Captured By The Apache: Basket Weaving And Collecting Honey

in #history5 years ago (edited)

Howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas! We're in a series about the Wild West and the story of an 11 year old boy, Hermann, who was captured by an Apache war party from his family's farm in 1870.

He's been with the tribe for over 2 months now and has been training to be a warrior and even been on his first raiding party as told in the last post. On this post I wanted to talk about his amazement at the variety and types of baskets which the squaws weaved.

They were very durable and were used for everything from storing grain to being used as water jugs. The designs were endless too. Here are some vintage baskets on display in a museum and these are specifically Apache designs:

731px-A_collection_of_Apache_Indian_baskets_(ollas)_on_display,_ca.1900_(CHS-3555).jpg
source

Here's another one:

adobe5.jpg
source

The level of skill looks incredible to me, no wonder Hermann was so impressed. And by the way, if anyone is interested in purchasing original baskets there is a site where you can do that. Here's a sample:

image.png
source

That particular basket above is authentic and sells for $1,100. lol. Just in case you're interested.

Gathering honey

Hermann noticed that honey was a prized possession in the tribe and used for cooking as well as putting on cuts to promote healing. One day when he was out with a war party the warriors found a honey bee cave in the side of a cliff which looked something like this:

download (17).jpg
source

The cave was about 200 feet above the ground and he soon found out how the honey was extracted because it was decided that he would be the one lowered from above to collect the honey.

They tied a rope around him and gave him a large pouch made out of buffalo hide which had a lining made from the stomach of an old bull buffalo.

Hermann becomes a rappeler

They also gave him a stick about 6 feet long which he was instructed to use to keep himself and more importantly, the precious honey, away from sharp rocks on the side of the cliff. lol. They then lowered him down until he was even with the cave opening full of bees.

He went into the cave and started collecting honey and combs like he was instructed and the bees didn't bother or attack him. He gathered several gallons of honey, enough to last the tribe for many weeks. He only took a small percentage of the honey in the cave.

Hermann learned that there were caves which were so full of honey that it would be running down the side of the mountain.
a0esw215rr.png

If this post seems a little boring the next one more than makes up for it because it tells of another war party that Hermann is taken on in which....well... there's bloodshed.

Thanks for reading folks, God bless you all!

-jonboy
Texas

uvsylyennv.png

l1xgphrt5d.png

ak059z170l.png

Sort:  

“Honey running down the mountain” - that sounds incredible! I wonder why the bees didn’t sting him. Anyway quite interesting!

Howdy there violetmed! I don't know anything about bees or else I might know the answer to that, I thought it was facinating too and it's a good thing they didn't attack or else where was he going to go to get away from them? yikes. lol.

Haha, yes!

Hey Lord Janton! Thought I'd see what was happening on this part of Steemit!

So an 11 year old was captured, taken from his home by an apache tribe but in 2 months managed to weave these masterpieces? He's got some talent! You might have to stop drinking if you want to afford one of them for the ultimate red neck beer experience!

Posted using Partiko Android

howdy sir nickyhavey! Are you nuts? these are nice but not nice enough to give up Redneck Beer! lol.
Yes he was there for 2 months at this point of the story but he didn't do any basket weaving, that was
squaws work. They were training him to be a killer. Shouldn't you be on a plane by now?

Haha thought that'd be the case Lord Janton!

I'll be flying on Wednesday my friend! The time has nearly come! I better start packing I guess 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow! Those baskets sure are beautiful. It looks like it would take a lot of patience to weave one of those. I’d only buy one for 1100 bucks if it came full of honey 😉. Happy Saturday @janton!

Howdy puravidaville! thanks so much for dropping by! yes I agree the baskets are awesome, I'd love to have some. My goal is to have a big house with different themes for each room. Like one room would be Western with Old West paintings, sculptures and articles and one room would have to be Indian with many different rug designs and other artwork like baskets and weaponry.

That would be a cool house indeed. When I was a little girl we went on a field trip overnight at the old Adobe a few miles from town. We learned about basket weaving, mud/clay sculpting, the stars and various other things I’ve since forgotten. That was a fun field trip and I remember being so impressed with the weaving. Hope all is well ✌️

Howdy today purvavidaville! That sounds like a wonderfu field trip, where was that? Are you talking about an Indian village or home?
Things are great here, Mrs. J has some struggles on her job but will overcome them. I'm just cruising along building my Steemit account and wondering what other crypto to invest in. lol.

It was in Northern California at an Old Adobe structure that had multiple structures made by indigenous peoples. There was an area where we stomped mud and another where they had really old apparatus’ used to weave. It was a cool over night field trip learning about the particular culture of this tribe. It’s was so long ago now I couldn’t tell many other specifics other than it made an impression on me.

Dandays was just showing me another platform called MEOS that runs on EOS… he was pretty excited about it if you want to check it out. We’ve always liked EOS.

Work issues are never fun. I wish her a speedy resolution and peace at her job.

Howdy puravidaville! you're probably working on something for tomorrow's FFF?
Anyway I hope your trip to Panama was wonderful.
That is so interesting about that field trip you took, everybody should go on one of those!

I've never heard of MEOS and now sir dandays is in trouble for not telling me about it!
What, he tells everyone but me? I'm not good enough to bother with telling? This is only
information for his elite click?

Work issues yes. We found out from the Chaplain, who is leaving, that Mrs. J is the only
Christian in the entire department as far as the building, don't know about the officers out
in patrol cars. So THAT is shocking, especially in Texas.. we don't even know how that's possible.

That's why there isn't peace there and won't be unless people in charge are replaced or get saved,
and start putting in Godly people which the dysfunctional place desperately needs. It can happen too.

Yeah, you tell @dandays… that is quite shocking, especially for Texas. I can’t imagen being somewhere where I’m surrounded by a bunch of people who don’t have faith. That would be hard- atleast she has God!

I have yet to get started on my #fff. I know I’m slacking. I’ll start it soon. Dandays is probably all ready to go for his food fight.

I had a difficult time believing it at first, it’s a tough one to make sense of. What are the chances there’s not a single Christian is the whole frikkin jail, right?

Well, eventually he explained the details to me and it’s obviously intentional. For some reason the US prison system chooses to employ non-Christian jailers, crazy huh?? They don’t want anyone praying for these people who are in trouble, sick, caught-up, whatever their misfortune may be.

Howdy again puravidaville! Yes Mrs. J is in a foreign environment, everyone hates anything that even looks like it might be connected to Christianity! Most of them are just full of hate and take it out on the inmates as much as they can, it's depressing. It's a very spiritually dark place and depressing but things are improving in some ways because of her treating inmates with respect and getting good results.

goodluck on the fff post. well, it's probably already done!

That was pretty amazing that he wasn't stung by the bees. If you or I did that we would not come out unscathed I can promise you that.

haha! howdy sir cryptoandcoffee! And if we were attacked there was no where to run except off the cliff! I guess they would have tried to pull him up fast but the bees could fly faster than that. lol.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Howdy there esteemapp and thank you so much for the upvote!

Not boring at all Cowboy. The baskets are wonderfully made and the story of Hermann collecting the honey interesting.

Howdy tonight redheadpei! Thanks for the kind words. I thought it was interesting too on how they got their honey and I thought it was a miracle that he didn't get attacked with nowhere to run! If I had alot of spare money around I'd get me some of those original baskets. They still look like they're in perfect condition.

Honey always reminds me of Winnie the pooh hahaha. To be honest what you wrote isn't boring. It's making me wonder what's the next story. Thanks for sharing this with us!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Howdy there sgbonus! perhaps I misjudged my knowledgeable and knowledge thirsty audience. Thanks for reading and commenting!

Hello ... :-)
@janton
Hermann, fantastic beautiful baskets and honey.....!!!!!!!!!
NO way boring....!!!
;D

Howdy annephilbrick! If I knew that baskets and honey were so interesting I would have done a post on those sooner! lol. My readers love learning about so many different things!

Those baskets are amazing! A mountain full of honey.. Imagine. I'm glad the bees didn't mind sharing!

howdy tonight Melinda! How has your day gone?
Oh, yes I'm glad the bees behaved because where was he going to go if they swarmed him? I think that's why they sent him down. lol.

It has been a lovely day! I went out to sit on the deck in the sun and was talking to my mom on the phone. Alli's chipmunks must have thought I was talking to them, because they were climbing on my scooter! I had one come up in my lap! First time that has happened! It actually made me feel rather honored! It may be difficult this summer to sit out there and read, undisturbed!

haha! oh that sounds like fun, it sounds wonderful. Did they expect to get something to eat?

I'm sure they couldn't think of any other reason why I would be out there talking, unless I was calling chipmunks to come have snacks! Alii thinks it is beyond funny.

haha! so are you going to make sure you always have snacks for them?

Or spend my summer indoors on the screen porch! I would feel awful if I ran over one of the little fellas with my scooter!

Well that's not a bad option is it? I bet the screened porch is wonderful too. I bet they're so quick that you would never run over one.

Love those exquisite hand woven baskets @janton And I'm so glad you included the link so that I could purchase 2 or 3 of those authentic ones. At $1,100 a piece, that will make a total of $3,300. That's one way to reduce my weekly pocket money. (I'm joking, of course!) 😁 😁 😁

Hermann must have been a very effective 'honey bee whisperer,' to somehow avoid getting stung. I like honey but not to the extent of having to master rappelling down steep slopes in order to stock up.

A very interesting post my friend.

haha! I think the rappeling would be worth if it I could bribe someone else to do it! Just hope the bees stay calm because there's no where to run if they attack! lol. I agree about the baskets though, they look like they're in perfect condition and I'd love to have one. Just remember that when your wealth gets here. lol.

Hmmmmmmm I may just consider learning to do rapelling........if a bribe was tempting enough. But on second thoughts there is a strong possibility that I may not live to enjoy spending it.

I love your positive encouragement re: the wealth that awaits my friend and will continue to have faith and to 'Call those things that be not, as thought they are". 😄

haha! laughing at the rappeling notion. I think that might be a younger person's game!
But yes I agree with you on the wealth building, the wealth transfer, the wealth creation
and the wealth blessing! lol..that should cover it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11