The evidence wasn’t as clear back in the 1960s as it is today. When researchers looked into the cause of obesity, fat was thought to cause obesity and diabetes. At that time researchers didn’t have to list who funded their research to avoid conflict of interests.

The sugar industry back in the mid 1960s paid Mark Hegsted a Harvard researcher to review research on fat, sugar, and disease a New York Times article states. The results were published in 1967 in the New England Journal of Medicine. The review blamed saturated fats rather than sugar for the uptick in heart disease and diabetes. Whenever I read papers like this I think of cultures that lived off of animals because of the limitations of their environment. Inuit and Maasai tribes l were some of the fittest people, surviving harsh living conditions until modern food sources were introduced into their diet and developed diseases like obesity and diabetes.

The UCSF researchers found that the pro sugar review was paid for by the Sugar Research Foundation, which the New England Journal of Medicine did not disclose. The SRF picked papers that were pro-sugar. “Hegsted and his colleagues applied a double standard to their critique of the epidemiologic, experimental, and mechanistic evidence linking sugar to heart diseases, “ stated Christin Kearns, assistant professor at the UCSF School of Dentistry. Hegsted had a good reputation for running clean research projects that weren’t biased. Some of his studies that didn’t agree with those who funded his research were the North American Meat Institute. Under the Regan Administration, Hegsted wold be fired from his job developing the first US Dietary Guidelines because of his low-fat dietary views. Which, fits in neatly regarding saturated fat causes obesity and heart disease pro-sugar theory. Hegstead edited the Dietary Goals for the United States, which recommended in 1977 to lower sugar intake by 40% because of the link to tooth decay and diabetes.

As we all know the focus on fats causing heart disease was promoted and sugar causing diabetes and obesity was ignored. All fats were vilified, which is odd because anyone who has lived off the land knows you will die without fat! I remember reading stories of the first explorers of the Western Part of the United States Lewis and Clarke almost died because they ran out of food they liked, elk, deer, and wheat favored by Europeans. If it had not been for the kindness of natives Americans feeding the explorers dog meat, varmints like squirrel, dried berries, and fish they would of died. Without the added fat to lean wild meat they would of died. Their favorite food was fat dumplings! “The want of bread I consider as trivial provided I get fat meat, far as to the species of meat I am not very particular. The flesh of the dog, the horse and the wolf, having from habit become equally familiar with any other, and I have learned to think that if the chord be sufficiently strong, which binds the soul and body together, it does not so much matter about the materials which compose it." Link

By the 1990s Americans had cut out fatty foods and started eating more sugar and processed foods Walter Willet, professor of epidemiology and nutrition at Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health has suggested that many of his colleges believe this is what started our obesity epidemic. Latest stats say at more than 70% of young adults cannot pass a military fitness test posing a national security risk. Over 40% of Americans under 40 years old are obese. Obesity costs the US an estimated 147 billion a year, reported by the CDC . Which, is great for those who treat obesity related diseases, they can pay their mortgages, however, this is horrible for the health of our nation and it’s productivity and security. Was the nutritional guidelines developed by well intentioned people or because of greedy corporate interests? I am skeptical, I think our ill health is because of corruption not because of well intentioned people. Reading history regarding modern medicine and corporate power, I have a right to be skeptical.

I think the majority of scientist have good intentions when they start out in the early part of their careers, however once they have gone through the brainwashing University training, find themselves faced with choices, tow the party line or you name is mud, scientist are caught between a rock and a hard place. If you want to have any kind of life you need to tow the party line.

The food industry still has overwhelming control over research funds and what is researched and the general public is paying for this with their health and the health of our future generations. Coca-cola was caught paying scientist to distract the public from the connection between sugary drinks and obesity. Associated Press wrote an article about Candy makers funding a study showing kids that eat candy actually weigh less than those who don’t.

If I read an article like that and reflect on my struggles to stay fit and healthy I would know I was being lied too. From my own experience growing up on a farm our primary food sources were what we could grow and afford to buy, which was meat, veggies, potatoes and little grain. Poor people that could grow their own food were always healthier if they didn't drink too much when compared with wealthy people in my community. I was a thin healthy person. When I started eating what ever I wanted as an adult, which was lots of sweets and booze, I became fat and my adult children experienced the same outcome. In the real world I do not see researching funding health related research that does not profit large corporations and the government.

What can you do when faced with conflicting data? Research healthy populations that haven’t been influenced by modern day nutritional guidelines. When I eat like my ancestries and exercise like a farmer I am healthy and fit. Vote with you cryptocurrency wallet!


Pictures Are From Pixabay
I will flag comment spam at 1% strength. If you keep on spamming my post I will flag you at 100%. I don't care if you have limited English abilities write a couple sentences about this article, no copy-paste please. I will flag: one sentence comments, links to your blog and begging for up-votes and follows. Also I will flag comments that have nothing to do with my blogs article. I will also check your comment section to see if you have been comment spamming on other blogs.

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  
Loading...

@reddust this post is helpful for all of the population, but specialty for cookers, head of families and governments. Of course the governments do very little when it comes to control businesses. Do not eat a diet based in sugary, oil and wheat flour. Less is more beneficial.
Good post. I voted you.

Thank you @idestroy...I don't think the government will step in to help the general population. This will have to be a grass root movement. The government is tied to big food corporations because of their lobby and donations for campaigns.

Change will have to start at home, education is key and self discipline.

@reddust thanks for your timely post again, very good point (donation) and even pharmaceutical corporations.

Sugar is concentrated. Normally you find it in the sugar cane or in the sugar beet. But not concentrated. People do not eat small amounts and balance it with other foods that contain protein and healthy fats. So the sugar overdose in the diet leads to an insulin response that causes inflammation in the body. This leads to hardening of the arteries, to high blood pressure and the excess triglycerides lead to storage of fat (obesity). After a number of years of further disbalanced food intake with too much sugar the person may come down with diabetes.
So, enjoy small amounts of sugar, preferably in its natural context (in fruit) or in natural yogurt mixed with fruit. Otherwise refined sugar can be bad for you.

OMG, I am so impressed with you comment <3

I eat little fruit and a little sugar once in awhile in my baked goods. However most foods eaten today are processed fast foods, not whole foods. The book I linked to called Salt Sugar and Fat goes into how the food industry has hooked people into eating food that is empty of nutrition. https://www.npr.org/sections/thesalt/2013/02/26/172969363/how-the-food-industry-manipulates-taste-buds-with-salt-sugar-fat

Sugar is also known even without scientific knowledge that it is harmful to health and physical safety is one of the main causes of cancer and heart disease and may harm the safety of the brain because of the bacteria of tooth decay that rises to the brain.
and still surprised how these people read and reply on topic need 9min to read on 3min 😑

I wrote this because I used to be fat, sick, and tried and I lost 50lb when I stopped eating foods with sugar and wheat.

@soufianechakrouf, you and I both know people are here to make money and go for the easiest way to make it. It's up to us to show them this kind of curation doesn't work. Steemit is just like our real world and a sense of humor really helps...Have a lovely weekend my friend!

Yes you are right we are here not just for money it's bigger than money it's about our platform we want get steemit to the moon to the top of ranking

Yes @soufianechakrouf you hit the nail on the head! Thank you <3

the sugars and breads that we eat raise blood sugar. The cause of cancer is the height of the insulin hormone in the body. You share great information. Thank you @reddust

Yes... and the pancreas controls our insulin can't handle a lot of sugar. One of the most common surgeries in the united states is gallbladder and pancreas surgery!

Everything is bad for you nowadays. I'm not defending sugar here as it is one of the worst things for you. Moderation is key. Sugar intake is the next smoking, society is going to tax it and restrict it more and more. Probably for the best as many people can't control themselves.

I don't agree everything is bad, my key is moderation but when you look at how much sugar and chemicals are in the common foods eaten today, that is processed and fast foods, there is no moderation.

I see the only way to cut sugar down is education and setting a good example at home.. The government war on drugs just made drugs more popular and for profit prison a great investment...taxing is just theft ...it's wrong.

Discipline isn't taught in our society, it is bad for our consumer economy :p

I pay no regard to the research results about sugar.
I'm just a sweets maniac, can't do anything about it. I love pastry. It's my weakness :((

Yea I love pastry too, but I love my health even more. I say no so I can walk without pain and live to a healthy age. @yaan, you may be able to process sugar better than I can as well...I get really sick :-(

Actually, to be frank, I can't eat a lot of pastry. Because it will screw my health really badly.
So it's almost the same for me as it is for you.
Well... at least I won't ever become fat in my life (Not sure if it's a good point, I don't really care about people's weight haha).

My feet hurt carrying around that extra 50lbs...I need to run ...I can't with flat feet :p

It's even worse for me... my cat jumps in front of me when I try to run, and I fall miserably :((

My cat does the same thing to me, it must be their nature....try jumping over a cat carrying an extra 50lbs. I hope you cat survived ...hahaha

My cat also hopes that I survived lol.

@reddust, I have such a longer experience for this. I had a friend before 6 years ago. He every time used sugar and wheat indeed foods. I and his parents shown to him bad results of sugar and wheat usage. But he didn't take serious. Currently he suffering with heart disease. You give wondering article to us and it's indeed lot of Scientific operation's contents. I guess, some peoples read this article and immediately control their sugar usage.

If this article can help one person it will be worth the day it took to write, I should of took 2 days but I loathe editing...hahaha

My husband edits my Dhamma articles ;-)

i think the research tells us the truth and as far my knowledge sugar are combined with two organic molecule glucose and fructose. all simple and complex carbohydrate are converted into glucose and its other subsidiary form. after digestion of food like sugar, it absorption to our body as fuel and other daily requirements, the rest of glucose which is not absorbed by body and circulating in blood through blood vessel (increase glucose level for diabetic patient) is stored in our tissue and muscle as glycogen for future use instantly (thus when you working hard and doing gym to reduce fat, its burn glycogen first to supply energy, after shortage of glycogen breakdown fat molecule and supply energy as ATP- adenosine Tri Phosphate). if the supply of glycogen increase it converted to triglyceride then followed with lipo-lipid profile, this lipid profile are two type LDL- low density lipid and HDL-high density lipid. this HDL is stored in our blood vessel and several place of our body including our hearts. if body need energy it doesn't need to break down HDL as it get easier energy source from our body through regular diet and storage, so we should take care our daily carbohydrate intake and sweetens agent as well, be happy and keep healthy.

Glucose and fructose are broken down differently and fructose, table sugar has a negative impact on the liver

While all forms of simple sugars are broken down by your body into glucose, refined sugar is supplied in a way that causes negative health consequences when eaten to excess. Refined sugar is added to all sorts of processed foods to make them taste better. Even foods you may not consider sweet, like pasta sauces and ketchup, often contain significant amounts of refined sugar.

Sugary drinks are the primary source of refined sugar in the American diet, followed by sweet snacks. These foods lack beneficial vitamins, minerals, antioxidants, protein and fiber. You end up getting the sugar, but missing out on the vital nutrients you need to remain healthy. This is the primary problem with added sugars, not how your body breaks them down.
http://healthyeating.sfgate.com/body-process-fruit-sugars-same-way-refined-sugar-8174.html

This is criminal! It is as bad as the damn cigarette companies screwing with the public for profit. First they make money off the public through the addiction to sugar. Then they make money by making us sick on sugar and draining our wallets in healthcare costs. That is so wrong. And yet folks do not speak up. Are we so addiction to the crack we cannot withdraw? i will stick to the natural sugars in home grown fruit. Thank you @reddust.

This happens throughout our consumer driven world. Many times we are forced to buy products because of government mandates like the vaccines we are forced to buy that can have devastating impact on our health. It is obvious to me the food we eat is manufactured not for our health but for long tern storage and profit. How the food industry works not only impacts consumer health but it also causes world wide economic and ecological destruction. We are being driven into a position of no personal choices when it comes to taking care of our health and economic well being. We must depend on large corporate interest to tell us what food to eat, what medicines to take, what ideologies to believe in and how we should relate to one another....The forces behind this are treating our world and it's population like a factory farm.

Why do you think it's called the Food AND Drug Administration? I read a book ages ago that talked about the link between these too. Insidious really. I think about it from time to time.

If I could grow my own food I would (everything I plant dies even when I follow the instructions) and after about 3 weeks of not eating some sort of grain my body just rebels. Then, because of cost and budgeting, I get to choose the good ol' cheap bread instead of the good stuff.

Perhaps the cookies I was eating when I clicked on this originally is a symptom of being in denial about the whole thing. Hmmm...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59524.20
ETH 2999.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77